Sunday, January 31, 2010

In My Mailbox (1)


In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly basis. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! Hosted by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.
This is what I received this week:
Bought
1.Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
2.Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr
3. An Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Novel collectors set by Laurell K. Hamilton
which included Guilty Pleasures, The Laughing Corpse, Circus Of The Damned and Blood Noir
4. Sweep by Cate Tiernan which includes the first 3 books: Book of Shadows, The Coven, and Blood Witch
Received as gifts:
5. Skin on Skin by Sunny, Jami Alden, & Valerie Martinez
This book was given to me by Sunny and autographed (Thank you, Thank you!!)
6. Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
7. Freaksville by Kitty Keswick
8. The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg
9. Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves
all 4 of these were given to me as a birthday gift from my godmother..Thank You Aunt Hilda!!

Since this is my first In My Mailbox post I wanted to share what I got this past month also. Here are some of the titles:
The Lighting Thief -- The Giver--Fragile Eternity(signed)--The Girl Who Could Fly--Phantom in the Night--Whispered Lies--Time Raiders: The Avenger--Divine by Mistake--Divine by Choice--Divine by Blood--Elphame's Choice--Dreamhunter--Dreamquake--Blue Bloods--Masquerade--Evermore--Immortal--The Maze Runner--Dreaming Anastasia(signed)--Story of a Girl (signed not in pic)--Perfect Chemistry(not in pic)--Vacations of Hell(signed)--Peeps--So Yesterday--Looking For Alaska--Wicked: Witch & Curse--Wicked: Legacy & Spellbound--Wicked: Resurrection--Intertwined(not in pic)--The Secret Year(not in pic)--The Demon's Lexicon (not in pic)--Need & Captivate (not in pic)
Yikes!! I think that's it. Just to let you know I'm not rolling in the dough (LOL), far from it, these were either gifts or purchased with gift cards to B&N given to me on Christmas and my birthday so I doubt I will get this many in one month for the rest of the year.


And now for some awesome and exciting news. We will be giving away these (6 signed) Mona Lisa Awakening (written by Sunny) and (1 signed) Lucinda Darkly (written by Sunny) that I received yesterday. Click on her name if you want more info on her books. The contest will start some time in February when I post her interview.

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Reread Weekends

These post will be to inform you that there is a sequel that is going to be released soon (or a movie made from the book) and that you probably need to reread (or read) the previous book or books just to be up to date with the story when grabbing the up coming release. If this doesn't make since just look below and it will all be cleared up..


Release date Feb. 9, 2010

We are 10 days away from the release date and I will be first in line at B&N to get my copy. Make sure and reread the first to books Wake & Fade

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

The Movie release date is Feb. 12, 2010

I just bought this book and plan on reading it before the movie comes out and you should too. I love to compare the book to the movie even though I am almost always disappointed. Either way I find that I always have a deeper understanding of the characters when I have read the book first. It's like I have read the behind the scenes uncut version of the movie.

Contest News

The Bookologist is hosting a Mega 2010 Box Contest! Here's the link http://the-bookologist.blogspot.com/2009/12/mega-2010-box-contest-international.html end 1/31


Mundie Moms are giving away a copy of The Iron King over at their site here's the link


ends 1/31/10

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Dystopian Fiction Reading Challenge 2010




Parajunkee is hosting a Dystopia book challenge. If you don't know what dystopia is here's a little of what she has posted on her site:
dys·to·pi·a (dĭs-tō'pē-ə)

1.An imaginary place or state in which the condition of life is extremely bad, as from deprivation, oppression, or terror.

American Psychological Association (APA):
dystopia. (n.d.). The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. Retrieved January 28, 2010, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/dystopia


Dystopian Fiction in it's basic state is described as the opposite of Utopian fiction, but that is almost too simplistic a term to describe the genre.

Here are features of Dystopian Fiction:

•Post-apocalyptic setting, usually there is the background story of natural disaster, revolutions, war, climate change, some kind of devastating event that changed society
•Dystopians are normally future based
•A difference in the standard of living than what we enjoy in today's society. This can be a poorer standard of living, as in The Hunger Games, or sometimes a more materialistic environment, like such in Brave New World and Uglies.
•The main character questions society, or is exposed to the baser ideals of their society within the plot, leading them to the knowledge that something is terribly wrong with their world.
•There is usually a group/revolution occurring within the novel that the controlling state does not have control over that the protagonist teams up with or strives to join/become like, although nothing is being changed by the character or group. In Brave New World, this group is comprised of the people on the reservation.
•Dystopian fiction typically elaborates on the darker society trends that effect us today. Usually the reader can identify things within our own society that could lead to this future terrible state.

•Within the plot of a dystopian fiction, the protagonist usually will try to escape or bring down the society that restricts them

Click on the Dystopian Challenge button to get all the details on how to enter.






Here is my list
1. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
2. Anthem by Ayn Rand
3. Animal Farm by George Orwell
4. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
5. The Children Of Men by P.D. James
6. The Giver by Lois Lowry
7. The Road by Cormac McCarthy
8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
9. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
10. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
11. Pretties by Scott Westerfeld
12. Specials by Scott Westerfeld
13. Extras by Scott Westerfeld
14. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
15. The Maze Runner by James Dashner
16. Bones fo Faerie by janni Lee Simner
17. Feed by Mira Grant
18. Incarceron by Catherine Fisher
19. Gone by Micheal Grant
20. Hunger by Michael Grant
21. Candor by Pam Bachorz
22. Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony
23. Birthmarked by Caragh M. O'Brien
24. The Dead-Tossed Wavesb by Carrie Ryan
25. The Line by Teri Hall
Challenge ends August 24, 2010.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

First Book Signing

This is my first blog ever so be gentle....

I attended the book review with my cousin Trini and sister (I am the one with the long curly hair). This is my FIRST BOOK SIGNING!!!!! I was so excited and it was not a let down. Becca personality was so welcoming you just wanted to hug her. I did not have a chance to finish her book before the reading but I can’t wait to open it up again.

So Sad....

I could not attend Cassandra Clares’ book signing which I wanted and my husband wanted the most. We had basketball games all day. I have read City of Bones and currently reading City of Ashes. After I finished City of Bones I had to run outside and SCREAM!!! I wish I could read and fast as my husband because he is rushing me through City of Ashes....errrrrggg!!! I LOVE JACE'S character....don't want to let the cat out I was so upset with the ending of City Of Bones...arg

This is the first edition check ya out next time.

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Perfect Chemistry by Simne Elkeles

At Fairfield High, everyone knows that south siders and north siders aren’t exactly compatible elements. So when cheerleader Brittany Ellis and gang member Alex Fuentes are forced to be lab partners, the results are bound to be explosive.

Neither teen is prepared for the most surprising chemical reaction of all – love. Can they break through the stereotypes and misconceptions that threaten to keep them apart?--simoneelkeles.net


Love Conquers All!! I have to mention I do not like the cover of the book but the contents inside I absolutely adore. This book is so good I'm going to have to read it again before going to the next..I just have to, it's that good. I absolutely love Alex and Brit. Alex is a gang banger who had no choice but to join a gang in order to protect his family and Brittany is a rich seemingly perfect girl with a perfect life. As they are forced to sit next to each other in Chemistry class their senior year they find out they have more in common then they think do. As a Hispanic and someone who can really relate to Alex's POV this book now holds a very special place in my heart.
Rating-


Monday, January 25, 2010

Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr



In the three years since her father caught her in the back seat of a car with an older boy, sixteen-year-old Deanna’s life at home and school has been a nightmare, but while dreaming of escaping with her brother and his family, she discovers the power of forgiveness.---sarazarr.com

What an amazing insight into the dynamics of a dysfunctional family. Sara Zarr got to the heart of what its like for a teenage girl to be labeled a "slut" when all she was looking for was for someone to love her and think that she's beautiful. This is a very sad but very realistic view of a teenagers life after she is taken advantage of by an older boy. After her father catches her in the back seat of the car with Tommy he acts as if she no longer exist. Her mother is in denial and her older brother is outraged. This book is short and to the point and I loved it.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Becca Fitzpatrick and Teen Book Festival

This weekend was one of the best weekends of my life! I had the pleasure of meeting Becca Fitzpatrick, Cassandra Clare, Melissa Marr, Sara Zarr, and Joy Preble. Since these were my first signing events I didn't know what to expect when meeting an author. I was so nervous and to my complete surprise I found each author extremely nice and humble.

Becca Fitzpatrick
On Friday January 23, 2010 I attend the Hush Hush book signing at the Blue Williow Bookshop in Houston, Tx at 7pm. Becca shared some general information about Crescendo like how Crescendo will be focusing on how Patch is connected to Nora's father and letting us know that Patch's past is still going to be a secret at the end of the book. She read to us the scene where Nora decides to call Patch for the first time for the interview assignment for Biology class. Then she answered like a bazillion questions...haha well maybe not that many but it was a lot and it was very exciting. We all got to see some of the outtakes of the photo shoot with Patch (who is played by Drew Doyon) and Nora (I'm sorry I didn't get the model who was posing as Nora). They were so pretty and hope they make poster of them soon. When Crescendo is released I would love to see her again and will mark the date as soon as she announces them.


Cassandra Clare
I am a HUGE fan and the Mortal Instruments so when I found out she was going to be here I had to go meet her. The Teen Book Festival started at 11am but we didn't get there till 1pm. I walked in with Maria and Christina and went to look around and ended up at the B&N table. As I was there trying to figure out how many books I could get away with buying without my husband coming to cut my visa up I was talking to my companions when I backed up and bumped into someone passing by. As I turned around I figured it would be one of the hundreds of teens walking around but low and behold it was Cassandra Clare. It happen so fast I really didn't realise it until Christina the actual teenager in our threesome whispered "That was Cassandra Clare!!" and I was like "Holy crap I just bumped into Cassandra Clare!!" and we got all giddy like we were kids and Maria got all jealous because she wasn't the one who almost knock down the genius behind the Mortal Instruments.
With so little time we only went to see Cassandra Clare in the breakout session in which she talks about her life and how she became a writer. She is such a fascinating person to listen to. She read us a romance novel she wrote when she was eleven, she had us all laughing. She also wrote a little skit about her first phone calls to her mother, father and Holly Black when she found out she was on the New York's bestselling list. Oh, and when the Author panel was being held with all six authors Cassandra shared her story of the first time she was presenting at a school with her close friend Holly Black and the school had forgotten that they were event coming and had no place to put them so the school ended up putting them in the gym on one of three volleyball courts. Holly was just about to explain to Cassie how to give a presentation since this was going to be her first time when a volleyball flew out of now where and hit Holly in the head. We all couldn't stop laughing. This festival was so much fun and I will plan on attending every year.
Photobucket Inside Festival Booklet
Cassandra talking about herself and answering questions Photobucket Cassandra siging my books.
Cassandra Clare and Me..I know, hillarious right, but the line was moving so fast I couldn't get a good picture with her. Ok..I know what your thinking " Why in the world would she put this picture up?" Sorry I just had to!! I think it's so hilarious. LOL!! We were maybe the 10th in line of about 1000 (yes a VERY long line) and we were being rushed as we got to the tabel because Cassie had to leave in like 30 minutes so I sneaked into the shot because I never know how to NOT be silly. I'm a mental case, I know ;) Anyways I hope you enjoy this pic as much as I do.


I also meet Sara Zarr, Joy Preble and Melissa Marr as they signed their own books for me. Unfortunately since I was late we didn't get to listed to anyone else speeches besides Cassandras and it was very disappointing..hopefully next time. Well here are the books I got signed and will be giving away in various contest in the coming months depending if I get enough followers. Check them out!
Signed books by the authors Hush Hush and 1 post card signed by Becca FitzpatrickFragile Eternity signed by Melissa Marr Story of A Girl  signed by Sara Zarr Dreaming Anastasia signed by Joy Preble w/ book mark and card The Mirror House (short story in Vacations From Hell) signed by Cassandra Clare City of Glass signed by Cassandra Clare


I want to thank Becca Fitzpatrick, Cassandra Clare, Melissa Marr, Sara Zarr, and Joy Preble for signing my books!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Twilight song :What Have You Done to My Wife?

When I saw this video I told myself I just had to put it on my blog ASAP. It's so funny and exactly how my husband feels. I want to dedicate this post to him..Sorry baby but you just have to read the books to understand my obsession..LOL!!

Friday, January 22, 2010

Vampire Baseball/ Twilight Fan Trips




Join cast from Twilight and New Moon, along with other great Louisiana celebrities as they take to the field to play Vampire Baseball™ to help benefit several New Orleans charities!
Here's the link if you're interested-http://fantrips.travel/twilightfantrips/vb-neworleans.html



Thursday, January 21, 2010

Need & Captivate by Carrie Jones



Zara collects phobias the way other high school girls collect lipsticks. Little wonder, since life’s been pretty rough so far. Her father left, her stepfather just died, and her mother’s pretty much checked out. Now Zara’s living with her grandmother in sleepy, cold Maine so that she stays “safe.” Zara does’t think she’s in danger; she thinks her mother can’t deal.
Wrong. Turns out that guy she sees everywhere, the one leaving trails of gold glitter, isn’t a figment of her imagination. He’s a pixie—and not the cute, lovable kind with wings. He’s the kind who has dreadful, uncontrollable needs. And he’s trailing Zara. ---carriejonesbooks.com

Enchantingly Dark! The pixies in this book gives me the creeps. When I read the description of the pixies for the first time and the mention of Stephen King in this book, a picture of IT flashed in my mind. Yes the scary clown guy from Stephen King's IT with all those scary teeth. But of course these pixies do not have red noes and hair or a ton of make-up on but IT is on the same level of scariness as those pixies..lol. Any who..the pixies in this book have silver eyes, blue skin, and those shark like teeth. On the not so scary side of this story is Zara the protagonist, Betty or Gram, Issie, Nick, and Devyn. They are all likable characters and are easy to relate to which made this book a lot more enjoyable to read. I hope Carrie makes this a long series because I want so much more of all these characters.

Rating-



Zara and her friends knew they hadn't solved the pixie problem for good. Far from it. The king's needs grow deeper every day he's stuck in captivity, while his control over his people gets weaker. It's made him vulnerable. And now there's a new king in town.

A turf war is imminent, since the new pixie king, Astley, is moving in quickly. Nick nearly killed him in the woods on day one, but Zara came to his rescue. Astley swears that he and Zara are destined to be together, that he's one of the good guys. Nick isn't buying it, though Zara isn't as sure -- despite herself, she wants to trust the new king. But it's a lot more than her relationship with Nick that is at stake. It's her life -- and his.
---Goodreads


Devastatingly Beautiful! This book takes you through Zara's transformation from pacifist to warrior. Since her world has been turned inside out and upside down she has tried and tried to resolve all the challenges she encounters peacefully but, in this book she is pushed beyond her limits of compassion. Filled with new adventures, new creatures and new characters this books ends far to early...I want more ASAP!!! I can't stand not knowing what lies ahead.