Monday, September 28, 2009

Dracula by Bram Stoker

I loved this book but of course I'm in love with vampires so I'm just a tinsy bit bias. I enjoyed the details and differences that are not in the movie Dracula by Francis Ford Coppola. It's exciting, intriguing, entertaining and timeless. This classic tale of vampires will never get old.

Rating- 4

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein is about abandonment, isolation and identity. Through out the book Frankenstein is cast out not only by his creator, his father Victor but of society because of his hideous appearance. He is left to drift the world in all it's cruelty on his own. He learns to build a fire, hunt for food even to read and write all on his own. With an abundant of time isolated from any human company he begins to search within himself and ask many questions. The ultimate question and quest in his short lived life is to find out, "Why? Why has my father created me only to forsake me?" I say erase all the perceptions of Frankenstein you have been shown from the different versions of movies you have seen because the Frankenstein in the book is a person with a kaleidoscope of complicated feeling and intelligent thoughts not just a monster as the movies portray. I think this classic is definitely worth reading.

Rating- 4

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

"You teach me now how cruel you've been — cruel and false. Why did you despise me? Why did you betray your own heart, Cathy? I have not one word of comfort. You deserve this. You have killed yourself. Yes, you may kiss me, and cry; and wring out my kisses and tears: they'll blight you — they'll damn you. You loved me — then what right had you to leave me? What right — answer me — for the poor fancy you felt for Linton? Because misery, and degradation, and death, and nothing God or Satan could inflict would have parted us, you, of your own will, did it. I have not broken your heart — you have broken it; and in breaking it, you have broken mine. So much the worse for me, that I am strong. Do I want to live? What kind of living will it be when you——oh, God! would you like to live with your soul in the grave?"

"Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living! You said I killed you — haunt me, then! The murdered do haunt their murderers. I believe — I know that ghosts have wandered on earth. Be with me always — take any form — drive me mad! only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! it is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!

These two quotes are just a little taste of what passions fill the pages of Wuthering Heights. My first attempt to reading this book did not go as well as planned. I had a hard time understanding everything in it. I had to have my laptop open to Websters Dictionary website so I could look up words and phrases. I even had to decipher dialect. It was not easy but I was determine to read this book. The first time I read it, it was trial and error. The second time it was like, OK I'm getting it now. The third time is when it hit me..the full passions and understanding of what I was reading. It was totally worth the struggle. This is one of my all time favorites. It's hard to get this kind of passion from other books. If you want to challenge yourself with this all time classic I recommend you get the Barnes & Noble Classic copy because it offers readers with viewpoints, chronologies, commentaries and note to help you understand the time period, phrases even some words.

Rating- 5

Jane Austen










After reading the Twilight Saga I was really interested in reading the Jane Austen books that Bella loved so much. So after reading the Twilight Saga about three times I decided to buy Wuthering Heights and the collective novels of Jane Austen. I tried to read Wuthering Heights first and woooooo it was like what language are they speaking. So two chapters and two bottles of Tylenol later I decided to put that book down and try Sense and Sensibility. I instantly fell into a grove with Jane Austen's writing. That's the only way to describe it. British literature is not for everyone but I fell in love with it. I could just picture her characters with puffy dresses, stocking, hats and the way they held themselves with proper edict and manners. It was a lot of fun to get into that world and to imagine myself there. Out of her seven novels these are the only three I have read so far.
1. Sense and Sensibility- It's romantic and fanciful. The main character Elinor is a realist. She is level headed, reasonable and responsible. Her sister Marianne is vivacious, full of excitement and ideas, she lives life to the fullest. It reminded me of my relationship with my sister. Guess which one I am. You'll have a wonderful time reading the interaction between the two.
Rating-4

2. Pride and Prejudice- I absolutely love this book!!! I loved Lizzy, she is feisty and confident and won't settle for less then what she feels is the absolute best that life can offer her. You'll want to read this book over and over again. I highly recommend the 2005 version of the movie directed by Joe Wright. Keira Knightley plays Elizabeth Bennet perfectly.
Rating-5

3. Mansfield Park- I enjoyed the book but I didn't like the way the story left me felling. It was as if Fanny was second best and Edmund settled for her when obviously she was the best woman for him. I guess I'm just upset at Edmund for ever thinking otherwise ;) Huh, men what do they know?
Rating- 3

Hell On Earth by Stephenie Meyer



You are probably thinking "What? When did Stephenie write another book?",well she hasn't..yet. Hell On Earth is a short story in a book, Prom Nights From Hell, that has a collection of short stories from various authors. Hell On Earth is a great little story about angels and demons.. oh and prom. It was fun and not as scary as the title would insinuate. I think she should of turn this story into a book. There's a lot she could do with these characters.
Rating-4


Wednesday, September 23, 2009

The Host Movie Coming Soon!

Stephenie Meyer makes an exciting announcement on her web page:

September 23, 2009
"Hey guys, great news! The Host is on its way to the big screen:
Variety.com: "Twilight's Meyer..."
I'm so excited to be working with Nick Weschler, and Steve and Paula Mae Schwartz to bring The Host to a visual format. They've all been a dream to work with, so lovely and collaborative, and I feel like we're in a really good place to make a great movie together. And then to have Andrew Niccol writing and directing? Truly awesome. If you've never seen Gattaca, go watch it now. One of my favorite movies of all time. It's such a great example of character driven science fiction, which is ideal for The Host, no? I'm having an absolute blast imagining different dream casts, which I would post if people didn't take my silly blogs so seriously these days. I'm looking forward to seeing the cast lists you come up with in the fansite forums, and if any of them match mine. "
So, very exciting. Yay Host!
XOSteph


This book is so awesome I can't wait to see the adaptation to the big screen!!
Here are some related videos and articles about
The Host.
This is what Stephenie said about who she would like to see play her characters if The Host would be made into a movie..let's pray to the movie gods she gets her wish.
" With "The Host," I think the actors could be really big names. That would be cool. I'd love to see Robert Redford put on a beard and be Jeb; he would be amazing. ... Matt Damon has some very Jared-esque qualities, and then [I'd love to see] Casey Affleck as Ian and Ben Affleck as Kyle. Imagine the interplay. "
Take a look at the full interview of Stephenie Meyer by Larry Carroll from MTV on April 9th 2008 at this link.
Also, for some of you who have not read this book YOU SHOULD!! Like now..lol. Here are some interviews about the book.



another great interview take a look:http://www.bordersmedia.com/borderspresents/meyer

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Wings by Aprilynne Pike


Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.---Goodreads

Loved It! What a sweet and adventurous story. This book is good for all ages and everyone who loves faerie's. I think Aprilynne's twist on the Faerie's genetic make up is very fascinating and beautiful. I had a lot of fun sharing Laurel's journey while she discovered that not only is she not a normal human but actually she is not human at all.
Now on to the juicy part. The romance. David, I absolutely adore him. He is sweet, patient, intelligent and brave. All extremely sought after characteristics in finding your true love. Then comes Tamani. The protector. The warrior. Not only is he fearless, strong, caring and devoted but he is of Laurel's kind, a faerie. How can I chose? It make me extremely nervous to know that she is going to have to pick between these two. I know I'm going to cry like baby when she does (sigh). This is the first book of a series of four. Spells, the second book is set to release on May 4,2010 and I can't wait to get my hands on it. I'm so looking forward to hearing a lot more about Avalon and the faerie world.

Rating-

Friday, September 18, 2009

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz


I had freakin nightmares the whole time I read this book. The fanaticism of serial killers just chills me to the core. It's a chilling thriller the whole way through. Koontz mixes the horrific reality of murders and rapist with the supernatural world which just enhances the horror. As a thriller it does its job well. You probably have some sleepless nights.


Rating-3


Speak by Laurie Anderson


I read this book in about ten hours. It's a very short book and is geared toward the young teens but non the less a good book. It about a freshman in high school who gets raped by"Mr. Popular" at a party and how she becomes an outcast at school. It pissed me off and I so wanted to kick the asses of all the stupid immature a-holes in this book. Sorry I was venting.. It's great for young teen girls.


Rating- 3



Thursday, September 17, 2009

My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Holy crow, what can I say about the saddest book I have ever read? Have lots of tissues. Thank you Natalie for lending me this book and thank you Kleenex for making very soft tissues because I went through about four boxes. Geeez it's a tear jerker ladies so be prepared. This book has everything in it love, hate, secrets, hope, family and even a dog;) The love and loyalty of family is so great in this book it was refreshing after all the other books I have read so far by this point. The love story between Julia and Campbell was an extra little treat and I actually wanted more of the romance between the two in the book. This book is a Keeper ;)..lol sorry I just had to do it.

Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates


I could relate to this book big time. April, to me, represents lots of women who don't get to fulfill their full potential in life. Whether it be because of unexpected pregnancy or not finishing school. Sometimes one thing can set you off in a direction you really didn't want to go in and one thing leads to another. Then to realize too late that now your in so deep you don't know how to even start to dig yourself out. TRAP! that's how she felt. Although, I personally would not have taken the situation as far as she did but you get the point. Very realistic!


Rating- 4


Tuesday, September 15, 2009

The Reader by Bernhard Schlink


Very short and a bit disturbing but worth reading. Tragic is the work that comes to mind when I think of this book. FYI this book was originally written in German.


Rating 4

Contains adult content.


Eve by Elissa Elliott


You will never think of Adam and Eve the same again after reading this book. Elissa Elliot has put the historical story of Adam and Eve with a touch of fiction. If you always wondered what the overall story of the "forbidden fruit" I think you would be safe with this book. It was a wonderful adventure.


Rating-4


Contains adult content.

The Shack by William P. Young


The Shack was inspired by a true event. For this book you will need your mind and heart wide open. In the beginning of the book I was just as mad as Mack at God for the horrible things that happen to Missy. But as the story unfolded I was shown that we as humans have free will and God won't take that away from us. We all choose our one paths and sometimes we end up being the victims..that's just live.


Rating-4


Like Water For Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

This book will make you thank the heavens you live in the present day. Full of beautiful traditions and tasty recipes I got swept up into the story right away. It's full of romance, betrayal, superstition, and culture. FYI this book was originally written in Spanish.

Rating 3
(M)-http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1800204511/info

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Books by Alice Sebold

This is my favorite of the three. Devastating tragedy strikes the Salmon family. Susie at the age of fourteen is lured into a trap by a neighbor where she is raped and killed. Overwhelmed, her parents, sister and brother try to cope with the loss but find themselves drifting away from each other.

Rating
(M)-Coming out Jan. 15,2010http://lovelybones.com/

Contains adult content.



Heart sickening. This is Alice's memoir of being brutally raped at the age of 18 as a freshman in college. She gives every detail and it will make you cringe and cry. I found it inspiring because although she was treated like a lying incompetent half-wit she didn't back down. She is a survivor.


Rating

Contains adult content.




This book was a little disturbing but non the less entertaining. Alice Sebold likes to shock her reads with a great tragedy and she achieved that in the first few pages of all her books. Deep and twisted this story will make you really think about your relationship with your mother, or daughter.

Rating

Contains adult content.

Alpha and Omega Series by Patricia Briggs




Warning!! These books contain adult content
I was lead to this series by a short story named Alpha and Omega in a book called On the Prowl. That short story lead to these two books which are about werewolves, witches and vampires. I think what kept me hooked was Charles intense protectiveness of Ana. It was interesting to see how Ana handled her transition from thinking her self the most submissive of wolves to and Omega. A third book will hit shelves in Aug. of 2010. No title has been given to the book as of yet.

Harry Potter Series by JKRowling

Oh how I wished I was a witch during this series. I could imagine myself at Hagwarts learning spells and potions. Ok, I know you think I'm crazy but I really got into this series. It's amazing how JKRowling makes you feel like her characters are part of your family. You're always so worried what's going to happen to them and how are they going to get out of such dilemmas. It was a thrilling ride and I was sad to see it end. They are definitely some of my favorite books to read. Loved it!

Rated 4
(M)- the first 6 books are out and the last book is said to be made in 2 parts the first on Nov. 19,2010 and the second part Nov. 2011.http://www.warnervideo.com/harrypotterdvd/
(W)- http://www.mugglenet.com/
http://www.jkrowling.com/
http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp

Thursday, September 10, 2009

The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins


The Hunger Games (#1):
Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives.

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.---scholastic.com
I love this book!! I don't know how these authors can put together a world so imaginative. I guess that's why I read and they write..lol. Katniss is such a great character. She's responsible, strong, self sacrificing, loving , loyal, a survivor, who wouldn't lover her. The arena was terrifying and I couldn't put the book down till I knew how Katniss was going to survive through all the torturous obstacles. It was an excruciating ride all the way to the end and I can't wait for the next installment to see what happens next.

Rating-





Catching Fire(#2):
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.---Goodreads.com
This book surprised me big time and both books kept me biting my nails till the end of each one. I really can't get enough of Katniss. She is courageous, smart, and protective of her loved ones(just like me;). I can't say to much or I will give a away the big surprise but you definitely don't want to miss out on this exciting quest for survival.
Rating-