Friday, April 30, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 6


Can you please share one memorable moment that has happened to you since becoming an author?

The funniest thing that has ever happened to me since I became an



author happened while I was still living in New York. I lived in


a brownstone with a few units, and as I walked in the front door, I


bumped into my neighbor, who asked me, "Are you _________?" I


felt so flattered that my neighbor had RECOGNIZED me! I was FAMOUS! So


of course I put on my patronizing famous-author face and said, "Why


yes, I am ________!" Thank god I didn't say anything else or offer him


my autograph because my neighbor cheerfully said, "I think I have some


of your mail. Here it is!" Oh dear. I felt so embarrassed to have even


thought otherwise!

Hints: She donated a signed book for the Grand Prize Pack #1.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Thursday, April 29, 2010

What I'm Up To

Hey guys I just want to apologize for neglecting you all for the last two weeks or so. I have been working hard on catching up on my TBR pile while working extra hours at work. I’m also working on 7 reviews (The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, Rules of Attraction, Blood Feud, Deception, Ancient Whispers, and Inside Out), 4 interviews (Alexandra Diaz, Alyxandra Harvey, Pamela Samuels Young, and Marie-Claude Bourque), five ARC Tours (Rules of Attraction, Blood Feud, Deception, Princess of Glass and Ancient Whispers) and many other things. I will be posting all of these thing real soon so keep a look out for them. Also don’t forget to participate every week on the “Guess Who?” post. There are only 5 weeks left for the first Grand Prize drawing and one of the ways you can earn extra entries is by purchasing any book written by any of the participating authors throughout this contest. Just send me a copy of your receipt. Oh and also there is only one more day left to enter into this months Mona Lisa Awakening Giveaway. <--- click here to enter.

"Guess Who?" Week 3, 4 &5 Winners!!

"Guess Who?" Week 3
Jami
you won The Secret Year by Jennifer Hubbard

"Guess Who?" Week 4
Dona
Hearts at Stake or Blood Feud by Alyxandra Harvey

"Guess Who?" Week 5
throughthehaze
One book by Eileen Cook
Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood , What Would Emma Do? or Unpredictable


Congratulations everyone!! You all have 1 entry into Grand Prize Pack #1 that will be held on 6/9/2010.
I have sent everyone and email so please contact me at abookloversreview@gmail.com ASAP.

Monday, April 26, 2010

Buying Time by Pamela Samuels Young

November 1st 2009 by Goldman House Publishing
Paperback, 370 pages
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Waverly Shaw is a down-on-his-luck lawyer who stumbles upon a potentially lucrative business just when he's about to hit rock bottom. In his new line of work as a viatical broker, Waverly comes to the rescue of people in desperate need of cash. There's a catch, however, his clients must be terminally ill and willing to sign over rights to their life insurance policies before they receive a dime. Waverly then finds investors to advance them thousands of dollars—including a hefty broker's fee for himself—in exchange for a significant return on their investment once the clients take their last breath. The stakes get higher when Lawrence Erickson, who's bucking to become the next U.S. Attorney General, hires Waverly to broker the insurance policy of his cancer-stricken wife. But Waverly's clients start dying sooner than they should, and Erickson—who has some skeletons of his own to hide—is unwittingly drawn into a perilous web of greed, blackmail, and murder. With two determined federal prosecutors hot on his trail, Waverly is on the run, and this time he might need some life insurance.---Goodreads

I usually wouldn’t pick up this type of book because I’m a romance junkie and this is labeled as a legal thriller but I was glad I got the email from Pump Up Your Book to review it because I really enjoyed it. This book has a good balance of romance, mystery and suspense throughout the whole book. As the story went on I found myself glues to the book wanting to know what was going to happen next ASAP.



The story is about the U.S Attorney’s investigation into an insurance scam and how the characters are all connected to each other. The cast of characters were well rounded and I could get a good picture in my mind of what kind of people they are. The story starts out with Waverly. He is a recently disbarred lawyer turned insurance broker for a company called Live Now. Angela, is an assistant US Attorney heading up the investigation of Live Now. Cornell is Angela’s overbearing fiancĂ©. Erickson is an attorney in a very prominent law firm who is now in the running to be the next US Attorney General. Claire is Erickson’s wife and she is dying of cancer and is convinced by Erickson to purchase a Live Now policy. Oh, and she also knows Erickson’s big dark secrets and holds the evidence. Becker is Erickson’s right hand man until things start taking a turn for the worst and devastating secrets come to surface about Erickson. Now let’s not forget about Dre. He is Angela’s love interest when things are just not working out between Angela and Cornell. I have to say I was looking forward to reading more about Angle and Dre’s relationship. I hope Pamela write another book with them in it. I wouldn’t hesitate to buy it. This is a great group of characters and I enjoyed getting to know most of them. I loved reading about Angela and Dre and found myself disgusted with Erickson and Cornell.


Over all it was a good book with great suspense and mystery to kept me wanting more. Like I said before this book has really good balance with keeping you in the mix but not too much to confuse you.

Quote:
"It's important to keep your feet on the ground. No matter how good life gets or how screwed up things are, you have to stay anchored. Otherwise, circumstances can beat you down."
Sex-o-meter: There are a couple of steamy scenes but not too detailed.
Drug-o-meter:  There is drug dealings and detailed "How To" make drugs.

I received this book for review from Pamela Samuels Young and Pump Up Your Book.

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Of All the Stupid Things by Alexandra Diaz

Click on picture to purchase now!!
If you purchase this book anytime from now to October you can earn 5 entries to the Grand Prize Packs in the "Guess Who?" contest.
Published December 22nd 2009 by EgmontUSA
Hardcover, 272 pages
Genre- YA fiction
It really was a stupid thing that Brent Staple did – doing it (so the rumour goes) with Chris Sanchez, one of the guy cheerleaders. Who’d have thought that Brent, the school’s hottest jock, could be gay? But the doubt about Brent doesn’t just hurt Tara – it’s the beginning of the end for an inseparable trio of friends. Tara’s training for the marathon, but also running from her father and her fear of ever being abandoned again. Beautiful Whitney Blaire’s got everything and nothing, because her parents have never had time for her. And Pinkie has a compulsive need to mother everyone to make up for the mom she never stops missing. The girls couldn’t be more different, but doesn’t that just prove the strength of their friendship?

Then new-girl Riley arrives in school, wafting her long black hair and a scent of lilacs. Suddenly, Tara starts to feel things she’s never felt before for a girl - and to reassess her feelings about Brent and what he may/may not have done. Is Tara gay – or does she just love Riley? And can the map of her deepest friendships ever be redrawn in a post-Riley world?---Goodreads


There is a couple of things I really liked about this book. Let’s talk about the characters first. We have three very close friends Tara, the main character, Whitney Blaire, and Pinkie. All good characters with very distinct personalities. You have Tara who is determine, ambitious, and independent. Whitney Blaire, who is fashionable, popular, and deep down insecure about herself. And then we have Pinkie. I love Pinkie! She is honest, good, caring, faithful, naive and at time overprotective with her loved ones. The book is written in there three different point of views.


Self discovery is something that is explored throughout this whole book. I hate giving away spoilers but it’s hard to explain this book without giving away some major points. As you can tell from the catch phrase in the front of the book, this story is about “Three friends, One forbidden love affair.” Well as it turns out Tara is the one who ends up finding out that she is attracted to a new girl who has enrolled in school. She has never been attracted to anyone of the same sex before and so she has a hard time excepting the fact that she might be gay or bisexual. Now, I really hate using labels and this book is a great example why. As you read Tara’s POV you get to see her journey as she explores how she feels while coming to terms with the reality that she is in fact a person who can fall in love with the same sex. Let me explain what I mean about labels. Tara finally admits to herself that she is in love with a girl but when she is sitting around a table with other girls who prefer a relationships with the same sex she mentions the fact that she doesn’t feel gay. I think that was an eye opening point in the book because labels are so confining, restrictive and limited. I mean when people hear the word “gay” the first thing that pops into their head is the sexual orientation. But gay or not we all have many different qualities and traits plus, feelings, insecurities, and fallibilities because we are all human.


Well I think I said more then I intended but at least you can see what I got out of this book. There is still many more things going on in the story with Tara’s relationship with her boyfriend and disappearance of her dad. Pinkie’s attractions to a mentor and Whitney Blair’s relationship with her parents and how it is the driving force of her destructive behavior. This is a well rounded story with realistic characters. I recommend this book to older teens and adults who is looking for a story to take them into a fascinating journey through a young woman’s self discovery.
 
Quote:
"I never thought this would happen to me. Riley says she was born gay. But I never liked girls before I met Riley."
Mom reaches over and squeezes my hand. "So maybe you're someone who falls in love with a person, not a gender."
Sex-o-meter: There are some make out and sex scenes. If I had to chose between minimal, moderate, and extreme content I would concider these scenes moderate based on the history of books I have read. 
Drug-o-meter: There is a underage drinking at a party.
Rating-

Friday, April 23, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 5


Can you please share 3 or more things about
yourself that your fans probably don't know?


1) I can't do a cartwheel. It's like physically impossible for me for some reason. This meant I had to give up my dreams of being an Olympic gymnast.
2) When I really start laughing I snort. Not a snort, but a SNORT. It's like a sound wild rabid pigs would make.
3) Once I was spying on a conversation in a coffee shop (as a writer this isn't being nosy- we call it research) and I totally fell out of my chair onto the floor. Plus I spilled my chai latte everywhere. Thus, when trying to hear about how one girl is sleeping with her mom's boyfriend (OMG! Tell me you wouldn't listen in too) always make sure you are firmly in your seat if you want to hear how things turn out.

Hints: She donated a signed book for the Grand Prize Pack #1.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Monday, April 19, 2010

Q&A with Simone Elkeles

Simone Elkeles on the Perfect Chemistry novels.

#1 For those readers who have yet to pick up Perfect Chemistry can you give them an overview of what the book is all about?
Perfect Chemistry is about Alex Fuentes, the boy who was born on the wrong side of the tracks, and Brittany Ellis, the rich popular pom-pom girl. Alex gets paired up With Brittany in chemistry class and can't help but try and rattle her since he thinks she's a bitch. When he makes a bet with his friends that he can get Brittany to sleep with him before Thanksgiving, he has no clue that the time he spends with her will change his view on who Brittany Ellis actually is underneath her fake facade she shows the world. Brittany knows that if she gives in to her desires and dates Alex, her entire life could crumble beneath her feet. It's an edgy, sexy, and sometimes funny young adult read that has gotten fans obsessed with the story - I even get teens (and adults!) who have gotten real tattoos inspired by Perfect Chemistry.

#2 What was your inspiration behind the book?
I love exploring multicultural relationships, especially because I lived with a man from a different country my entire life (Israel). Multicultural relationships fascinate me. I base Perfect Chemistry off of Highland Park High School, where there are two different cultures going to the same high school together. Multicultural differences = explosive romance!

#3 I know it's hard for some authors to pick a favorite character from their own book but if you can who would it be and why?
That is so hard. I guess it would be Alex Fuentes because he's such a good guy stuck in a bad situation. I admire his love of family and the fact that he'd sacrifice himself for the ones he loves - and the girl he loves. (My character Caleb Becker did this in my book Leaving Paradise).

#4 What was the easiest and hardest things to write about in Perfect Chemistry?
The easiest thing to write in Perfect Chemistry was the relationship between Alex and Brittany. They were great characters to write and their relationship came so naturally to me. The hardest thing to write was Alex's bad side - the scene where he collects drug money and the scene where he gets "jumped out" of the gang. I hated doing those things to Alex, but they needed to be done.

#5 What is the most question asked about Perfect Chemistry?
"Can Perfect Chemistry be made into a movie?" and "Where can I get me an Alex Fuentes?"

#6 What is the most challenging aspect of writing Perfect Chemistry?
Doing gang research and writing the Spanish. Because I don't know Spanish, I had to rely on others to help me with it. Looking back, I should have taken Spanish as my foreign language instead of French.

#7 What is the most interesting comment you have received concerning Perfect Chemistry?
It's from a male gang member who said that Perfect Chemistry changed his life and makes him want to be a better person and change his life like Alex did.

#8 On your website and discussion forum you have mentioned that there are going to be two other books in this series, the sequel, Rules Of Attraction, and a third not yet named. Can you tell us about them and maybe give us a little teaser?
If you go to the book trailer I created for Rules of Attraction (it was shot just like a movie trailer, with snippets of scenes acted out) you'll know what Rules of Attraction is about. Alexander F. Rodriguez (the groom from Katy Perry's Hot N Cold music video) plays Alex Fuentes and Giancarlo Vidrio plays Carlos Fuentes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhEx0kaUlrU



I wrote a little blurb about the third Perfect Chemistry book, although it's not written yet:
The third novel in the Perfect Chemistry series will be about Luis Fuentes, the youngest Fuentes brother. He’s such a good guy who doesn’t live with the angst that his big brothers have always lived with. Luis is smart, funny, and has big dreams. When he falls for the wrong girl, Luis enters a dark world he’s never known to try and save her from herself. Just when he thinks he’s got life all figured out, Luis learns some disturbing news about his family that destroys his positive outlook on life. Will that Fuentes bad boy streak come out with a vengeance and lure Luis to live on the edge like his new girlfriend and his own father?

#9 The two main characters, Alex and Brittany, have totally different back grounds and ethnicity. How much research did you do for these two characters?
I didn't have to do research for Brittany, because I understand Brittany's world. I did have to do a lot of research for Alex, because I wanted to showcase a realistic Mexican-American teen in his situation. I interviewed a lot of Latino teens and they really helped shape who Alex is in the book. (For example, I don't know what Alex would be eating for breakfast and I wanted to showcase an authentic Mexican wedding.)

#10 Is there any special news or information you would like to share about this series?
Perfect Chemistry is nominated for the prestigious RITA award - the ultimate award in romance fiction. I'm super excited to be nominated because it has been a dream of mine for over ten years to win that award. Rules of Attraction is in bookstores NOW and my fans love the continuation, so that's awesome news. The third book should be out in early 2011! For those fans who love Perfect Chemistry and Rules of Attraction, they might also like my novel Leaving Paradise - the sequel is coming out in September!

I have to say I'm so excited about the third novel of the PC series and also Return to Paradise the sequel to Leaving Paradise. Yee!! If you haven't read any of Simone's books yet all I have to ask is WHY NOT!! They are super good and you don't want to missing out on such great stories. So hurry and go pick up any copy of her books. I promise you will not regret it.
Here are my reviews on Perfect Chemistry and Leaving Paradise.
Rules of Attraction review coming soon!
You can click on any picture to purchase now!! Buy any of these books now until October and earn 5 entries for each purchase into the Grand Prize Pack #1.
 
 
  

And now I want to send a HUGE thank you to Simone Elkeles for taking the time to answer some of my questions. You totally rock! THANK YOU!

Thursday, April 15, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 4


Can you please share 3 things about
yourself that your fans probably don't know?


1. I can probably recite nearly every word of every episode of "Robin of Sherwood".
2. I used to make my own jewelery and sell it at conventions....which means I can say in all honesty, that a Klingon once growled at me.
3. I worked for the Body Shop one summer in university and I once had to spend the afternoon outside, on one of the busiest streets downtown, in a giant multicoloured parrot costume. The kind where you can still see the person's face. Just saying.

Hints: It's a 2010 debut author and I gave her book a 5 heart rating on my review.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Perfect Chemistry Giveaway Winner!!

This contest was inspired by the release date of
 Rules of Attraction
which was on 4/13/10. This book is now available so don't forget to pick up a copy!
If you purchase any one of these books from now until October you can earn 5entries into the Grand Prize Pack #1.

And now on to the winner of the Perfect Chemistry Giveaway.

Brandi Kosiner
Perfect Chemistry Giveaway
4th drawing held by A Book-Lovers' Review
Completed on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 at 17:45:14 UTC
146 entrants, 1 winner

You will find the full record of this drawing here:
Congratulations!!
I have your address so your prize will be in the mail ASAP. 

The Dead-Tosses Waves by Carrie Ryan

Click on picture to purchase now!!
If you purchase this book anytime from now to October you can earn 5 entries to the Grand Prize Packs in the "Guess Who?" contest.
Published March 9th 2010 by Delacorte Books
Hardcover, 404 pages
Genre:YA/ Dystopian
Gabry lives a quiet life. As safe a life as is possible in a town trapped between a forest and the ocean, in a world teeming with the dead, who constantly hunger for those still living. She’s content on her side of the Barrier, happy to let her friends dream of the Dark City up the coast while she watches from the top of her lighthouse. But there are threats the Barrier cannot hold back. Threats like the secrets Gabry’s mother thought she left behind when she escaped from the Sisterhood and the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Like the cult of religious zealots who worship the dead. Like the stranger from the forest who seems to know Gabry. And suddenly, everything is changing. One reckless moment, and half of Gabry’s generation is dead, the other half imprisoned. Now Gabry only knows one thing: she must face the forest of her mother’s past in order to save herself and the one she loves.--Goodreads
Carrie Ryan is beyond amazing!! I love her books and can't get enough of them. I want to let everyone know that this is not only a “Zombie” book because it is so much more that that. Yes, the presents of the zombies are always there but these books are truly about hope, love, and survival.

Carrie does such a fantastic job with her writing. She really draws you into her world and gets to the root of how life really is. It's all a huge struggle to survive, to over come huge obstacles and to make difficult decisions. I love the way she makes you feel the depths of Gabry’s dreams and desires then throws in a whole lot of twist and turns making her think about what it is she really needs in her life. I can't even begin to tell you the troubles that lie ahead for Gabry but it is a doozy of a ride from beginning to end.

I could not put this book down and scrammed at the end because I didn‘t want it to end. I need to know what happens next ASAP! Be sure to put this series in your TBR pile. You will not regret it!

  Quote:
"How do you handle it?" I ask her. Desperately needing to know, needing my mother's help to ease the pain inside. "What do you do when someone you love or think you might love or could love turns?"

Next Book in the Series:
The Dark and Hollow Places - 2011

Sex-o-meter: some kissing
Drug-o-meter: none
Award:

Rating-

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Huge Contest Alert!!

This is one awesome contest you don't want to miss out on!!

---------->Contest Craze Reference Page<----------
This most but not all the books up for grabs. Head on over to Cindy's blog and take a look at all the things she giving away. Hurry because some giveaways end tonight!

Before I Fall
The Sky Is Everywhere
Wondrous Strange and Naughty List
Before I Fall and
Time You Read This
Prophecy's Of The Sisters
Holly Cupala Prize Pack
Dark Divine
Fire/Shadowed Summer
Hourglass
Far From You
Here Comes Trouble
Fallen
Espressologist
Before I Fall
Shift
The Cougar Club
Something Like Fate
Swoon At Own Risk
Rules Of Attraction
The Crescent
Alls Fair In Love War High School
Glimpse
Restoring Harmony
Heavenly Penitence
InCarceron
My Soul To Keep
Unwritten Rule 
Twenty Boy Summer
Firespell
Stalker Girl
The Mark
The Iron King
Sing Me To Sleep
Taken By Storm
Secret Year 
Something Maybe
Inside Out
Arson
Sweethearts Club
Shade
Still Sucks To Be Me
Star Shack
Jekel Loves Hyde
Forget Her Nots
Getting Revenge On Lauren Wood
Maggie S Prize Pack
Brightly Woven
Voices Of Dragons

In My Mailbox (10)

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly bases. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! Hosted by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.

Bought:
Skinny-dipping by Melissa De La Cruz
The Sight by David Clement-Davies
Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters

Given to me by Yvonne:
Kissed by an Angel - The Power of Love - Soulmates by Elizabeth Chandler

Dark Secrests1
Legacy of Lies - Don't Tell by Elizabeth Chandler

This week's stack is short and sweet. I have much to read and I'm so glad Half Price Books has such a huge selection. I love that store! And Thanks to Yvonne for supporting my book addiction. Nothing makes me happier that recieving books as a gift especially if there is no specific occasion for it.
Till next time...Happy Reading!!


Saturday, April 10, 2010

"Guess Who?" Week 2 Winner!!

We had two correct guesses for last weeks Q&A and I wish I could give you both a copy of The Mark but there are still a ton of books to give away and many more chances to will in the coming weeks. So not to prolong the waiting any long here is last weeks winner.
RANDOM.ORG
"Guess Who?" Week 2

3rd drawing held by A Book-Lovers' Review
Completed on Saturday, 10 April 2010 at 17:51:36 UTC
2 entrants, 1 winner
You will find the full record of this drawing here:
http://www.random.org/draws/details/?draw=1870
 Kristen @ Bookworming in the 21st Century

 
Congratulations!! You have won 1 copy of The Mark and 1 entry into Grand Prize Pack #1 that will be held on 6/9/2010.
Please contact me at abookloversreview@gmail.com
you have 48 hrs to contact me.

Thursday, April 8, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 3


Can you please share 3 or more things about
yourself that your fans probably don't know?


1. I once broke a finger playing volleyball.

2. I have never seen a single episode of American Idol or Lost.

3. I have been to the site in New Mexico where the first nuclear bomb was detonated.

4. I once got sunburned knuckles while kayaking.

5. I have been geocaching and orienteering, but never rappelling.

6. I like spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, and lima beans, but can't stand peas.

Hints: It's a 2010 debut author and I gave her book a 5 heart rating on my review.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

The Line by Teri Hall

Click on the picture to purchase now!
Published March 4th 2010 by Dial
Hardcover, 220 pages
Genre: YA/ Dystopia

An invisible, uncrossable physical barrier encloses the Unified States. The Line is the part of the border that lopped off part of the country, dooming the inhabitants to an unknown fate when the enemy used a banned weapon. It’s said that bizarre creatures and superhumans live on the other side, in Away. Nobody except tough old Ms. Moore would ever live next to the Line.
Nobody but Rachel and her mother, who went to live there after Rachel’s dad died in the last war. It’s a safe, quiet life. Until Rachel finds a mysterious recorded message that can only have come from Away. The voice is asking for help.
Who sent the message? Why is her mother so protective? And to what lengths is Rachel willing to go in order to do what she thinks is right?--Goodreads

This book is too short!! Aaah I want to know so much more. In the beging it was a very calm read. Not boring but just interesting enought to keep you hooked. You get to know Rachel's character and how isolated she is from the rest of society out on The Property. Then the heart of the story starts to unfold as secrets are revealed and friends become foe. The story gets very exciting when time is running out and decisions need to be made within moments. 
I don't like to give spoilers but I do want to give you a little run down on what is going on in this book. Let's start with The Line. The Line is a small section of the National Border Defense System. The US Government secretly activated the invisible border (NBDS) to "so call" protect thier citizens from an attack. The Property is located away from the populace, on several acers and borders right on The Line. This gives Rachel and whoever else lives there a perfect view of Away. Away was once part of the US and is now home to the Others. The Others are the people who are trapped on the other side of The Line who have special talents and gifts as result of the bombing. This is all just a snippet of info on each term. There is so much more details in the book which you don't want to miss out on.
We get just a glance of the Others in this story and they are the ones I'm really looking forward to meeting in the next book. The paranormal fascinates me and I can't wait to see what lies ahead for the rest of the series.

Next Book in the Series:
Away -2011

Quote:
"Oh Rachel." Ms. Moore came to her then and held her. "Don't you see? You can't be brave without being afraid. The brave ones are always afraid. But they do what they must, even so."

Sex-o-meter:
None
Drug-o-meter: None

Rating-

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Egg-O-toons!!

Hello everyone!! A very good friend of mine shared these pictures with me and I couldn't help sharing them with all of you. I love them! They are so cute and VERY creative. I wish I had the talent to do these kinds of things. Well enjoy!!


HAPPY EASTER!!