Friday, September 30, 2011

Do You Have Questions for Simone Elkeles?? + a Giveaway

This giveaway is now closed!
Congratulations to the winner Kate!
Questions? Questions? Questions?
Hey everyone! I have a very exciting live interview coming up Monday with Simone Elkeles and I wanted to see if any of you guys had any questions for her? Of course I have plenty of my own but I may pick a couple of questions from you all to add to the list. This interview will be recorded and posted up soon after Monday. It all just depends on how much I need to edit. So if there is something you just NEED to know about Avi and Amy, Maggie and Caleb, Alex and Brittany, Carlos and Kiara, and/or Luis and Nikki leave a comment below.
Oh did I mention if you ask a question you get a chance to win a signed copy of Perfect Chemistry?
Ok so ask away!
Rules
Ask a legitimate question. You may have more than one question but please submit them all at once in the form of a comment. One entry per person. You must be a follower. US and Canada residence only unless you are willing to help with shipping charges. Ends sometime on Sunday October 2nd.(Yes only 2 days away so hurry, hurry, hurry!)

Thanks for helping out guys! Good Luck!

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Take A Look At What I'm Up To!

Hey guys! I haven't posted much this week but there is a very good reason for that. I've been working really hard on finishing up some books and putting together the Trick or Treat Spooktacular Giveaways Event.

This event invovles up to 13 authors and many many great giveaways
Last night I met Maureen Johnson which was so much fun! And today I will meet Sherrilyn Kenyon at B&N then meet Jessica Brody, Alyson Noel ,Mary Pearson ,Gabrielle Zevin  at Blue Willow Bookshop.
I also plan on meeting Rachel Vincent on Satuday October 1st, Simone Elkeles October 3, Erin Morgenstern October 19th  and Lisa McMann at the Tweens Read Book Festiveal on October 29th.  So since I love to share with all my followers I am giving away one signed book from each author every day starting October 13th and end the event on Halloween night with a Ghoulish Bundle Pack Prize.

All the details of the Trick or Treat Spooktacular Giveaways will be posted this weekend so keep a look out for that. But for today I wanted to leave you with some pictures of last nights event.

Hope you enjoy!









Monday, September 26, 2011

"Guess Who?" Week 23 Winner and Author Reveal

 Denise Jaden
Denise Jaden's writing has appeared in Mississippi Crow Magazine (Spring, 2008), The
Greensilk Journal (Fall 2007 - where her story, LOCKED AWAY, won an Editor's Choice
Award),and The Tidepool Fiction Ezine. Her novels have received various awards through
Romance Writers of America. Her first novel for teens, LOSING FAITH, was released from
Simon Pulse/Simon & Schuster in 2010, and her next one, NEVER ENOUGH, will be out in
2012. She lives just outside Vancouver, Canada with her husband and son.--denisejaden.com
Paperback, 377 pages
Published September 7th 2010 by Simon Pulse 
 A terrible secret. A terrible fate.

When Brie's sister, Faith, dies suddenly, Brie's world falls apart. As she goes through the bizarre and devastating process of mourning the sister she never understood and barely even liked, everything in her life seems to spiral farther and farther off course. Her parents are a mess, her friends don’t know how to treat her, and her perfect boyfriend suddenly seems anything but.
As Brie settles into her new normal, she encounters more questions than closure: Certain facts about the way Faith died just don't line up. Brie soon uncovers a dark and twisted secret about Faith’s final night...a secret that puts her own life in danger.--Goodreads.com
********************************************************************

TayteH

Congratulations!!
You now have 1 entry into Grand Prize Pack #3 that will be held on 11/19/2010.
I have sent you an email so please contact me at abookloversreview@gmail.com ASAP.

Recreate a Cover @ Princess Bookie

Hey guy! It's Recreate a cover time over at Princess Bookie! 
I already did a version of this cover a couple of days ago but have now corrected what was obviouly wrong with it. The other one I did had Mel on it which really didn't match the name of the book. So now that I have all of you people who have NOT read The Host confused let me explain. The Host is about Mel because she was the HOST for Wanda, The Soul. Are you confused yet?? Haha well you just have to read the book to find out what the heck I'm talking about becasue I hate to give spoilers!! So anyway the 2nd book is about Wanda, The Soul  and she looks like the model on this cover. Well my vision of her anyway. I hope you enjoy!!


****************************************************************************
Well crap!! I forgot that this book is an adult series and one rule of the contest is YA only. Sorry Cindy!! Oh well It was fun to make and I love the way it turned out.What do you think?

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 24

The Giveaway is now closed!
This weeks Q&A will end Saturday October 1, 2011 @ midnight CST

Can you please share one memorable moment that has happened to you since becoming an author?

Since becoming an author, I flooded the house.

I'd love to say that this was an incidental result of something much cooler - aliens attacked while I was running a bath so I had to grab my leather jacket and my biggest blaster and didn't have time to turn the water off! - but no. I fell asleep, and then I woke up to the sound of rain. Turned out the rain was water pouring through the heating vents and soaking the downstairs living room. I spent the next three hours with several buckets, a number of towels, a couple of blankets, and an ever-increasing vocabulary of curse words.

Ahh, the glamorous writing life.


Hints: She is a young-adult writer who lives in Australia and when she was a child she wanted to be an astronaut, or possibly a dinosaur-hunting cowgirl, and not a writer.

List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Swati Arasthi - Split
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.

The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 

Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 3rd prize pack will contain
$25 gift card for B&N

-Pride & Prejudice book and movie

-Signed copy of Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

- ARC copy of The Julian Game and The Knaveheart's Cruse by Adele Griffin

-Angels on Sunset Boulevard by Melissa de la Cruz

- Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
- Swag from Amy Brecount White,Bree Despain, Holly Cupala (signed), Jen Nadol (signed), Shun David Hutchinson, Lisa Shroeder (signed), Alyxandra Harvey


Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

Saturday, September 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (18)


In My Mailbox is a weekly post in which you can view all the books and/or book related items that I received or bought. Hosted by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.
Bought at Murder by Books
Shift by Rachel Vincent
Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent
I at #4 for Rachel's book signing on October 1

Bought at Blue Willow Bookshop
 Tantalize by Cynthia Leitich Smith (signed)
Eternal by Cynthia Leitich Smith (signed)
Blessed by Cynthia Leitich Smith (signed)
Enthralled Anthology
Paradise by Jill Alexander
Swag from Cynthia Leitich Smith

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

That's all for now...Until next time HAPPY READING!! 

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Review: My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent


Paperback, 279 pages
Published August 1st 2009 by Harlequin 


She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next.--Goodreads

My Review
Bean Sidhes (Banshees), Reapers, and Hellions. OH MY!
I really didn’t’ know what to expect from this book but I never thought I would fall so hard and fast for a story staring Bean Sidhes (Banshees). I never read a book about these mythological beings and to see how they fit into Rachel’s modern day “Soul Screamer” world was a fresh and new journey for me. A very exciting and steamy new journey.

So this first book  was a great set up for the rest of the series. It starts out with the main character Kaylee Cavanaugh living with her aunt Val, Uncle Brendon, and brat of a cousin Sophie. Kaylee has no idea what she is but knows she is very different from your average teenager. While she attends Eastlake High with her annoying cousin Sophie and best friend Emma, Kaylee pretty much keeps to herself and tries to keep her life as normal as possible. That concept is ripped from under her when she “accidentally” runs into the irresistible hunky totally drool worthy Nash Hudson at club Taboo.

From that point on she feels a strong connections to Nash and soon realizes that he is just as different as she is. To see these two get to know each other better with all the flirting was quite enjoyable.  And it was fascinating to experience Kaylee’s realization of what she is, what she is capable of  and why she feel so connected to Nash. They have great chemistry! Definitely worth reading a couple more times.

Once these two are united they become a team of sort. Or I should probably say one compliments the other. Being of the same species but of different genders Nash is Kaylee’s Yin to her Yang and vice versa. This part of their relationship is the key to figuring out about the mysterious deaths of some of their classmates.

 As situation begin to escalate Nash introduces Kay to a brooding, sarcastic newbie Reaper. Tod. In this first book you don’t get a whole lot of him but he becomes a much stronger character in the next books.  You also get a glimpse into the Netherworld where Hellions reign and shadow come to life.

I don’t want to say too much more because its hard to tell you more about the story without giving away all the surprise and there are plenty.  What I do want to say is that throughout the book I was pleasantly surprised by many things especially at the end when the connection between Tod and Nash was reveals. I didn’t see that one coming! So if you are into hot paranormal romance full of mysterious on goings. You should definitely pick it up!!
Quote
"So what does Tod look like? Whitewashed skeleton skulking around in a black cape and hood? Carrying a scythe? Cause I'm thinking that would cause mass panic in the hospital."

"Is there anything else I should know about reapers?" "Can they read my thoughts or see through my clothes?" "or make me stand on my head and squawk like a chicken?" 
 
Next Book in the Series

Sex-o-meter:

Drug-o-meter:

Rating:

Links
Trailer




Wednesday, September 21, 2011

In My Pile Trailers (2)

I have some great new addition to my TBR pile since buying about 100 books mostly from Borders blowout sale. In My Pile Trailers are post that I will share the trailers of the books in my pile that I have not gotten to read yet. I hope you enjoy!
 
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor  
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafon  
Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder  
Blood Red Road by Moira Young  
Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Giveaway: signed Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

This giveaway is now Closed!!
Congratulations to Anna Dase. Your signed copy of Hush Hush is on it's way.

Hey Guys! I saw this cool Silence app thingy at Katies Book Blog and I wanted to share this with you.
How effin awesome it this?! I'm in a picture with PATCH!! This was so much fun I even saved it as my profile photo on Facebook. I know once my hubby see it he is going to flip. Hehe. But oh well I couldn't pass up the opportunity to hang on to a hunky archangel.*sighs wistfully*


Oh ya!..About the giveaway. 
Since I had so much fun adding my picture on to the app on Facebook I decided to give away a signed copy of Hush Hush and a post card (photo below). 
It's real easy to enter. Just fill out the form below and that's it. You can earn extra entries by:
1. Tweeting, worth 1 entry
2. Earning 10 extra entries by posting your Patch and You (apps.facebook.com/patchandyou) photo on your blog and adding a link back to this giveaway.
3. 5 entries if you add this giveaway to your sidebar.
4. LIKE my Facebook page @ Facebook.com/pages/A-Book-Lovers-Review I will give you another 5 entries. 
So there it is.. four ways to earn extra entries for this giveaway.
Please remember that you must be a follower in order to enter any of my giveaways!
Closing date for the Hush Hush giveaway will be October 4th at midnight CST is celebration of the release of the third installment of the series, Silence. US & Canada residence only. If you are an International follower and really what to enter I will accept all entries if you are willing to split the shipping with me.


So that's it! Have fun with it guys! I can't wait to see how your photo with Patch comes out!!
************************************
Awesome Bloggers!!
Pictures with PATCH!!

The Crazy Dream Blog
A World of Words 

Monday, September 19, 2011

"Guess Who?" Q&A Week 23

This weeks Q&A will end Saturday September 24, 2011 @ midnight CST

Can you please share 3 things your fan probably don't know about you?

   3 things that my fans probably don’t know: 1. I prefer ice cream over jewelry 2. My husband and I used to run some of the biggest natural bodybuilding competitions in Canada. 3. My first attempt at writing was in high school, when a friend and I wrote a parody to Michael Jackson’s hit song Thriller. It was called Chiller and it was about a bunch of penguins trapped in a deep freeze.  


Hints: She is a Class of 2k10 author who writes about losing faith.


List of Participating Authors to chose from:
Swati Arasthi - Split
Hilari Bell - Knights & Rogue Series
Sarwat Chadda - The Devil's Kiss
Eileen Cook - Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
Andrea Cremer - Nightshade 
Melissa DeLaCruz - Blue Blood Series
Alexandra Diaz - Of All The Stupid Things
Kimberly Derting - The Body Finder
Bonnie J. Doerr - Island Sting
Simone Elkeles - Perfect Chemistry
Kami Garcia - Beautiful Creatures
Adele Griffin - The Julian Game
Teri Hall -The Line
Alyxandra Harvey - Hearts at Stake
Karen Healey - Guardina of the Dead
Jennifer Hubbard - The Secret Year
Shaun David Hutchinson - The Deathday Letter
Denise Jaden - Losing Faith
Lauren Kate - Fallen
Jen Nadol - The Mark
Sarah Ockler - Twenty Boy Summer
Julie Anne Peters - By The Time You Read This,I'll Be Dead
Carrie Ryan - The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Lisa Schroeder - Chasing Brooklyn
Elizabeth Scott - The Unwritten Rule
Rachel Vincent - Soul Screamers Series
Any Brecount White - Forget-Her-Nots
Sara Zarr - Sweethearts
You can only guess once!
You must be a follower to participate!!
That means when I click on your picture or name this blog must be listed in "Blogs I follow". If A Book Lovers' Review is not there your entry doesn't count.
Leave your ONE guess and your extra entries for the Grand Prize Pack as a comment.
Remember to leave your email address and links or your entries will NOT count.
Suggestion!! You should check out the authors websites and blogs. You might find what your looking for.

The correct answer gets you into the lottery for this weeks prize but you can earn entries into the GRAND PRIZE PACK by tweeting, posting, and putting contest on your sidebar. 

Please click HERE to see details on the contest.
 GRAND PRIZE PACK.
As of righ now the 3rd prize pack will contain
$25 gift card for B&N

-Pride & Prejudice book and movie

-Signed copy of Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

- ARC copy of The Julian Game and The Knaveheart's Cruse by Adele Griffin

-Angels on Sunset Boulevard by Melissa de la Cruz

- Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
- Swag from Amy Brecount White,Bree Despain, Holly Cupala (signed), Jen Nadol (signed), Shun David Hutchinson, Lisa Shroeder (signed), Alyxandra Harvey


Ok, GO GO GO! GOOD LUCK!

"Guess Who?" Week 22 Author Reveal


Swati Avasthi
Swati Avasthi has been writing fiction since she read Little House in the Big Woods at age five. Emily Bronte, Harper Lee, and many others furthered her addiction.--swatiavasthi.com
Hardcover, 282 pages
Published March 9th 2010 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Sixteen-Year-Old Jace Witherspoon arrives at the doorstep of his estranged brother Christian with a re-landscaped face (courtesy of his father’s fist), $3.84, and a secret.

He tries to move on, going for new friends, a new school, and a new job, but all his changes can’t make him forget what he left behind—his mother, who is still trapped with his dad, and his ex-girlfriend, who is keeping his secret.

At least so far.

Worst of all, Jace realizes that if he really wants to move forward, he may first have to do what scares him most: He may have to go back. First-time novelist Swati Avasthi has created a riveting and remarkably nuanced portrait of what happens after. After you’ve said enough, after you’ve run, after you’ve made the split—how do you begin to live again? Readers won’t be able to put this intense page-turner down.--Goodreads

Sunday, September 18, 2011

My Top 5 Anticipated Books Released in 2012

I have entered  Princess Bookie's Contest Craze: Mini Challenge.  in which she ask us to list our top 5 most wanted books with release dates in 2012. This was hard to do because I have so many but here is what I feel are my most anticipated books at the moment.

 
#1. Before I Wake (Soul Screamers #6) by

 The first book Glow really surprised me by being so provocative with it's controversial subjects and I can't wait  to see where the story goes. 
(I picked this picture for my version of the book cover because it just fit the image of New Earth that's in my head. Plus I think it's puuuurty.) 

 
I can't say enough good things about Lauren Oliver's writing. I'm such a big fan of hers and I will read anything she publishes. Delirium left me a blubbering, sobbing mess and I HAVE to see what happens next. 
 

#4. Black Heart (Curse Workers #3) by 4/3/12
 I have always been a big fan Holly Black's and this series just blew me away. I loved it! And I need to see how things work out between Lila and Cassel now that she is working for father and he has is own issues. I don't want to give to many spoilers.


 
#5. City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by 5/8/12
Who can resist Jace! Seriously! He is way to HOT to forget and I'm ecstatic that there is going to be two more books in the MI series.

 

#5 1/2. The Soul (The Host #2) by