Friday, July 30, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 19

Can you please share 3 things (weird, funny or embarrassing) about yourself that your fans probably don’t know?

Weird--I made up the spelling of my first name (I know this is a pretty big hint in itself, but it can't be helped.) Having made it up, I was fairly confident that no one else would have my exact same name. But once at a science fiction convention I got a message from someone which read: I don't know if you're the person I met at Some-other-con last year, but you must be, because no one else spells XXX like that. Would you meet me at the SFWA booth? I'll be there…

I knew it wasn't me, because I'd never gone to that convention. But at that point I was really curious so I went to find note writer. Turns out there's not only another person who spells her name like I do, but this other person also has my life! She writes books in the same genre I do, for the same ages, and she's also a librarian! The only difference between us that was that I live in Colorado and she lives (or lived) in Michigan. It really felt weird.

Funny--well, maybe it wasn't ha ha funny--unless you were watching me, in which case some of these things probably looked hysterical. I recently drove from Utah to Alaska to research a couple of books--the first of them will be coming out this year. And by way of research, I had to do, or try to do, a lot of what my heroine does. This entailed hiking into the lava tunnels at Craters of the Moon with a completely inadquate flashlight over slippery ice. Wading into an ice cold lake in the early morning hours. (My traveling companion was certainly laughing here.) And in Glacier, sneaking out of the sight of the ranger on guard to scramble under the Don't-Cross-This-Line tape in order to actually touch the glacier. (I didn't try to climb up on it, but I had to touch it. When it comes to my novels, I get lawless!) In Alaska, where the second book takes place, I became totally obsessed with these gorgeous yellow lillies that grow in the ponds there. I just had to work them into the scene where my hero learns to cast nature magic--but being a writer, I needed to know how they smelled. I stopped at half a dozen ponds where it looked like the lilies were close enough to the shore for me to grab one, but when I reached the shore they were always about ten feet of icy mucky pond too far. Finally, on a road near Ketchikan, I screeched to a stop on a too-narrow pullout, grabbed a way too small branch for an anchor, and leaned precariously out over the icy muck with a dead branch in my other hand, and managed to fish out a lilly and haul it in. It smelled sort of piney and resinous, and was full of small black ants. I just finished writing the first draft of that second book about two weeks ago--there is no mention of those lillies anywhere in it.

Embarassing--I'm generally not a superstitious person, but I have developed a writing ritual that my writing group teased me about a lot when I confessed to it. I have a very old, soft, peach sweat-shirt that used to belong to my mom. When I'm writing a first draft, which I do in longhand over a period of about two months, I put on that sweat shirt when I write page one and wear it whenever I'm writing until I've finished that draft. And I don't wash it once during that time, so it gets dark patches on the elbows, and over my stomach where the eraser shavings fall. (I've got some mild back problems, so I lie down on the floor of my bedroom to write with the pad propped against a lap board.) But despite what you hear about blood, sweat and tears, I don't shed any bodily fluids when I write, so it doesn’t get stinky or gross. As I told my laughing writers group. Repeatedly.

Hints: Fantasy is her thing and she was awesome enough to donate her whole series to the Grand Prize Pack.
List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 2nd prize pack will contain
$50 gift card for B&N

-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn

-Signed bookmarks donated by Lisa Schroeder

-Signed bookmarks donated by Jen Nadol

-Bookmarks donated by Shaun David Hutchinson

-Copy of The Last Knight, Rogue's House and Player's Ruse donated by Hilari Bell

-One Devil's Kiss audiobook donated by Sarwat Chadda

-One signed book by donated by Julie Anne Peters

-One signed copy of My Soul to Save donated by Rachel Vincent

-The Drake Chronicles tote bag donated by Alyxandra Harvey


Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Thursday, July 29, 2010

"Guess Who?" Featured Author Week 18: Shaun David Hutchinson

Shaun David Hutchinson

Who he is..
I'm a writer, a major geek and I'm all about nerdy shenanigans. My book THE DEATHDAY LETTER will be published by Simon Pulse, summer 2010. I'm represented by the rad Chris Richman at Upstart Crow Literary. I can be reached via tin cans and string or by emailing shaundavidhutchinson at gmail dot com I accept all cash gifts, especially if you're a prince from Nigeria. Call me.

Book

Links
The Deathday Letter Website
Shaun's Blog

---------------------------------------------------------------
Winner of "Guess Who?" Week 18 is
Ladytink_534

Congratulations!!
You now have 1 entry into Grand Prize Pack #2 that will be held on 8/18/2010.
I have sent you an email so please respond ASAP.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Book Trailers Galore!! (part 2)

Hi guys! I said I would post some more book trailers so here they are.
Enjoy!

Books I've enjoyed

The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson

Return The Heart by T.K. Richardson

Hearts at Stake & Blood Feud by Alyxandra Harvey

Spells by Aprilynne Pike



Books I want to read

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

Swoon by Nina Malkin

Soulstice & Devouring by Simon Holt

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Stange Angels by Lili St Crow

Well that's it for now. Hope you like them. Until next time. HAPPY READING!!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

The Demon's Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan

May 18th 2010 by Margaret K. McElderry
Hardcover, 448 pages
Genre: YA, Fantasy


Mae Crawford's always thought of herself as in control, but in the last few weeks her life has changed. Her younger brother, Jamie, suddenly has magical powers, and she's even more unsettled when she realizes that Gerald, the new leader of the Obsidian Circle, is trying to persuade Jamie to join the magicians. Even worse? Jamie hasn't told Mae a thing about any of it. Mae turns to brothers Nick and Alan to help her rescue Jamie, but they are in danger from Gerald themselves because he wants to steal Nick's powers. Will Mae be able to find a way to save everyone she cares about from the power-hungry magician's carefully laid trap?--Goodreads

My Review:
The twist and turns never end in this world full of magic, demons and fascinating characters. Characters who never fail to find themselves in some unimaginable predicaments.

I love Sarah’s twisted humor. This book had me at the edge of my seat one moment and laughing at Jamie and Nick the next. It has surprised me at how much I loved reading this series since I always seem to need a lot of romance in my reading. Not that she doesn’t have any romance in it. There is a pin prick of romance and one or two steamy moments in the book but it's such a tease. It’s like having one cup of water in the Sahara dessert. Which is probably enough to sustain you for a few more hours until you reach your destination but not very satisfying. What all this babbling means is that she fascinates me with her world and keeps me focused on the story with edgy and witty writing. The characters have a lot more important things to be focused on in the story besides sex. Like not being used by magicians or possessed by demons.

I find it totally ironic that the good guy in this series is a demon. Nick Ryves is something else. I can’t help but love him. I mean he is the ultimate bad boy. Like DEMON bad but he tries so hard to make is brother Alan happy. He keeps saying that he doesn’t care about peoples feels but his actions don’t match his words. Like why would he care about keeping Alan happy or even helping Mae and Jamie if he didn‘t care. I think he has found some humanity in himself. Maybe it stems from a selfish purpose but none the less it’s still there and lets face it most of the things we do as humans are pretty selfish. As for the rest of him, he is handsome, strong, sarcastic, and sexy. Very yummy ladies.

In this book we get to see this world through Mae’s eyes. Now she is a feisty, stubborn, pink headed beauty than will fight to the tooth and nail for her brother, Jamie. In The Demons Covenant she is a teacher of sorts to Nick. He wants to know how to act human, for Alan’s sake. So she tries to teach him but it’s difficult to teach feelings. I mean you either feel it or not. You can’t really teach that so she has a difficult time and her feels for him are very confusing and get in the way. Also, she has so much going on in this book it made my head spin. But I don’t want to give away everything so just know that I find her admirable because she protects her own no matter what it cost her.

Jamie. Oh  Jamie. I absolutely adore Jamie. He’s like a lion cub. So cute and cuddly with his appearance but don't let that fool you because when he grows and matures into his full potential he is extremely powerful. It's a little scary and very exciting to think about. I can’t wait to see it. There has to be some great things planned for him in the next book. Oh and did I mention his friendship with Nick? It is hilarious and their interactions are most of the highlights in the book. I loved it! Oh and also, he has the worst taste in men. It’s like he’s cursed or something. Poor baby. I really do feel for him.

Alan Ryves is Nick's big brother. In this book he is still wrestling with demons literally and figuratively. This guy puts up the best act out of everyone. I can’t imagine what kind of inner turmoil he goes through everyday knowing that he has set a demon free in this world. A demon who can end the world in a fit of rage at any moment. But you can’t help who you love even if it’s irrational. I rooted for Alan throughout the whole book and hoped and wished that he would find what he has been looking for for so many years. Love. It’s sad that he doesn’t find exactly what he’s looking for by the end of the book.

Well this was a fantastic read full of mystery and adventure, so if you are looking for a wicked good ride this is the book for you.

Quote:
Nick looked down at her. "So there's an emergency in your bedroom," he said slowly. "Well, I can't say it's the worst line I've ever heard." 
---------------
"After my dad died, I  looked everywhere for someone to love me. I used to sit on the bus and watch people, see if they looked kind, try to make them smile at me. I had a hundred dreams about a hundred different people, loving me." Alan's voice was low, but he didn't falter. He reached out and touched her hair, very gently, pushing it behind her ear, "Of all the girls I ever saw," he said, "I dreamed of you the most."
Next Book in the Series:
TBA(The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy, #3) 

Sex-o-meter:

Drug-o-meter:


Rating:

Sarah's Blog
Sarah's Website
Marmalade Fish (Fan Site)

Friday, July 23, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 18





Can you please share 3 things about yourself that your fans probably don’t know?

So here are three weird, funny, or embarrassing things about me that I bet people don't know. I'm also not sure they're going to want to!

1. When I auditioned to go to NYU for theatre, they asked me what actor had the greatest influence on me. I wasn't prepared for the question and blurted out Patrick Stewart from Star Trek. I then spent ten minutes trying to defend my choice. Sadly, I didn't get in. However, I think it had more to do with my lack of acting skills. Also, I am a huge geek.

2. 33 is my favorite number because of my love for two very different television shows: Friday Night Lights and Battlestar Galactica.

3. I frequently try to make references to Doctor Who in my manuscripts and they frequently get cut by my agent and editor.

Hints: Carpe Mortediem!


List of Participating Authors to chose from:

Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts


You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 2nd prize pack will contain
$50 gift card for B&N

-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn

-Signed bookmarks donated by Lisa Schroeder

-Signed bookmarks donated by Jen Nadol

-Bookmarks donated by Shaun David Hutchinson

-Copy of The Last Knight, Rogue's House and Player's Ruse donated by Hilari Bell

-One Devil's Kiss audiobook donated by Sarwat Chadda

-One signed book by donated by Julie Anne Peters

-One signed copy of My Soul to Save donated by Rachel Vincent

-The Drake Chronicles tote bag donated by Alyxandra Harvey

Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

It's Friday! Let's Do The Blog Hop

Hi everyone! Parajunkee is hosting a blog hop every Friday on her blog. This tons of fun let's face it we all want more followers and this is a great way to meet new friends, gain more followers and find great new blogs. So are you interested? Well if you are it's simple just follow these rules:

1.Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host { Parajunkee.com } and any one else you want to follow on the list
2.Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
3.Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments
4.Follow Follow Follow as many as you can
5.If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers
6.If you want to show the link list, just follow the link below the entries and copy and paste it within your post!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Crazy-For-Books Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop

ABOUT THE HOP:

In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and find new book-related blogs that we may be missing out on! This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books! It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs that they may not know existed--
-------------------------------------------------------------
TELL US ABOUT THE BOOK YOU ARE CURRENTLY READING!

Well at the moment I'm being very moody so I'm in between a couple of books until one catches my attention but I do want to tell you about a book I finished a couple of days ago.
This is a fantastic read. I highly recommend this book if you are a Simone Elkeles fan. It has the same edginess to it and I absolutely LOVED Doug. This is my first experience with Jennifer Echols and I had so much fun in her story that I went out and bought this today.
  Sshhhhh..Please don't tell my hubby. I already reached my limit this week and I snuck out to buy it. I JUST HAD TOO!! He will never understand. Am I right ladies? Ok well I will get to this book soon. Oh and by the way this book has 2 books in it and I only bought it for $8 so I got 2 for the price of 1. That's why I HAD to take it. Anyway so what are you reading?

"Guess Who?" Featured Author Week 17: Andrea Cremer

Andrea Cremer
Bio
(from Goodreads)

Andrea has always loved writing and has never stopped writing, but she only recently plunged into the deep end of the pool that is professional writing. When she’s not writing, Andrea teaches history at a very nice liberal arts college in St. Paul.

In the little spare time she can find, Andrea stares up at trees, rescues infant rabbits from predatory cats, and invents names for pug puppies with her husband. She has an unfortunate tendency to spill things – white carpets beware! 

Book

 Next Book In The Series
WOLFSBANE (Fall 2011, tentative, Philomel)

BLOODROSE (Philomel, TBA) Nightshade Book 3

UNTITLED (Philomel, TBA) Nightshade companion novel


Links
Andrea's Website
Andrea's Blog

Trailer
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winner of week 17 is
Spain108
Congratulations!!

You now have 1 entry into Grand Prize Pack #2 that will be held on 8/18/2010.
I have sent you an email so please respond ASAP.

Thank you all for play "Guess Who?"

Forget You by Jennifer Echols (BLOG TOUR)

I received this book for blog tour and review by Gallery Book/Simon & Schuster. Thank you!
July 20th 2010 by MTV
Paperback, 293 pages
Genre: YA

WHY CAN’T YOU CHOOSE WHAT YOU FORGET . . . AND WHAT YOU REMEMBER? There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four- year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. Feeling like her life is about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon. But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all—the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug—of all people— suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life—a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug.--Goodreads

My Review:
Warning!! You must turn down the AC to read this book. Oh ya it’s that HOT!!
Alright let’s start with why this whole book is so worth reading. <3Doug<3. Dougie Doug Doug. Holy hell he was such a good character. He is tough and rough. A total bad boy with bad attitude and a quick temper. He is so dreamy. Did I mention HOT? Well don’t let the act fool you because underneath his hard exterior he really does have a beautiful heart and always has the best intentions when it come to Zoey. I also think he is the smartest person out of the whole bunch in this book. Seriously ladies, be prepared to get your hearts stolen.

Now Zoey, she has a lot of “esplaining to do” like Ricky Ricardo would say to Lucy. She was a complicated character with lots of things going on. She wasn’t a bad character just a frustrating one. I mean If I read “Brandon is my boyfriend.” one more time I was going to slap her. She was so blind to see who was always there to help her when she needed someone the most and it was NOT Brandon. *takes a deep breath* Sorry about the rant but seriously you need to see what I’m talking about to understand. I do feel sorry for her most of the time because she really has a LOT on her plate. With her selfish father set on having a whole new life without her or her mother and her mother not handling the divorce well at all. It truly is a nightmare when looking in on Zoey’s life so I can kind of understand why she makes such bad decisions and has horrible judgment about people and situations. Plus she is only seventeen.

I must say that I think this book is for older teen and adults because there is lot of sex, underage drinking and some cursing. Aaaaww high school. The good old days. LOL! Seriously it does remind me of my high school days. I think that is why I loved this book so much. Overall I think that the mystery was intense, the sex was steamy, the story true to life, and the love story heartbreaking and wonderful. Any fans of Simone Elkeles will surely love this book.

Quote:
"I don't owe you, Zoey," he said sadly. "I only agreed to do this because I thought there would be more after tonight. But this is really all you wanted. I can't do it. I can't make it worse than it already is. I know you need this one night, to reconstruct you memory, and I care about you. But I care about me too, and I can't do this anymore."
----------------------
"Did you all take your pants off? The swim team really knows how to throw a party."
Keke laughed. "You have no idea."
Sex-o-meter:

Drug-o-meter:

Rating:

Jennifer's Blog
Jennifer's Website

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Another Mega ARC contest and another

Carolina @ Carol's Print is having an huge ARC giveaway!
Contest ends Aug 9th.

Alexandra Shostak is having an ARC Giveaway also at Dark Fantasy contest!. Check out her pile.

Now that is a lot of ARC's. Who wants them? Well hurry and go enter..on my mark, ready, set GO!!
OH WAIT!! Please make sure to mention I sent you when you enter. 
Thanks guys and again, may the luckiest son of a gun win!!

We interrupt this regularly scheduled program to bring you some BREAKING NEWS!!

Cassandra posted this on twitter today.
"cassieclare http://bit.ly/dsyAbF "When will the cover of City of Fallen Angels be revealed?" I FINALLY have an answer to that! http://fb.me/wtir77Iq"


YAY! So now what do we all do for the next 5 months? Bite our nails to the nub? Pull our hair out? Beg, plea, and cry to Cassandra to give us sneak peeks of the cover to calm our nerves. No! Not I. I will feast my eyes on the other gorgeous covers in this series and wait patiently for December to come around.  I mean that's only....132 days. Holly hell! Ok maybe not patiently but I will try!


Follow Cassandra on twitter to get the latest news!!
http://twitter.com/cassieclare

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Mega ARC Giveaway at Babbling Flow!!

Sara @ Babbling Flow is hosting a MEGA ARC Giveaway Click on the link to enter

Want to know what is up for grabs? Take a look!
It this enough eye candy for you people..now wipe up that drool from you lip and get moving to the contest page!!! Oh the link is above the pics. 
Gook luck guys!! May the luckiest son of a gun win!!
If you enter make sure and mention that Trini (that would be me) sent you..PLEASE!! Thanks guys!
Dang I'm tired of screaming..lol This post has like 11 !! Oh crap there goes two more.