Friday, May 28, 2010

Forgive My Mess Please!

As you have probably noticed I have a new design for my blog!! What do you think? Well we are not done and by "we" I mean Parajunkee and me. We still have some thinks to fix so please bare with us if you are having a difficult time with any of my links or pages.
Thanks guy and I hope you like my new look!
Oh and don't forget to check out Parajunkee's blog..she's so awesome!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles

Click on picture to purchase now!!
If you purchase this book anytime from now to October you can earn 5 entries to the Grand Prize Packs in the "Guess Who?" contest.

Published April 27th 2010 by Walker & Company
Paperback, 304 pages
Genre: YA fiction
When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for a year, he doesn’t want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him at a high school in Colorado . Carlos likes living his life on the edge and wants to carve his own path—just like Alex did. Then he meets Kiara Westford. She doesn’t talk much and is completely intimidated by Carlos’ wild ways. As they get to know one another, Carlos assumes Kiara thinks she’s too good for him, and refuses to admit that she might be getting to him. But he soon realizes that being himself is exactly what Kiara needs right now.---Goodreads

Ok.. Where to begin? Well first off if you have read any of my reviews on Simone’s books you will know that I’m a HUGE fan. I absolutely love her books and can’t get enough of them.
Now on to Rules of Attraction. As a second book of a trilogy I felt completely satisfied with the ending of this book. The whole story was very well written and the characters were all well rounded and easy to relate to. Now I know for some people that will be a challenge to agree with because of Carlos’s way of thinking. But I feel Simone has done an incredible job with the Fuentes’s boys mind set. You may not agree on how they think but it’s true to life when it comes to gang members. Kirara is the female heroine in this book. She is independent, smart, loving, caring and not at all worried about fitting in with the “IN” crowd at school. She is extremely close to her family and loves them very much. I for one admire that completely.
I love Simone’s humor in this story. She has perfect timing and just the right edge to her comedy. This story is ,at times, hilarious but also very emotional. Along with her humor you also get to experience the characters insecurities, heartbreaks, hopes, and desires. It’s a wonderful rollercoaster of emotions that will leave you heart bursting with happiness and begging for more.
As I said before this is the second book of a trilogy and Simone wrote in the main characters (Alex and Brittany) from the first book (Perfect Chemistry) into this book so that we have a small glimpse into their relationship as they are now attending college and have grown up some. I was very happy to see them as much as I did in this book.
I do want to mention how much I adore Tucker. He is Kiara’s gay best friend and will make you laugh your head off. But not only will he make you laugh he will also make you wish you had as true a friend and confidant as he is to Kiara. He is a goodhearted and honest person who is always looking out for her.
This book is fantastic for young adult and adult readers who are looking for a romance novel with just the right amount of humor and edginess. You will not want to put this book down once you start!


Quote: Carlos- "I'm in deep shit, Alex, 'cause I think I'd like nothing better than to wake up with her every mornin'."
"You're right, Carlos. You are in deep shit."
---------------------------------------
"Let's just say you've grown on me," Tucker admits, then brushes his long hair out of his face. "Besides, if I didn't have you to annoy, my life wouldn't be the same. Face it, amigo...you complete me."
"You're loco."
Next Book in the Series: TBA book #3 (Luis Fuente's story)
Sex-o-meter: There are a couple of make out scenes and one unexpliced sex scene. Pretty steamy but not expliced. 
Drug-o-meter: There is drugs and underage drinking in this book.
Rating-
Simone's Website
Perfect Chimestry Website

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 10


Can you please share 3 things about yourself that your fans probably don’t know?

1. I didn't go anywhere outside my home state until I was a senior in HS, when a bunch of us went to Washington DC for a school trip.
2. I went to horse camp when I was 12, and my horse got spooked and took off, away from the main trail. I fell off and landed in a wasp's nest, and was literally stung all over. That was only one of a number of things that happened to me that week. They gave me the Most Injuries award at the end of the week.
3. One time I went water skiing with a friend, her cute older brother, and his REALLY cute friend. We skiied all day and had the best day ever, except our lips felt so chapped, so we kept putting Blistex on them, because that's all we had. The next day, we woke up with cold sores all over our lips and they were swollen like double their size because, you know, Blistex is oily and it helped to basically fry our lips in the sun. Her brother and his friend laughed and laughed at us!

Hints: She has written three verse novels & I gave one a 5 heart rating.
List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Q&A with Alexandra Diaz



Click on the picture to purchase now!!
If you purchase this book anytime from now to October you can earn 5 entries to the Grand Prize Packs in the "Guess Who?" contest.
Published December 22nd 2009 by EgmontUSA
Hardcover, 272 pages
Genre- YA fiction
It really was a stupid thing that Brent Staple did – doing it (so the rumour goes) with Chris Sanchez, one of the guy cheerleaders. Who’d have thought that Brent, the school’s hottest jock, could be gay? But the doubt about Brent doesn’t just hurt Tara – it’s the beginning of the end for an inseparable trio of friends. Tara’s training for the marathon, but also running from her father and her fear of ever being abandoned again. Beautiful Whitney Blaire’s got everything and nothing, because her parents have never had time for her. And Pinkie has a compulsive need to mother everyone to make up for the mom she never stops missing. The girls couldn’t be more different, but doesn’t that just prove the strength of their friendship?

Then new-girl Riley arrives in school, wafting her long black hair and a scent of lilacs. Suddenly, Tara starts to feel things she’s never felt before for a girl - and to reassess her feelings about Brent and what he may/may not have done. Is Tara gay – or does she just love Riley? And can the map of her deepest friendships ever be redrawn in a post-Riley world?---Goodreads

Interview
In your own words can you please describe what your book is about?

Of All the Stupid Things is about three friends and what happens to their friendship when a new girl enters the picture.

What would you say is the message in this book?

Follow your heart and your instincts despite what others are telling you you should do.

What was your inspiration behind Of All The Stupid Things?

The initial idea came with the line, “Brent Staple is such a jerk”. From there I had to figure out what Brent had done to be such a jerk and what were the consequences of that event. During the course of one evening, I had the basic premise for what I wanted the novel to be about.

How did you come up with the characters in this book?

From the start I knew I wanted to have three protagonists with different journeys that intertwine. They had to be different, but each needing something from the other. Each girl had to have a love interest and a family dynamic that made her the way she was.

Were there any deleted scenes that didn’t make the final draft and can you please share them with us?

I had a couple scenes from David's POV, one about a sexual fantasy with Whitney Blaire and one where he's wondering what he did wrong. I had great fun writing them, but it didn't work with the rest of the book to keep him as an occasional narrator.

What would you say is the main reason you write books?

I write to experience life in someone else shoes. There are so many things I will never get to do, it's fun having my characters do them for me!

Did you have a specific audience in mind when writing this book?

I wanted it to be a book all teens would enjoy and make them think, “Hey, I know people just like this”. Even though it is technically a “girl” book, it's not “girly” and I think guys would enjoy it if they give it a chance. Grown men have.

Do you have any new projects in the works right now?

I always have something on the go. Writing is what I want to do with my life. I have two YA novels I'm actively working on and a few other books/ideas in the way back burner.

Is there anything you would like to say to those readers who shy away from your book because they consider this book controversial?

You don't have to agree with everything a book says just to enjoy it, just like you can have friends with different view points on religion, politics, or anything in life. Go into it open minded and you might be surprised that it's not as controversial as you may think.

Alexandra's Website

I would like to thank Alexandra Diaz for taking the time to do this interview and for participating in the "Guess Who?" YA Author Challenge. You're amazing! Thank you so much!

Monday, May 24, 2010

For Keeps by Natasha Friend

April 6th 2010 by Penguin Group USA
Hardcover, 267 pages

For sixteen years, Josie Gardner and her mom, Kate, have been a team. It’s been the Gardner Girls against the world, and that’s how Josie likes it. Until one day, in the pet food aisle of Shop-Co, they run into the parents of Paul Tucci, Kate’s high school boyfriend—the father Josie has never met. If Mr. and Mrs. Tucci are back in town, it’s only a matter of time until Paul shows up. Suddenly Josie’s mature, capable mother regresses to the heartbroken teenager she was when Paul moved away. Meanwhile, Josie’s on the verge of having her first real boyfriend, while her free-loving best friend, Liv, begins yet another no-strings-attached fling. When Josie learns some surprising truths about Paul Tucci, she finds herself questioning what she’s always believed about her parents—and about herself. In FOR KEEPS, Natasha Friend tells a fresh, funny, smart story about what happens when a girl gets the guy she always wanted and the dad she never knew she needed.--Goodreads

I really enjoyed Natasha’s style of writing. It was easy to follow which always makes for a fun read. It was funny, suspenseful, and emotional. What I look forward to reading in any book is how the characters connect in their relationships and I loved the mother /daughter relationship in this book. It was heartfelt, open, and genuine. It felt believable and true to life which makes the story all the more intriguing because I know it is possible that this kind of relationship can actually exists. At times the relationship was strained but non the least you always felt how much they loved and depended on each other.
I feel like Jose is an inspirational character and it was a pleasure seeing the story through her POV. She is very independent, headstrong, and realistic. I think she did very well in dealing with all the changes and surprises that came along in such a short amount of time. Liv, Josie’s best friend was a total riot and was not afraid to voice her opinion about anything but she was a very good and loyal friend to Josie throughout the book. She was probably my favorite character in the book.
I was a little disappointed at the end of the book only because I wanted it to end differently but I truly had a great time reading it. I wish Natasha would write another book telling us where the story would go but I don’t think that would happen.
I would say this book is a wonderful read for adults and young teens of single parent household or anyone who wants to read a great story about dealing with big changes in your life while staying focused on the big picture.

Quote:
" When you can see your whole life strechted out ahead of you and then one morning you wake up and you think you're pregnant and you can't see that life anymore, it's...I can't explain the feeling....But kate had to face theat, Josie--really face it, not just hypothetically. And she had to face it without a crystal ball telling her what would happen if she made one choice over the other. And maybe it made everthing worse."
Sex-o-meter: Kissing
Drug-o-meter: None

Rating-

(W)-Natasha's Website
I received this book for review via Dark Faerie Tales ARC Tours.

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 9


Can you please share one memorable moment that has happened to you since becoming an author?

Two of my former students showed up at a bookstore reading I was doing. I was so thrilled and stunned I had to stop in mid sentence. I felt so-ooo old when these two children (in my memory) suddenly appeared as gorgeous young women. Awesome!

Hints: She is a Class of 2k10 Author. Take a look and see if you can spot her name and book title.


List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Signing, Signing and more Signings!

James Dashner


I met The Dashner Dude on Monday May 10th at Blue Willow Bookshop in Houston Texas. I went to this event solo and did not have a camera on me so I didn't take any pictures with him. Which I totally regret but hopefully I will see him again soon. This event was tons of fun especially when Jame and Brandon Mull (the other author at the signing) had everyone laughing hard when they both share their most embarrassing moments. All I'm going to say is make sure when James is around that the door to your restroom is securely locked! He also share a little about the next book in the series,The Scorch Trial, and the new creatures that are going to be in it. If you have a thing for the Dystopian genre and haven't picked up this book I recommend you do so ASAP. I can't wait to see what challenges lie a head for Thomas and Teresa in the next two books. You can check out My Review <--here. Oh and yes you are not seeing double I got one book for me and one book for a giveaway so keep a look out for that.



Holly Black and Sarah Rees Brennan
I have never had this much fun on a book signing. Holly and Sarah are hilarious. They were very nice and extremely entertaining. I'm so glad I will see them again in Sept. in the Smart Chick Tour Melissa Marr is organizing.
Where to start..well lets start with research. My face still hurts from all the laughter and the ear to ear grin that was plastered on my face as Sarah's shared all her funny research adventures. This is what had me cracking up at the signing. Sarah caught her house on fire, was pulled off a bridge in which she was suspected of trying to commit suicide, committing a B&E, and calling either the chamber of commerce or the police department in London to ask where she could buy crack...LOL. You don't want to know. Holly on the other had thought out her research a little more and asked a friend to lock her in the trunk of a car. Ok..not so much more thought out but hilarious non the less. She highly recommends if you ever get kidnapped to please don't forget to take your neck support.
Then came the questions from their minions. That would be us, there followers, in the audience except for this one man who asked if either of them had ever suffered trauma to the head or had been diagnosed with some kind of mental disease. Needles to say it was a very awkward moment and the mans humor was not appreciated. So just FYI if the question you want to ask starts out as "I don't want to seem rude but..." It's a bad question so keep it to yourself. Other than that there were many good question and comment and one fan even wore cat ears to the signing in show of support for Holly's White Cat novel. Which made me question "What exactly was going through her head when she looked in the mirror." I give her kudos because I'm not that brave.
On to the signing. There were quit a few of us but Sarah and Holly gave each of us their unhurried, undivided attention as they signed our books. It was refreshing not to be rushed off and we actually got to talk with them a little. I got an extra gift from Holly for being a follower/friend on her LJ. I got CurseWorkers.com gloves. They are now put up with the rest of my book memorabilia. I love them! Thank you Holly!! She also drew in my books. She is so awesome and creative. I also got lots of swag from Sarah. I got a poster, bookmarks and  a little booklet with an alternative first chapter from The Demon's Lexicon.
Well this was one of the best event I have been to so far and can't wait to meet them again. I have not read White Cat, The Poison Eater, or The Demon's Covenant but I will get right on them and dish out the reviews ASAP. As you probably saw I didn't get any extra books to give away but I will get some in September when I meet them again. Sorry. 

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Q&A with Marie-Claude Bourque & Giveaway

Exclusive never seen before deleted scene below!
WARNING!! This book contains explicit sexual content and should be read by adults only!
Click on the picture below to pre-order. Release date is May 25th.
May 25th 2010 by Love Spell (first published 2010)
Mass Market Paperback, 320 pages

Interview
In your own words, what it The Priory of Callan series all about?

The Priory of Callan is a brotherhood of immortal sorcerers and alchemists who are said to be reborn souls from an ancient Celtic tribe. Their soulmates were lost to them through tragedies (most inspired by known songs, poems and legends) and they are now looking for them reincarnated in modern time.

Why did you pick witchcraft as your subject for this series?

I actually picked magic as the subject because I am a big fantasy geek. There are two kinds of magic in the ANCIENT series. One is wizardry, a sort of Harry Potter magic without wands, or like the wizards of Dungeons and Dragons. This is the magic the male heroes practice. Then there is the witchcraft, which is what the heroines and their High Priestess Morag practice, although I wrote a teenage male witch as a secondary character in the second book. I have been studying modern witchcraft for about 8 years now so it came up naturally to me in the book. This sort of magic is “prayer to a deity” based and can also be compared to D&D clerics or the magic practiced by the priestesses of Avalon in Marion Zimmer Bradley’s novels.

For those readers who think of witchcraft as being only dark and evil can you explain what witchcraft means to you?

For modern witches and myself, witchcraft is just like a prayer. It is a way to focus energy and intention in order to make things happen for the good of all. There are many ways to do this: either with very complicated rituals with tools or just simple meditation and clearing of the mind. Wishing upon a star can be thought of as doing magic. Witches usually use various deities to help in their focus, sometimes as an outside manifestation and sometimes just as an archetype to represent what the spell is about. And for many, it is a spiritual journey to better ground us with the world around us and within ourselves.

How much research did you do for your books?

I did recheck my magical rituals to make sure they were as close to reality as I could, but the research I did most was with Acadian history. I knew some, because my ancestors were Acadians and were deported just like Evangeline and Gabriel were but I wanted to make sure that what I wrote made sense and was as true to history as I could make it.

What was your inspiration behind your characters?

My heroes are all inspired straight from old poems, songs and legends. Gabriel and Lily (and Evangeline) are inspired from Longfellow’s poem Evangeline. Phoebus and his soulmate are inspired from a real life medieval French knight called Gaston Phoebus, who is legendary in French culture. Loic’s story comes from the ancient poem Abelard and Eloise. Roan is inspired by Tennyson’s poem Highwayman and Keira is from an old French song called King Renaud, which I learned from my father and which has also perhaps Welsh roots. I’m making sure all my characters have or could have Celtic roots: French, Welch, Scottish, Irish.

I see you have book #2 Ancient Secrets (Phoebus’ story) and book #3 Ancient Shadows (Loic’s story) in the works. When can we expect those in the bookstores?

I finished the first draft of book #2 and I am about to tackle book #3. I am waiting to hear from my editor to know what we will do with those, so I can’t tell you anything right now!

While reading Ancient Whispers I noticed there is a soul-mated couple (Renaud, who is one of The Priory of Callan sorcerers and Keira, who is, as of now, lost to the evil Theuron) that do not get to reunite in this book. Please tell me there will be a book about them soon. If so when can we expect that one?

Yes, there is a book for Keira. I couldn’t let her be lost forever to Theuron. That would be too cruel. I have her planned for book 5. I want to tell Phoebus, Loic and Roan’s story first. Keira is planned to appear as a secondary character in the next books after WHISPERS though, before she gets her own happy ending. She is sort of both good and lost to darkness at the same time.

How long do you plan on this series being?

The coven Morag leads has thirteen priestesses, so I have planned 13 stories. I am hoping one or two will be told in novellas but I am not sure yet. At the moment I have solid premises for a total of 7 stories and I have a total of 10 couples from old legends picked already. I am still open to suggestions for the last three!

Is there any deleted scenes you can share with us?

This is a scene that my editor loved but that we just could fit anywhere. Gabriel is with Morag in her library and he remembers what it was like to meet the brotherhood of sorcerers for the first time. He had run away from them as soon as they made him immortal and they had come back for him a century later. (I haven’t posted this anywhere yet. So you are the first to read it!)

----------------------------------------------

He examined Morag, now an old gray-haired lady, her light tartan around her shoulders.

How different she’d looked that day when the Priory had come to claim him back, years after Evangéline’s death. That faithful day sometime in the mid-nineteen century. They had come for him, in the harsh icy land of Labrador.

Morag had been imposing, oblivious to the cold in a sweeping long black velvet dress, her fiery hair down her back. She’d mounted a huge ebony horse and had lain apart from the Priory Sorcerers.

And the sorcerers. Gabriel shook his head.

They’d all come for him. All thirteen of them, twelve men, and one woman. The men tall and broad, most wearing their long black oilcloth coat, their faces hidden under large black hats. Tara had been superb in her knee-high boots, a thick braid sweeping down to her backside. They hadn’t seemed real as they’d held him under their deadly stares, a broad air of danger about them.

One had finally dismounted, Iain. And he’d walked straight to Gabriel. “It’s time,” he’d said.

Gabriel had barely recognized him. No longer in Acadian garbs, Iain had worn his battered brown-leather armor, daggers tied across his chest, their hilts carved in evil-looking designs.

Ian’s silver hair had been loose, partly contained in many small braids brushing his shoulders. Steel crowned his head, a thick band embossed with strange symbols. A rich fur coat had covered him down to his boots. Red Fox, Gabriel had noticed.

How awed he’d been of them all. How much he’d wanted the power they’d represented. He’d had nothing to live for. He couldn’t persist in trying to escape them anymore. And he’d seen that accepting their brotherhood would be his only chance to find Evangéline again.

Now filled with angst, Gabriel returned his gaze to Morag. He couldn’t be fooled, though. She was anything but fragile. All her Priory stood for was control and selfishness.

--------------------------------------------

Do you have any other books or series in the works?

I do have the first book of another series all written up. I sold ANCIENT WHISPERS, which is my first manuscript so quickly that I never had a chance to submit this second one anywhere. It’s a paranormal romance about immortal medieval knights fighting demons in the Paris catacombs in modern time. The knights are hot and the demons are “Dante-type” bad. This one too has gothic undertones to it. I am not sure what to do with this series at this point. I want to focus on writing the ANCIENT series before getting into something else. But for fun in my spare time, I am also writing a steampunk urban fantasy series. I am really into everything steampunk right now, so I’m letting it all on the page to see where it leads!

Thank you so much for having me I am so glad you enjoyed reading the book!

Giveaway
Marie-Claude Bourque was generous enough to give away a signed copy of Ancient Whispers to one lucky commenter. To enter all you have to do is leave a comment below. Marie will be stopping by to reply to comments. Last day to enter will be next Saturday 5/29/10 11:59pmCST

I want to send a HUGE THANK YOU to Marie-Claude for sending me her book to review and agreeing to do this interview and giveaway. 


You can find my review of Ancient Whispers here and if you have a blog you can join the ARC Tour here.

Monday, May 17, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 8


Can you please share one memorable moment that has happened to you since becoming an author?

 Doing a signing with Cassandra Clare and Lisa McMann--it was like being with two rock stars! It was a mind-blowing experience, seeing how many fans they both have, and I'm still amazed I got to be part of it.

Hints: Her lastest book was released by Simon Pulse in March 2010. She's donating a signed book the the grand prize pack #1.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 1st prize pack will contain

-$50 gift card for B&N
-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn
-Fandango gift card
-Signed bookmarks by Lisa Schroeder
-Signed bookmarks by Jen Nadol
-Forget-Her-Nots swag by Amy Brecount White
-Bookmark and key charm by Bonnie Doerr
-Signed copy of Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook
-One signed book by Melissa DeLaCruz
-One signed book by Elizabeth Scott

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Saturday, May 15, 2010

PCR: Online Radio Book Club

Hey guys! Just wanted to let you all know about an exciting event happening today at Pajama Chat Readers.
Today's chat will be about Hearts At Stake by Alyxandra Harvey.
I love this books!! If you want to get more info on this book and maybe some info about the rest of the series head on over @ 1pm EST.
Oh and if you attend you can enter to win a copy of Hearts at Stake and book 2 in the Drake Chronicles - Blood Feud .
Don't miss out!
---------->Pajama Chat Readers<---------

Thursday, May 13, 2010

The Booty: Sunny's Monthly Giveaway!! (May)

This is what's up for grabs this month.
 A signed copies of Mona Lisa Awakening.
 I will be giving one of these book away each month until supplies last. If I acquire more of Sunny's books throughout the year I will add them to the giveaway. I love her books and absolutely love The Monere Series. In honor of how much I have enjoyed her books I want to share them with you.

 THIS IS AN ADULT SERIES AND SHOULD ONLY BE READ BY ADULTS!!  THESE BOOKS CONTAIN VERY EXPLICIT SEXUALL CONTENT!


To learn more about this book and the rest of the series take a look at my reviews and to learn more about Sunny and her other books visit Sunny's website.

NOTICE: If you don't have a blog you can earn extra entries by commenting on any of my post (5 max). This is only for non-bloggers.

Rules:

-You MUST be 18 years of age or older to enter.

-You must be a follower of this blog.

-Open to US /Canada residents only.

-Fill out the Google form below and follow all directions.

-Deadline is on May 31, 2010 at 11:59pm CST.

-You may only enter ONCE.

-To view our contest policies click here.

If you have any questions or concerns please fill free to email me.

NOTICE: All personal information you provide is NOT sold, traded or shared in any way and is erased immediatly after each drawing. The book is mailed to the address provided without any email response from the winner so please make sure it is correct. Email response is not required but appreciated. I love follower comments and feed back.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

ARC Tour: Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George

May 25th 2010 by Bloomsbury USA Children's Books
Hardcover, 288 pages

The engrossing companion novel to Princess of the Midnight Ball, with a wicked twist on Cinderella.


Hoping to escape the troubles in her kingdom, Princess Poppy reluctantly agrees to take part in a royal exchange program, whereby young princes and princesses travel to each other’s countries in the name of better political alliances—and potential marriages. It’s got the makings of a fairy tale—until a hapless servant named Eleanor is tricked by a vengeful fairy godmother into competing with Poppy for the eligible prince. Ballgowns, cinders, and enchanted glass slippers fly in this romantic and action-packed happily-ever-after quest from an author with a flair for embroidering tales in her own delightful way.--Goodreads

Leave comment if you would like to review this book. Please note your blog must be appoved to participate. You can find rules and sign up doc HERE

Participating Blogs

Link Reviews Below

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Q & A with Pamela Samuels Young



November 1st 2009 by Goldman House Publishing
Paperback, 370 pages
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Waverly Shaw is a down-on-his-luck lawyer who stumbles upon a potentially lucrative business just when he's about to hit rock bottom. In his new line of work as a viatical broker, Waverly comes to the rescue of people in desperate need of cash. There's a catch, however, his clients must be terminally ill and willing to sign over rights to their life insurance policies before they receive a dime. Waverly then finds investors to advance them thousands of dollars—including a hefty broker's fee for himself—in exchange for a significant return on their investment once the clients take their last breath. The stakes get higher when Lawrence Erickson, who's bucking to become the next U.S. Attorney General, hires Waverly to broker the insurance policy of his cancer-stricken wife. But Waverly's clients start dying sooner than they should, and Erickson—who has some skeletons of his own to hide—is unwittingly drawn into a perilous web of greed, blackmail, and murder. With two determined federal prosecutors hot on his trail, Waverly is on the run, and this time he might need some life insurance.---Goodreads


Q-Please describe Buying Time in your own words.
Waverly Sloan is a down-on-his-luck attorney who provides quick cash to terminally ill patients. His clients, however, must agree to sign over rights to their life insurance policies before they can collect a dime. When Waverly's clients start dying sooner than they should, he’s the number one suspect. Unwittingly drawn into a perilous web of greed, blackmail and murder, Waverly goes on the run—with a determined female prosecutor hot on his trail.

Q-What was the easiest and hardest things to write about in Buying Time?
The easiest character to write was Dre. I wanted to make him a good guy despite the bad thing he does for a living. I loved the challenge of doing that and I think I accomplished my goal. The hardest part was the plotting. I had to link the three stories (Waverly’s troubles, Erickson’s search for power, and Angela’s relationship issues) in a believable way. It took lots and lots and lots of rewriting. But here as well, I think I pulled it off.

Q-How much research did you have to do for this book?
I quiet a bit of research on the viatical industry, which included interviewing a viatical broker, reading books and articles about the industry and reading legal decisions handed down in lawsuits involving viatical scams. The most interesting research, however, was for the character Dre, who is a drug dealer. I wanted to create an authentic back story for him, so I found a drug dealer who was willing to talk to me about his business. I actually went to his home and interviewed him. I have to admit that I was quite nervous since I assumed he had drugs in his place. I kept thinking, “If the police happen to conduct a drug raid right this minute, will they really buy my story about being a writer doing research?”

Q-Are any of the characters in this book inspired by real people?
The experiences of Waverly Sloan and Angela Evans, the two main characters in Buying Time, are total figments of my imagination. As noted above, the back story for Dre, who doesn’t fit the mold of your typical drug dealer, is actually based on a real-life person.

Q-What inspired this book?
The idea for Buying Time came to me while chatting with a friend at a party. I knew he was in the insurance business, but when he explained that he was a viatical broker, I started asking lots of questions because I’d never heard of the industry. He explained that a viatical broker helps dying people sell their insurance policies in exchange for cash. Instead of the insurance proceeds going to the deceased’s family after death, they go to the investor who advanced the insured money at a time when they needed it most. By the time he finished explaining how viatical settlements worked, I knew the industry would be a great setting for a legal thriller.

Q-What is your writing process like?
I will spend anywhere from a few weeks to as long as three months outlining a book before I sit down to write. I also mull over my story quite a bit. I'm thinking about it in the shower, while I'm standing in line at the grocery store, and during my 45-minute commute to work. Even during the outlining stage, I can almost see each chapter as if it were a scene in a movie. Only after I have a completed outline do I start writing. And when I write, I go from page one to the last page without doing much editing along the way. For me, it's psychologically motivating to complete that first draft, even if it's so bad I'd never dare show it to anyone. Once I have a first draft, then the real writing starts. I revise, and revise and revise some more. That process can last six months or more.

Q-Were there any scenes that you really liked that didn’t make it in the final copy?
Not a one. In my other books, there was always a chapter or two that didn’t make the cut. But I don’t remember deleting any chapters or scenes in Buying Time.

Q-Have you thought about writing a book in another genre?
Not at all. I really love legal thrillers. I have way more story ideas than I have time to write.

Q-Are you working on anything right now?
The book I’m currently writing is called Attorney-Client Privilege. It’s another Vernetta Henderson mystery and will be the fourth book in the series. (Buying Time is my first stand-alone novel.) In Attorney-Client Privilege, a suspicious death, a missing file and an opposing counsel who'll do anything to win, lead Vernetta on a search for justice—as well as revenge. Assuming I can continue to keep all my balls in the air, Attorney-Client Privilege will be released in Summer 2011.

Q-Is there something about yourself that most people would be surprised to know?
Yes, I like going to bed early! If I could hit the sack every night at eight, I would. But I love getting up early to write. The house is so still and quiet at four in the morning. That’s my favorite time to write.

Q-How long does it take you to write a book?
These days, it takes me about a year to complete a book. It took me three years to complete my first novel, so I’m definitely a lot faster. And I’m still practicing law, mind you. I don’t write every day or even every week. When I can, I’ll take a three-day weekend or a week off and just write for 8-10 hours a day. Somehow, it gets done!

I received this book for review from Pamela Samuels Young and Pump Up Your Book.
Thank you!

Monday, May 10, 2010

ARC Tour: Ancient Whispers by Marie-Claude Bourque

WARNING!! This book contains explicit sexual content and should be read by adults only!
May 25th 2010 by Love Spell (first published 2010)
Mass Market Paperback, 320 pages
Genre: Erotica, Paranormal Romance

“Make love to me, sorcerer. Show me your powers.”

Gabriel is the youngest member of the Priory of Callan—an ancient Celtic brotherhood of cursed sorcerers and alchemists, each with deadly abilities and each haunted by a tragic past. Tortured by the devastating loss of his fiancée in 1755, Gabriel wants nothing more than to reunite with his soul mate.

Two and a half centuries later, Gabriel is still searching for his love. And then he finds Lily Bellefontaine. Cool-headed and practical, she has no memory of Gabriel. But she also can’t deny the pull of attraction drawing her under his seductive spell, urging her to give in to the…

ANCIENT WHISPERS ---Goodreads



Leave comment if you would like to review this book. Please note your blog must be approved to participate. You can find rules and sign up doc HERE

Participating Blogs
1.Pat @ PeaceLove&Pat - 1Z4E897E0357225094
2. Jamie @ Book Junkie's Bookshelf - 03100480000246120353
3. Nickee @ Fiendishly Bookish - 0309 3220 0001 5106 5027
4. Demon Lovers @ Demon Lover's Review
5. Stephanie @ Paper Cut Reviews
6. Heather @ Darkly Reading
7. Froggarita @

ARC Tour: Deception by Lee Nichols

I received this book from the Book Bloggers and Publishers Conference hosted by Terry Kate (Romance in the Backseat) and Bloomsbury.
May 25th 2010 by Bloomsbury US
Hardcover, 336 pages
Genre: YA, Paranormal
When Emma Vaile’s parents go missing while away on a mysterious business trip, she’s left all alone in her creepy old house. But her brother’s very cute best friend, Bennett Stern—Emma’s knight in J. Crew armor—arrives unexpectedly to whisk her away to New England. There, Emma settles into his family’s museum-like mansion and enrolls at an old-fashioned private school. She quickly finds friends in the popular legacy crowd at Thatcher and spends her free time crushing on Bennett. But the eerie visions she’s been hiding from everyone have gotten worse. Emma has memories of Thatcher that she can’t explain—it’s as if she’s returning home to a place she’s never been. Finally, Emma confides in Bennett and learns she is a ghostkeeper, a person who can communicate with ghosts. Bennett brought Emma to Thatcher to protect her, but now he needs her help tracking an other-worldly murderer. --Goodreads

Leave comment if you would like to review this book. Please note your blog must be appoved to participate. You can find rules and sign up doc HERE

Participating Blogs
1. Jami @ YA Addict -DC# 0309 3220 0001 3647 5407
2. Mama Bookworm @ The Fiction Enthusiast
3. Kelly @ Midnight Glance


Link Your Reviews Below

Official ARC Tour Page

This is the official ARC Tour page.


What is an ARC?
A printed and bound version of a manuscript which is not yet fully edited, and intended for book reviewers and store managers. These editions are typically sent out three to six months prior to publishing. The Advance Review Copy is frequently abbreviated as ARC.--Fiction Matters.com

What is an ARC Tour?
The purpose of ARC Tours is to spread the word about a new book coming out soon. These tours helps publishers and author promote their books through Book Bloggers week or months in advance. The ARC will be passed from blogger to blogger to review.

How to participate and ARC Tour Rules:

- You must fill out ARC Tour Sign Up Doc below to get your blog approved.
- Your blog must be updated regularly (at least every couple of days).
- You will have one week to read the ARC. Sorry no extensions since these are time sensitive materials. We want to get as many early reviews as possible.
- Leave a comment the day you receive the ARC in the mail.
- You must post a review of the ARC ASAP. Please no later than 10 days of finishing the book. Each ARC page will have Mr. Linky widget so you can link you review.
- When you are done reading the ARC let me know and I will send you the address for the next participant.
- You must pay for shipping the book off to the next participant and purchase the Delivery Confirmation service so that the packages can be tracked. This only cost a couple of cents extra.
- Please, Please do not destroy the ARC’s. Remember the book has to travel through many book lovers so be as gentle as possible.
- Never, Never send or lend the ARC to someone who is not listed on the tour list.
- Leave a comment on which ARC Tour you would like to be on, on the ARC Tour‘s page. Ten bloggers max on each tour.
- If you have any questions or find there is a problem please let me know ASAP @ abookloversreview@gmail.com.

You will be disqualified from participating in any future ARC Tours if:
- You keep any ARC. The whole purpose of these tours is to share an ARC so we can get many reviews as possible to help spread the word. If you really like the book buy the fully edited and complete version when it comes out.
- Mailing off the ARC’s late. Please send the book out on time at the end of your week. No exceptions.
- You send ARC to someone not on the tour list.

Publishers and Authors:
You may contact me at abookloversreview@gmail.com if you would like to have A Book-Lovers’ Review host a tour for you.
These are the genres I support on my blog and would accept into the ARC Tour catalog:
Any YA: Fiction, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction, Romantic Suspense, Steampunk and Dystopian.
Any Adult: Fiction, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction, Romantic Suspense, Steampunk and Dystopian.


Please no PDF format at this time.

List of ARC Tours
YA Fiction ARC's
Deception by Lee Nichols
Blood Feud by Alyxandra Harvey (link to page coming soon)
Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George
Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles
Adult Fiction ARC's
Ancient Whispers by Marie-Claude Bourque