Sunday, February 28, 2010

Sunny's Lucinda Darkly Giveaway

This contest in now CLOSED!

Just wanted to let eveyone know you still have time to enter the Lucinda, Darkly giveaway which ends at midnight. Here is the link Sunny's Giveaway.
Good Luck!

In My Mailbox (5)

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly bases. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! Hosted by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.


This is what I received this week:


Won:
A Match Made In High School by Kristin Walker
I won this on Andrea Cremer's blog A Blurred History.
 She is the author of the upcoming book Nightshade.

Bought:
Brighid's Quest by P.C. Cast
(I have the prequel Elphame's Choice and needed this one)

Bad ATTITUDE by Sherrilyn Kenyon
(I have been looking for this forever in hardback and finally found it. Ya! I have the rest of the series and this is the first book so I couldn't start without it.)

Lucinda, Darkly by Sunny
 (I already have this book in mass paperback but wanted it in tradeback so this is going into my personal library.)

Mona Lisa Craving by Sunny
(I already have this book in mass paperback but wanted it in tradeback so this is going into my personal library.)

We Got A Winner!

robin K
Congratulations!!
Please email me at abookloversreview@gmail.com and let me know which gift card you would like.

Saturday, February 27, 2010

50 Follower Giveaway!

Ya!! I was a little worried we weren't going to reach our goal of 50 followers by Sunday the 28th to pick a winner for the Sunny contest put we have thanks to all of you. So in celebration of reaching our goal I will enter all of our followers into a drawing to win a $10 gift card to either Barnes and Nobles or Amazon (winners choice). I will draw a name at midnight CST which is in about 40 minutes and then I will post winner ASAP and ask you to email me your choice of gift card. You will have 48 hrs to resond. If the winner doesn't respond a new winner will be drawn.
GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!

A Match Made In High School by Kristin Walker

When the principal announces that every senior must participate in a mandatory year-long Marriage Education program, Fiona Sheehan believes that her life can’t get any worse. Then she marries her “husband”: Jerky jock Todd, whose cheerleader girlfriend, Amanda, has had it in for Fiona since day one of second grade. Even worse? Amanda is paired with Fiona’s long-term crush, Gabe. At least Fiona is doing better than her best friend, Marcie, who is paired up with the very quiet, very mysterious Johnny Mercer. Pranks, fights, misunderstandings, and reconciliations ensue in an almost Shakespearean comedy of errors about mistaken first impressions, convoluted coupling, and hidden crushes.--Goodreads

I had such a good time with this story and I don't think I have ever laughed so much while reading a book.  The chemistry between Fiona and Todd is electric. Their personalities are perfect to be in a "Love-Hate" relationship that is so much fun to see unfold. The only thing I had trouble with is that Sam, an eleven year old girl, and some times Fiona seemed wise beyond their years about marriage and relationships. Other than that
there are some pranks pulled that are below the belt, heart breaking secrets revealed, and new love kindled. You don't want to miss out on this hilarious tale of a teenage mock marriage.
Quotes:
Fiona--"Todd, though--once he wraps his hands around a long, thick sausage, he can't get it in his mouth fast enough." 
I had to put the book down after this line becuase I was laughing so hard.

 Fiona--"Who has she told? As if I even have to ask. The whole school. If loose lips really sank ships, that girl could be a weapon of mass destruction."

Rating-

Ya!! We Have Reached 50 Followers!

I'm so excited we have reached 50 followers. To celebrate I'm going to enter all of our first 50 followers into a book contest. I will have form and list of books to chose from coming up a little later so keep a look out for it. A big THANK YOU to all of our followers!

Trini

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Hearts At Stake by Alyxandra Harvey


The Blakes are rather different to your usual neighbours. They are vampires and some of the members of the family date back to the twelfth century. One of the children, Solange, is the only born female vampire known and, as such, she poses a direct threat to the vampire queen. Her best friend Lucy is human, and when Solange is kidnapped Lucy and Solange's brother, Nicholas, set out to save her. Lucy soon discovers that she would like to be more than just friends with Nicholas. But how does one go about dating a vampire? Meanwhile, Solange finds an unlikely ally in Kieran, a vampire slayer on the hunt for his father's killer.--Goodreads

Never judge a book by it's cover! This line has never be so true. I LOVE this book and the only reason it took so long picking it up was the cover. It didn't draw me in. I don't want to say it looks childish but that's really the only thing that kept popping in my mind when I would pass it up at the bookstores. What did make me pick it up was the price, which was $8, at Walmart and it was on the Debut Challenge list. Needles to say it was worth the $8. Heck if I knew it was this good I would have paid $20.
It's funny, sexy, and exciting. This is going to be one of my re-reads becuase I want so much more of this story and the second time around is always so much better that the first. I hope The Drake Chronicles continues with many, many books because I want to know about every character in this story and there are pleanty. With seven brothers, one crazy best friend, aunts, uncles, cousins, and two very protective but loveing parents there has to be great stories behind all those characters.  The only complaint that I have is that there was not enough of Solange's (the main character) relationship with Kieran. Then all my hopes vanished as I came to find out the next book Blood Fued is going to be about Logan (Solange 's brother) and Isabaeu not Solange. Hopefully there will be another story about her in the near future. Other than that this is a definite must read for the paranormal romance addict.

Quote:
Lucy- "Hey, you do have some mojo."

Rating-

(W)-The Drake Chronicles

Monday, February 22, 2010

The Booty: Bleeding Violet Giveaway

This Contest is now CLOSED!!


I have decided to give away my copy of Bleeding Violet. I know some of you need it for the Debut Challenge or POC Challenge so here's your chance to win it.

NOTICE: If you don't have a blog you can earn extra entries by commenting on any of my post (5 max).


Rules:
-You MUST be 13 years of age or older to enter.
-You must be a follower of this blog.
-Open to US residents only.
-Fill out the Google form below and follow all directions.
-Deadline is on March 7, 2010 at 11:59pm CST.
-To view our contest policies click here.
If you have any questions or concerns please fill free to email me.

Sunday, February 21, 2010

In My Mailbox (4)

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly bases. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! Hosted by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.


This is what I received this week:


1.The Reader by Bernard Schlink (I have already read but wanted a copy of my own)
2. Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (this was a $1 brand new. I couldn't pass it up. Now if I can find the others at that price)
3.The Color Purple by Alice Walker ( for POC Challenge)
4. The Secret Story of Sonia Rodriguez by Alan Lawrence Sitomer (for POC Challenge)
5. Hearts At Stake by Alyxandra Harvey (for Debut Challenge)
6. Thirsty by M. T. Anderson
7. The Last Days by Scott Westerfeld (I have the first book, Peeps)
8. My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding - A Collection of Short Stories (Sherrilyn Kenyon- Dark Hunter Anthology)

I have so many great books I don't know where to start. Till next time, Happy Reading!

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves


Love can be a dangerous thing....
Hanna simply wants to be loved. With a head plagued by hallucinations, a medicine cabinet full of pills, and a closet stuffed with frilly, violet dresses, Hanna's tired of being the outcast, the weird girl, the freak. So she runs away to Portero, Texas in search of a new home.
But Portero is a stranger town than Hanna expects. As she tries to make a place for herself, she discovers dark secrets that would terrify any normal soul. Good thing for Hanna, she's far from normal. As this crazy girl meets an even crazier town, only two things are certain: Anything can happen and no one is safe.--Goodreads

Uniquely dark and twisted! When I think of this book Beetlejuice and a Fun House at a carnival comes to mind. Weird creatures and strange phenomenons appear through out the story keeping you glued to the pages. This book pulls you in like watching a scene of a horific accident between an eighteen wheeler and a motorcycolist. You just have to look even if you know there is going to be a horribly mangled body lying on the ground.
My emotions were all over the place during this story. For the first hundred pages or so I hated it. Then slowly it started to grow on me and then I couldn't put the book down. At times it was too confusing to be mysterious and I got fustrated. I also felt that I had to work a little to enjoy this book. My imagination is just not as big as Dia Reeves.
 Hanna, the main character which is labled a manic depressive, would say something so insightful  and genuine that I would  think she really isn't insane and then she goes off and does something totally crazy like trying to cut her own finger off with a nail clipper. It was exhausting..LOL.
On a good note this was a darkly fascinating, fast paced emotional rollacoster. So if you are looking for an unusual and one of a kind story look no farther because the Bleeding Violet is what you're looking for.

Quotes:
" Love is a trap," Rosaless said. "The unltimate cage."
----------
Hanna- "Mother is the name for God on the lips and hearts of children."

Rating-


Saturday, February 20, 2010

Rules Of Attraction and Other Simone Elkeles News

Simone Elkeles has finished wrting Rule of Attration ,the sequel to Perfect Chemistry. It will be released on April 13,2010!!
Description:
When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for a year, he doesn’t want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him at a high school in Colorado . Carlos likes living his life on the edge and wants to carve his own path—just like Alex did. Then he meets Kiara Westford. She doesn’t talk much and is completely intimidated by Carlos’ wild ways. As they get to know one another, Carlos assumes Kiara thinks she’s too good for him, and refuses to admit that she might be getting to him. But he soon realizes that being himself is exactly what Kiara needs right now.--simoneelkeles.net

I'm very excited and will be at B&N 9am sharp to pick up my copy. They also announced that there will be a book trailer for ROA with Alexander F. Rodriguez (from the Katy Pery Hot & Cold Video) playing Alex Fuentez and Giancarlo Vidrio playing Carlos Fuentez coming soon.

In Perfect Chemistry news the audio is now availible at Audible.com.

Also,
The book trailer for How To Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation in now showing and you can take a look at all Simones book trailers here.

Here is a list of Simone Elkeles books:

Perfect Chemistry (#1)
Rules of Attraction (#2) 4/14/10
TBA (#3) 2011

Leaving Paradise (#1)
TBA (#2) Nov.2010

How To Ruin A Summer Vacation (#1)
How To Ruin My Teenage Life (#2)
How To Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation (#3)
Don't forget to check out her site at Simone Elkeles.net
and my review for Perfect Chemistry.

Friday, February 19, 2010

Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riodan


What if the gods of Olympuswere alive in the 21st Century? What if they still fell in love with mortals and had children who might become great heroes — like Theseus, Jason and Hercules?

What if you were one of those children?

Such is the discovery that launches twelve-year-old Percy Jackson on the most dangerous quest of his life. With the help of a satyr and a daughter of Athena, Percy must journey across the United States to catch a thief who has stolen the original weapon of mass destruction – Zeus’ master bolt. Along the way, he must face a host of mythological enemies determined to stop him. Most of all, he must come to terms with a father he has never known, and an Oracle that has warned him of betrayal by a friend.---rickriordan.com

LOVED IT!! I enjoyed this book so much. I reading half of the book out loud to share it with my son, who wouldn't go to sleep at his bed time because he wanted me to keep going. This book is so well written and funny, funny, funny. Rich Riordan has crafted a fun, fast pace story that is not only for children but can be enjoyed and loved by adults as well. I have always loved Greek mythology and this was a wonderful way to introduce some of my favorite mythological character to my seven year old son. I will be picking up the rest of the series ASAP becuse I'm looking forward to all the new adventures Percy will have to face next. 

Quote:
"Poseidon," said Chiron. "Earthshaker, stormbringer, Father of Horses. Hail, Perseus Jackson, Son of the Sea God."

Rating-

Thursday, February 18, 2010

POC Reading Challenge


I have join the People Of Color Reading Challenge. This challenge is focused on books that have people of color in it or books that are written by an author of a different race other than caucasian.
I'm pledging to read 16-25 books (level 5) for this year.
Here is my list:

1. The House of The Spirits by Isable Allendale
2. How The Garcia Girls Lost Their Accent by Julia Alvarez
3. The House On Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
4. Blue Bloods by Melissa  De La Cruz
5. Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz
6. Revalations by Melissa De La Cruz
7. The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De La Cruz
8. Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore
9. Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
10. Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles
11. Like Water For Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
12. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
13. Ash by Malinda Lo
14. Love in The Time Of Cholora by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
15. 8th Grade Superhero by Olugbemisola Rhuday Perkovich
16. Bleeding Voilet by Dia Reeves
17. The Secret Stroy of Sonia Rodriguez by Alan Lawrence Sitomer
18. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
19. Extra by Scott Westerfeld
20. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
21. Always Running by Luis J. Rodriguez

10 in ‘10 Teen Chick Lit Challenge


Co-hosted by YA author Kay Cassidy and teen book blogger Jessica (www.chicklitteens.com), the 10 in ‘10 Teen Chick Lit Challenge is your chance to read some fabulous teen chick lit books with other chick lit fans and win some prizes. The challenge runs from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010.
Here is my list:

1. The Secret Year by Jennifer Hubbard
2. The Mark by Jen Nadol
3. Firespell by Chloe Neil
4. The Bleeding Violet By Dia Reeves
5. The Naughty List by Suzanne Young
6. Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu
7. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
8. The Line by Teri Hall
9. Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson
10. Tell Me A Secret by Holly Cupala
11. 13 to Life: A Werewolf Tale
12. Faithful by Janet Fox
13. Freaksville by Kitty Keswick
14. Party By Toma Leveen
15. Change Of Heart by Shari Maurer
16. Three Rivers Rising by Jane Richards
17. The Tension Of Opposites by Kristina McBride
18. Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis
19. Nevermore by Kelly Creagh
20. The Best and Hardest Thing by Pat Brisson
21. Infinity By Sherrilyn Kenyon
22. Glimmerglass by Jenna Black
23. Feed by Mira Grant
24. Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony
25. Dreaming Anastasia by Joy Preble
26. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
27. Birthmarked by Caragh M. O'brien
28. The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg
29. Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr
30. Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
31. Perfect Chemistry by Simon Elkeles
32. Rules of Attraction by Simon Elkeles
33. A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker
34. The Cinderella Society by Kay Cassidy

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

City Of Fallen Angels Chapter List

Over at Mundie Moms Cassandrea Clare has shared the names and a little discription of each chapter of City of Fallen Angels....that's right CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS!! Thank you Mundie Moms and Cassie!

Here is some info about City of Fallen Angels:
City of Fallen Angels will be released in March, 2011. It takes place after the events of City of Glass. It splits its focus between Jace and Clary and Clary's best friend, Simon, and how he adjusts to life as a vampire, but it's still an ensemble-cast story, and all the characters from the Mortal Instruments series appear in it: Jace, Isabelle, Alec, Magnus, Luke, Jocelyn, Maia, and many more. (It even helps to have read The Clockwork Angel before you read CoFA, because some of the characters from the ID series do show up in it. However, it isn't required.) In City of Fallen Angels, someone's killing the Shadowhunters who used to be in Valentine's Circle and leaving their bodies around New York City in a manner designed to provoke hostility between Downworlders and Shadowhunters. Internecine warfare among vampires is ripping the Downworld community apart, and only Simon—the Daylighter who everyone wants on their side—can decide the outcome; too bad he wants nothing to do with Downworld politics. Meanwhile Jace and Clary investigate a mystery that has deeply personal consequences for them—consequences that may strengthen their relationship, or rip it apart forever. Love, blood, betrayal and revenge: the stakes are higher than ever in City of Fallen Angels.---The Mortal Instruments.com

Click the link below to take a look.
---------->City Of Fallen Angels chapter list <--------

If you haven't read The Mortal Instrument series you really need to. It's AWESOME!!

Monday, February 15, 2010

O&A with Sunny and a Giveaway!






You heard it here first!!
For the first time Sunny is revealing the plot of her next book, Mona Lisa Eclipsing

I'm ecstatic about having Sunny share a few words with us today on our blog. She is a fantastic writer with a brilliantly imaginative mine. I want to thank her for being so gracious and friendly when it came to answering our questions. The Q&A today is about her Monere Series. I picked this series knowing that the next book in the series will be coming out later this year or early next. This will give you a chance to pick up the whole series and be caught up with the story when the new adverture begins. ENJOY!! 

Interview:


What was the easiest and hardest things to write about in the Monère Series?

The love scenes turned out, surprisingly, to be the easiest parts to write. It’s more conscious work and writing effort leading up to it. Then when I hit a love scene, the words just flowed out of me almost effortlessly.


Ironically enough, the love scenes now are also the hardest things to write in the Monère series. MONA LISA AWAKENING, MONA LISA BLOSSOMING, and the short Monère novella in OVER THE MOON were literally a joy for me to write. By then, however, I’d written over a dozen love scenes. My problem is that I try to make each love scene slightly different and unique—different emotional reasons and resonances, as well as the sex itself, if I can. After you’ve written so many variations, you start to run out of new ideas.

What is the most asked question about the Monère Series?

The biggest one so far is if Dante (from MONA LISA CRAVING) will come back. Happy to say that yes, he will. For a while I thought that MONA LISA DARKENING would be the last book I’d write in the series. The outpouring of emails from fans, and some really wonderful readers that I met at a conference happily changed my mind. It’s very different meeting readers who love your stories in person. Meeting them made me feel much more obligated to ties things up for my fans instead of leaving things hanging.


MONA LISA ECLIPSING should be out by the end of the year or early 2011, and will feature Dante’s return. We’ll also see more of Amber and Halcyon.

What is the most challenging aspect of writing the Monère Series?

Like the love scenes, the most challenging aspect of the novels is trying to come up with new perilous situations and adventures to write about. In MONA LISA AWAKENING, poor Mona Lisa is kidnapped by rogues, drugged with an aphrodisiac, and snatched by a demon down to Hell. In MONA LISA BLOSSOMING, the men in her life fight each other to win her love, and she is attacked by a rival Queen. In MONA LISA CRAVING, she’s snatched away by a family in need of her Queen ability to share moonlight with other Monère to save their oldest son, Dante, and finds herself haunted not just by new life growing within her but her old one. In MONA LISA DARKENING, Mona Lisa is drawn into NetherHell, the cursed realm of the damn, her body possessed by another Queen. And these are very simple, general strokes about each book. Each novel is packed with lots of action, adventure, side characters, and new lovers.


In MONA LISA ECLISPING, the new novel I’m writing, Mona Lisa travels down to Mexico after learning that Dante has been sighted there, intending to bring him home. A head injury, however, causes her to lose all memory of her new Monère life.



Which book has been the easiest and hardest to write and why?

My first novel, MONA LISA AWAKENING, was the most thrilling and joyous for me to write, but not the easiest. I was learning how to write and was facing the challenge of seeing if I was capable of writing out an entire book, which I didn’t quite believe I could do, much less write a story that I considered good. The easiest story to write was “Chinatown,” the novella in THE HARD STUFF, which I wrote after finishing MONA LISA AWAKENING. “Chinatown” was my first sale. Riding the high of having completed a manuscript that I loved—of finding myself able to actually write!—I dashed off the 25,000 word novella in two weeks, just in time to pitch it to a Kensington editor at the New England Chapter’s annual RWA Conference. I got “the email” several weeks later telling me that they wanted to publish my novella.


The hardest book to write is my current work in progress. I’ve found that each subsequent book in a series gets harder to write and takes longer to do so, much in part because I pack a lot of stuff into each book and start running out of ideas of what to do in the new stories that I haven’t already done. Not only deadlines but the self-pressure of trying to maintain quality weighs more heavily on you with each book.

What is the most interesting comment you have received concerning the Monère Series?

I think the most memorable comment I received was from a reader who loved MONA LISA AWAKENING so much that she got wrinkled in the bathtub because she didn’t want to stop reading long enough to get out. And then I ended up meeting her at a conference! All the warm and encouraging emails I’ve gotten, though, are very special to me. I love hearing from readers who love my stories. They really keep me going and sometimes, as in MONA LISA ECLIPSING, influence what I write.

Sunny
www.sunnyauthor.com
MONA LISA DARKENING
Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award nominee


To order any of her books you can go to her Amazon store here.

Take a look at my reviews Skin on Skin and The Monere and The Demon Princess Chronicles.


Did I mention a give away?
Yes we will be giving away signed copies of her books. You can take a look at our previous post or just click here to get details and enter.

Sunny also has a giveaway on her contest page. Mona Lisa Darkening is up for grabs!

The Booty: Sunny's Monthly Giveaway!! (Feb.)

This giveaway is now CLOSED!
The Winner

 

Here it is...our first giveaway!!

We are going to start our montly Sunny Giveaway with a signed copy of Lucinda, Darkly  then follow up with the six signed copies of Mona Lisa Awakening (one each month) until supplies last. If I acquire more of Sunny's books throughout the year I will add them to the giveaway. I love her books and absolutely love The Monere Series. In honor of how much I have enjoyed her books I want to share them with you.
 THIS IS AN ADULT SERIES AND SHOULD ONLY BE READ BY ADULTS!!  THESE BOOKS CONTAIN VERY EXPLICIT SEXUALL CONTENT!


To learn more about this book and the rest of the series take a look at my reviews. To learn more about Sunny and her other books visit Sunny's website.

NOTICE: If you don't have a blog you can earn extra entries by commenting on any of my post (5 max). This is only for non-bloggers.

Rules:

-You MUST be 18 years of age or older to enter.

-You must be a follower of this blog.

-Open to US residents only.

-Fill out the Google form below and follow all directions.

-Deadline is on February 28, 2010 at 11:59pm CST. (if we get 50 followers or more)

-To view our contest policies click here.

If you have any questions or concerns please fill free to email me.


Sunday, February 14, 2010

The Giant LINGER Giveaway

Linger Cover LargeIn Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other.  Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past . . . and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack.  And Isabelle, who already lost her brother to the wolves . . . and is nonetheless drawn to Cole.

At turns harrowing and euphoric, Linger is a spellbinding love story that explores both sides of love -- the light and the dark, the warm and the cold -- in a way you will never forget.


Comes out in stores everywhere July 20th. Pre-order here.

Enter to win an advanced review copies of LINGER, Sisters Red, The Dead-Tossed Waves, and The Replacement on Maggie's blog.

Gone by Lisa McMann


She knows he will stay with her, despite what she sees in his dreams. He's amazing. And she's a train wreck. Janie sees only one way to give him the life he deserves--she has to disappear. And it's going to kill them both.

Then a stranger enters her life--and everything unravels. The future Janie once faced now has an ominous twist, and her choices are more dire than she'd ever thought possible. She alone must decide between the lesser of two evils. And time is running out... --Lisa McMann.com

I can't believe it's over!! I'm very sad to see this series end : ( Gone left me satisfied but still a bit curious. I still want to know what happens in about ten years from now because that is really what Janie is terrified of, the future. The dream sequences were so awesome and terrifying.. I loved them. Lisa reveals Janie's immediate family tree and explains why her mother is an alcoholic. Janie struggles with this big decision throughout the whole book and it felt so lonely. I found myself desperately wanting her to talk everything out with Cabe. Oh and Cable he is so supportive and tries so hard but still has his own issues to deal with. Like coming to terms with what the future may hold in result to staying with Janie. Over all I loved it and think older teens and adults would love it just as much as I did. I also think this is a series for more mature teens since it contains very mild but none the less suggestive sexual content.

Rating-