Thursday, August 26, 2010

Escapades of Romantically Challenged Me by Maya Jax (Blog Tour)

Published
December 4th 2009 by Lipstick Ninja Press
Paperback, 222 pages
Genre: fiction


"This is it. This is how I'm going to die. Here lies Lelaina Zane, aspiring writer, died at twenty-six while still living with her parents and dressed like a whore in her ex-boyfriend's basement. Cause of death is unknown, possible heart attack or strangulation by crazed mother-in-law to be." Lelaina Zane is mastering new levels of embarrassing social conduct... Lelaina, aspiring screenwriter and dating disaster, is busy impersonating a superhero to gain the attention of a Hollywood agent when she finds out that her dad had a heart attack. Leaving LA for the first time in three years, she returns home to be with her family. And now that she's back, her parents want her to stay and join the family law firm. After three years of unsuccessfully trying to 'make it' in Hollywood, she thinks they might be right. But soon after settling into her new life, Hollywood calls with a potential offer. Lelaina has to decide if she'll stay for her ailing father and the promise of a successful life, or return to LA to pursue what she's always wanted. Torn between her two choices, the decision becomes even harder when her cheating ex -- her first love, first kiss and first... you know -- reappears with apologies and a proposition.--Goodreads

My Review:
Escapades of Romantically Challenged Me made me laugh , made me cry, and made me think of the power of a story*.

I couldn’t believe how much this book made me laugh. It has some extremely funny and embarrassing parts that I will not forget any time soon. It also had some very serious and emotional scenes that made me think. When I started reading this book I thought the main character was a little outrageous and that maybe I shouldn’t continue reading the book but OMG I’m so glad I did.

Lelaina is the main character in this book. She is smart, dedicated, passionate and very accident prone. Her main goal in life is to become a screen writer but her parents have another career in mind for her. My first impression of her was that she was very dingy and desperate. But after getting to know her better I could see that she was just trying to make her dream of becoming a screen writer come true. It’s a difficult business and the only way to get noticed is if you put yourself out there. But in Lelainas case if anything can go wrong, it will. It seem like she is victim of a never ending stream of bad luck but some might call it fate. She is a very likable character and I started to feel a kinship with her by the end of the book.

There are lots of other characters in this story, friends and family, but Lelaina’s main love interest is her long time friend and ex-cheating boyfriend Conner. I don’t want to give too much away but when it comes to their relationship I’m just going to repeat one of Connor’s lines that is in the book. “It’s not what it looks like.” There is more to their story then what you see.

I do want to mention this one line Maya put in the book and it is “I don’t think I fully appreciated the power of a story until this moment.” When I read this line in the story I had a little epiphany. Yes stories can be a very powerful thing. They can be your companions and even your saviors when you are in desperate need of an escape of the real world. Especially when things seem forlorn and hopeless. I just wanted to share my thoughts on that and thank you Maya Jax for pointing this out to me. You have some fantastic scenes in this book and I truly enjoyed it.

This book is for adults and contains adult content and situations.


Quote: 
"I heard Super Girl was escorted to Emergency by a prostitute, so I figured it had to be you."
Sex-o-meter:

Drug-o-meter: 


Rating:


Maya's Blog
Maya's Website

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Sorry I've been MIA!!

Hey guys! I'm sorry I've been MIA for a little while but I went back to work full time two weeks ago at an elementary school and this is our first week back so I'm swamped with paperwork. I ask that you please be patient with me and I promise by this weekend I will catch up with all the contest and giveaways. I'm also pushing back the 3rd round of the Guess Who? Challenge since I'm behind on that also. The good thing is that my reading hasn't suffered too much but the blog has and I feel terrible about that. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me and I will respond ASAP. Thanks again guys and until next time happy reading!! 

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Return the Heart BlogTour + Giveaway



May 25th 2010 by Yorkshire Publishing
Paperback, 292 pages 
Genre: YA, Paranormal

What if your gift was a curse?

To a casual passerby, Lilly Paige is anything but special. As a seventeen year old, she is faced with all the complications of a teenager, but deep down there is much more. Lilly has a gift, though sometimes it seems to be a curse.

Lilly can peer into the hearts of others - their deepest, darkest secrets are there for Lilly to see - but to what end? Raised by aloof parents, Lilly has been independent her whole life, but soon she will need to rely on her friends to evade an evil that has sold her gift to the highest bidder on the black market. Lilly and her four closest friends are immersed in a dangerous game of cat and mouse, that will not only reveal more about Lilly's gift, but also her link to an old Russian prophecy.

Can Lilly and her friends escape the danger that is so close they can practically feel it? Where will their perilous journey lead them - to darkness or light?--Goodreads

My Review:
This book is a great beginning to a wonderful series. I have to admit that I was a little hesitant to pick up this book on my own. Only because I have been swamped with other books and I hadn’t heard anything about it. So when I was ask to participate in the blog tour it made this book top priority and I’m so glad it did. This book was unbelievable. The premise was amazing. The characters phenomenal. At every turn the story just got more interesting and I couldn’t put the book down. Seriously at one point I was yelling RUN LILLY RUN!! *sighs* It was exhausting but so worth it.

Here is what is going on in this book. There are five friends, Lilly, Claire, Seth, Andrew, and Kyle all with different supernatural abilities on the run for their lives from very powerful and dangerous organizations. Organizations that want to use their supernatural abilities to gain power over other organizations around the world. But that’s not all. There is also a old Russian prophecy that Lilly seems to be linked to which makes her situation much more complicated. And last but never least there is a very beautiful and passionate love story.

Lilly’s character was some how both sides of a coin. She was fragile and vulnerable yet brave and strong. She is extremely intelligent and blessed or cursed how ever you want to see it, with a gift of sight. Sight into the hearts of anyone with just a glance. She is able to see desires, strengths, weaknesses, fears, what angers them, and what pleases them. She is able to see their true self. She called it their essence. I think this is an amazing gift. While I was reading this story I thought to myself If I was able to chose to be a supernatural being and with super powers I would definitely chose to be just like Lilly.

Now in the beginning of this book Lilly is a lonely teenager who thinks she is the only person in the world who is cursed with such a gift. But she soon finds her self not only surrounded by other gifted teens but by true friends that help intensify her powers. One of these friends is Seth, Lilly’s love interest.

Oh Seth! Why do you have to be such a gentlemen? Lol. Seth is such a gentlemen it was a little frustrating at times but this is a YA novel and so it was very appropriate. Actually it was kind of refreshing to see a character who really is unselfish in every way possible. He’s perfect, romantic, gorgeous and responsible. Yes very dreamy. He treats Lilly with the utmost respect and love I have seen any character do in any book towards his soul mate and true love. Notice I use soul mate and true love because their relationship is seriously soul deep and they can communicate on such a deep level that it would be extremely hard to not see them as a couple. I hope that makes since and you really need to read the book to understand exactly what I’m talking about.

Well those are the two main character I loved and can’t wait to read more about. There are many others which are very interesting especially crazy Claire and handsome Nikolai.

This was one story I didn’t want to end and I was very ecstatic to hear from T.K. that there will be a sequel. YAY!! As soon as I can get my hands on it I know I will not be able to put it down till the very last page just like this book. So if your looking for a story that is unique and very exciting you really want to put this on your TBR list.
Quote:
Lilly--"When I read someone's heart, I see their essence." I looked around to see their expressions. "I sense who they are, their stories, thoughts, and emotions, I know their history, hopes and dreams. I know them thoroughly. I see what makes them who they are. I see why some people are angry and what causes each personality to be distinct and unique. All I have to do is look at them. I don't even have to look in someone's eyes. I can be far away or just see their picture, but I know them. I know their deepest secrets, fears and worries and along with their greatest joys and accomplishments."
------------------------------------
"Are you the one?" Defiance swelled within me." It has been said that she who read the hearts of many shall return the hearts of many to Russia. It is you. Am I right?" 
Next Book in the Series:
TBA(#2)
TBA(#3)
Sex-o-meter:

Rating:

T.K.'s Blog
T.K.'s Website
Return the Heart Facebook Page

Trailer
----------------------------------------------------
Giveaway!

T.K. Richardson has provided one Return the Heart Notebook, one Tote bag and two bookmarks for a giveaway.
+1 Follow me on blog and leaving a comment with your email address.
+2 Tweet about this contest. Just press the retweet button on top left hand corner. Easy peasy;)
+2 Follow me on Twitter
+2 Follow T.K. on Twitter
+2 LIKE IT on my Facebook
+2 Friend me on Myspace
+2 Friend or LIKE IT on T.K. Facebook
+2 Friend me on Goodreads
+2 Friend T.K. on Goodreads
+2 Following T.K. Richarson on her blog
+5 For posting it on any other outlet like Facebook, Myspace, LJ...
+10 Post Tour and giveaways on your blog

Fill out this FORM to enter the giveaway!

Friday, August 6, 2010

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 20


Can you please share one memorable moment since becoming an author?
I had to do a book store visit with one other author (famous for writing YA books). My publisher thought it would be a great way for me to introduce myself to her fans, read from my book and hey, maybe even sell a few copies.

When we turned up there were loads of little girls, all about 6 years old. The author had dropped her YA stuff and was here promoting her new series for young girls and was centred around a group of school friends. All light, fun and very pink.

My book opened with the ghost of a murdered six year old boy.

When I started reading my extract, the audience started crying. The few girls who enjoyed it, wanted the book. The parents refused to buy it. They left rather hurriedly. To make it worse a group of teens did come in, but saw me reading to a bunch of six year olds, so promptly turned around and left.

Hints: He writes about the only girl squire in the Knight's Templar.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Chloe Niell - Firespell
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.
The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 
Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 2nd prize pack will contain
$50 gift card for B&N

-Pride & Prejudice book and movie + candy & popcorn

-Signed bookmarks donated by Lisa Schroeder

-Signed bookmarks donated by Jen Nadol

-Bookmarks donated by Shaun David Hutchinson

-Copy of The Last Knight, Rogue's House and Player's Ruse donated by Hilari Bell

-One Devil's Kiss audiobook donated by Sarwat Chadda

-One signed book by donated by Julie Anne Peters

-One signed copy of My Soul to Save donated by Rachel Vincent

-The Drake Chronicles tote bag donated by Alyxandra Harvey


Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Take Me There Blog Tour and 3 Giveaways!!

Photobucket

July 20th 2010 by Simon Pulse
Paperback, 320 pages
Genre:YA Fiction

Sometimes sexy, sometimes sad, and always intense, Take Me There is a dark and surprising novel about a boy on the run who's headed nowhere fast.

Dylan has a bad-boy past and a criminal record. He knows that rich, beautiful Jess is way too good for him—but she has always been the one person who sees through his tough exterior and straight to his heart, and he has been hopelessly in love with her from the first time they met. He would change his life for a chance with her.

But trouble follows Dylan wherever he goes, and a deadly mistake soon forces him to hit the road and leave his dreams behind. He’s on the run and in search of answers—answers to questions he wishes he’d never asked.--Goodreads

 
I'm so sad to report that I didn't get a chance to meet Carolee in person but she was still gracious enough to answer a few questions for me and allowed me to participate on this blog tour. She also signed two books for me at Blue Willow Bookstore here in Houston Tx. One she signed to me and the other has her signature alone to giveaway. There will be a chance to win three different prizes. Two here on my blog and one Grand Prize from Carolee's. Are you excited yet? Well let's not get ahead of ourselves. I have a wonderful interview for you to feast your eyes on so to no further ado...

The Interview

Hi Carole, can you tell us a bit about yourself?
I live in Albuquerque, NM with my husband and teenage children. I work at a high school full time as a speech-language pathologist, and in my free time I write books.

Please tell us about Take Me There and the characters in the book.
TAKE ME THERE is the story of a seventeen year old boy on the run from the law and an LA gang. He goes to Texas to find his estranged father who is in prison because he wants to know if badness is in his blood or if it is something he can overcome.

Why did you feel compelled to write Dylan’s story?
I work with a lot of teenage boys who are basically good kids, but because of their difficulty learning to read and write, they have limited choices. Because their choices are so limited, they sometimes turn to crime and drugs. Dylan can't read or write but he dreams of a better life and he must overcome serious obstacles to find a different path. I wrote this story so that kids like him would know they have choices.

What are some of the things you had to do to make this story work just right? What I mean is did you have to do any research for this book or did you just pull information from any life experiences from yourself, family members, or friends ?
I interviewed a ton of people including the former warden of the wall unit in Huntsville, TX, a retired Texas judge, a police officer who works in our local gang unit, and an officer who works in juvenile detention, and others with gang associations. I also interviewed a couple of mechanics who took me into their shops and showed me the cars they were working on. I travelled to Hermosa Beach to make sure I had described that setting accurately and to get a feel for the location. Basically, writing a book involves exploring a hundred different details.

Are there any deleted scenes you can share with us? 
Actually, there is a great death penalty debate on my website under the teacher section. It's a deleted scene that is no longer in the book. It's also on the blog tour at T.V. and Book Addict. I loved the scene but it slowed down the pace of the story during a critical section of the book, so we took it out.

What is your favorite part of this book?
A poem called, "The House Where Jack Died."

Do you have a favorite line or quote from any of your characters? Share is with us and tell us why. 
Dylan's uncle says, "What you believe shapes who you become." I think people are limited by what they think more than by anything else. On the other hand, belief and faith can help you overcome obstacles more than any other single factor.

When you were writing Take Me There what were some of the things you made sure to put in the story? 
Texas Barbecue. By the way, one of the items in the grand prize for the Texas Trivia Challenge is barbecue rub from the Ironworks in Austin. Check out The Teen {Book} Scene on Thursday, August 5 for more details.

What are some books you have read recently and would recommend? 
I love the Hunger Games series and all of Lisa Schroeder's verse novels. Something I haven't read yet that's at the top of my list is Sea by Heidi Kling. I met both Lisa and Heidi at the SCBWI conference in LA a couple of years ago and they are really wonderful people.

Is there anything you would like to share with us that we didn’t cover in the previous questions?
If you want to do accomplish something, just keep doing it long enough and eventually you'll be successful.

Thanks for hosting me on your blog, Trini. I really loved coming back to Texas for this tour. The people here are so friendly. I guess that makes sense, after all, the original name for Texas "Tejas" means "Those who are friends." I made some great new friends on this blog tour.

TAKE ME THERE at bookstores all across Texas and New Mexico. Here is a list to locate a bookstore near you.

The Giveaways!!

#1 Texas Trivia Challenge Grand Prize giveaway event will commence on August 5th and end on August 30th. To enter you must answer 10 questions about Texas. But don't worry because throughout this tour each participating blog gave a hint to each question. Here is the question to the hint that was given above.

9. The state name originated with the Caddo Indians of Eastern Texas. The original term, "tejas" means..
a)Lone Star
b)He who wears the big hat
c)Those who are friends
d)Those who speak the strange tongue

#2
A Take Me There tote bag, a necklace, and smokin tonsils hot sauce made in Houston,TX
To win the Take Me There prize pack please fill in the blanks with your own answers. Use this FORM  to submit entries with the correct corresponding #. This is all for fun so the crazier the better. Carolee Dean will be judging each entry. Only enter once and entry deadline is August 25th so we can announce winner by August 30th.

In this scene, Jessica Jameson, a girl Dylan had a crush on since middle school, walks into the repair shop where he works. He hasn’t seen her in over a year and he’s trying not to make a fool of himself.


Baby Face _______#1_______ at Mercedes man who was making a
                     (animal sound)

_____#2________ noise even though nobody was listening to him anymore. Jess
    (car sound)

turned around. “A ______#3________,” she said, _____#4_________ over and scratching
                               (type of animal)                              (verb-ing)

Baby Face behind the ____#5_________. My ferocious _______#6_______ instantly
                                       (body part)                                   (type of animal)

starting wagging her _________#7________ and ______#8________ Jess. “He’s beautiful,”
                                 (different body part)              (verb-ing)

she told me. “She. Her name is Baby Face.”

“Like the gangster?” asked Jess, and I felt like an idiot again. Why did I ever

name my _____#9__________ after a bank robber?
                 (type of animal)

“Sort of,” I told her.

Baby Face _____#10_________ herself down at Jess’ feet, stuck her ____#11________
                    (past tense verb)                                                               (body part)

in the air and Jess ______#12______ her.
                                 (verb-ed)

“Some guard ________#13_______,” Mercedes Man told Gomez.
                           (type of animal)

“Hey, quit that,” I told Jess. “We got reputations to uphold.”

------------------------------------------------------------------

#3
To win a signed copy of TAKE ME THERE from me this is how to enter. SPREAD THE WORD ABOUT THIS TOUR AND GIVEAWAYS, PLEASE! To be eligible for this giveaway you MUST BE A FOLLOWER OF THIS BLOG. So when I click your picture and look at your profile I must see A Book Lovers Review on the list of BLOGS I FOLLOW. If your profile is set on private and I have no way to verify that you are a follower your entries will not count.

+1 Follow me on blog and leaving a comment with your email address.
+2 Tweet about this contest. Just press the retweet button on top left hand corner. Easy peasy;)
+2 Follow me on Twitter
+2 Follow Carolee on Twitter
+2 LIKE IT on my Facebook
+2 Friend me on Myspace
+2 Friend Carolee on Facebook
+2 Friend me on Goodreads
+2 Friend Carolee on Goodreads
+5 For posting it on any other outlet like Facebook, Myspace, LJ...
+10 Post Tour and giveaways on your blog
=31+
Use this FORM to submit all entries.

Thanks everyone and good luck!

Monday, August 2, 2010

I'm Hosting a Tell Me a Secret Trailer Launch Party and Contest!!


Tell Me a Secret Trailer Launch Party!!


Holly was kind enough to ask me to host the first viewing of the Tell Me a Secret Trailer along with some other bloggers. Yay! Thank you Holly! To celebrate to the Tell Me a Secret Launch Party she is giving away tons of cool prizes. Take a look.

Party Prizes! Here’s what people can win:
Signed TMAS books!
TMAS t-shirts!

Fan-made bracelets by Hannah S!
Music that inspired the book!
Sneak Previews!
Bookmarks and Handmade Magnets!
and...
A Tell Me a Secret handmade necklace made by Gypsy Wings!



HOW TO WIN? Share the Trailer Love!
1. Click here to go to YouTube, then click the Share button to send to your Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, or blog! 5 pts each
2. Click here to tell us where you posted and enter to win!

If you want to know more about Tell Me a Secret Holly will be featured at readergirlz for the entire month of August, with a live Twitter chat coming up!

If you haven't had a chance to read this book yet you should put it at the top of your TBR list. It is super good and unforgettable. I promise. Here is my REVIEW.

So what did you think of the trailer?