Monday, January 23, 2012

Blog Tour: Character This or That from Falling In Between by Devon Ashley

Mature YA
Paperback
Expected publication: February 14th 2012
Finally! A private conversation. And all I had to do was throw myself off a cliff, drown in a pond in my undies and let him put his hands on my breasts to bring me back to life. Yay me…(yeah, that’s sarcasm)

Yep, that pretty much sums up the most craptastic night of Jenna Baker’s life. She drowns after jumping off a cliff, meets a hotty named Chance in the pearlescent in-between and is brought back to life by her soon-to-be boyfriend Robert.

Just when things start to move forward with Robert, the guy she'd been crushing on for a year now, in walks the man of her dreams – literally. Chance suddenly appears in her dream every time she closes her eyes. So it's Robert by day and Chance by night. One in the real world and one in the dream world. What could possibly go wrong?

Absolutely nothing – until she comes face to face with the guy she met in the in-between, and realizes her romantic rendezvous with Chance may be more than just her imagination.

Note: Jenna's coming of age story is a little edgy. There is mild language and some sexual content.--Goodreads
********************************************************
 This or That with Jenna
  1. Forgetting or Remembering? I suppose it depends on what you're forgetting! If it's a hottie, I wanna remember!!!
  2. Night Stars or Sunshine? I love the night sky. Absolutely gorgeous and romantic.
  3. Swimming or Soccer? Even though I drowned...
  4. Speedos or Trunks? LOL!!! Sophie just cocked her eyebrows at me. Speedos for sure!
  5. Dreams or Reality? Good question! IDK...they're both pretty sweet right now, but I suppose dreams will always be more sugarcoated than reality.
  6. Shower or Bath? Ever fallen asleep in a really uncomfortable bath? I have and the hunch that you can't stretch out isn't pretty.
  7. Jumping or Sinking? LOL...um...so long as I survive!
  8. Diamonds or Pearls? I've never been one for flashy jewelry.
  9. Pink or Clear? Boy, oh boy. Clear is for everyday wear and easily dismissed by onlookers, but that pink stone is soooo pretty!
  10. Robert or Chance? If only it were that easy! I'm still having difficulty choosing...
********************************************************
Author Links

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

My POV: Fiftey Shades Darker


Genre: Erotica, Suspense, Thriller
Paperback, First Edition, 373 pages
Published September 15th 2011 by The Writer's Coffee Shop Publishing House 
 Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.--Goodreads
Sex-o-meter: 
Drug-o-meter:
Rating:

My POV
Fifty Shades Darker is just as heart racing and mind blowing as the first book, Fifty Shades of Grey. E.L. James seems to pleasantly surprise me quite a bit in both books and I totally love it. The things I like best out of the books are the references to Tess of the d'Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy (not so much in this book), that Christian plays the piano (I LOVE the piano!), the emails between Ana and Christian(so so so much fun to read), the music mentioned and it's connection to they're feeling (the play list if effin awesome), how strong Ana's character is and just how raw the stories are. There is no beating around the bush in these book and you will find yourself flustered and blush frequently.

In the beginning of this book the mood is just so charged and electric, almost tangible. Ana and Christian are not together and even though I have seen what Christian is capable of, it just didn't seem right that these two were not together. It was so heartbreaking and tearful to watch but they soon realized that even in their "fucked up" ways they still love each other. But, being together with a man that has so many deep dark secrets is no easy feat for Ana. Christian has had such a dark past which has lead to extreme sexual preferences, fear of being touched (haphephobia), and the need to control everything around him.

As they work through their relationship both Ana and Christian are constantly being challenged not only by their evolving emotions but also by Christian's exes. Ana has not only constantly questions her adequacy and ability to please Christian but also to their compatibility. "Am I enough for him?","Am I the right person for him?" are the questions that frequently pop in her head after encountering two of Christian's exes. One, an ex dom/sub which is closely tied to him by business and the other obsessed and mentally unstable.

Trying to work through all their  hurtles we get to see a totally different side of both Ana and Christian. We get to see Christian's more softer, fun, loving side and Ana's more daring, sexy, brave side. Their interactions have so much chemistry and connection. I often got lost in the story and had to step back to remind myself that these are fictional characters.

I think the thing that has drawn me most to these books is the realistic view of a romantic relationship. You can not simply explain why or how you fall in love but it is what it is. And if you truly love them you will accept them as they are and work hard to make it work. Compromise is the key.
 
Passionate, addicting, and so dam sexy...Fifty Shades Darker leaves you intrigued and panting for more.
Quote
"You make me look at the world differently, Anastasia. You  don't want me for my money. You give me...hope," he says softly.
****
"Dear Completely & Utterly Smitten
I love waking up to you, too. But I love being in bed with you and in elevators and on pianos and billiards tables and boats and desks and showers and bathtubes and stange wooden crosses with shackles and four-post beds with red satin sheets and boathouses and childhood bedrooms.
Yours
Sex Mad and Insatiable xx"
****
"My fate is in your hands, Ana."
Other Books in the Series
Now Available               Coming Jan.19th

Links
Recommended by
Yara @ Once Upon A Twilight

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

My POV: Fifty Shades of Grey

Gener: Erotica, Suspence, Thriller
ebook, 356 pages
Published May 26th 2011 by The Writer's Coffee Shop Publishing House 
When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her - but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.

Can their relationship transcend physical passion? Will Ana find it in herself to submit to the self-indulgent Master? And if she does, will she still love what she finds? --Goodreads
Sex-o-meter: 
Drug-o-meter:
Rating:

My POV
This book was provocative beyond my measures. My head is still spinning from so many emotions running wild through my mind and heart. This book is definitely not for the faint of hearts because some really hard core subjects are tackled throughout this story. It was with both trepidation and exhilaration that I experience this unexpected and overwhelming relationship between Ana and Christian.

Anastasia "Ana" Steele is a college senior, days away from graduating with a degree. She's is hoping for a career in publishing and living life as plainly as possible. I don't want you to think that she is boring because her personality if far from it but she leads a common life. With common hopes and dreams but she is not interested in or looking to start a romantic relationship with anyone.

Christian Grey is extremely handsome and very young for being such a successful entrepreneur. He is CEO of Grey enterprises Holding Inc. Like Ana he is not looking for any kind of romantic relationship. With an extravagant lifestyle and successful business he is considered to be quite the catch.

As these two are brought together by circumstance it amazes both of them how enthralled they are by each other. It doesn't take long for them to realize that they want a life together but the crux of this matter is not easily fixed. Not only do they lead extremely different lives but their views on  relationships and the expectations and desires of the relationships are leagues apart. Wanting to try and see how things can work out between them they try to compromise. But this is easier said then done when the darkness of Christian's past start to unfolding and his secret desires start to take her to dark and twisted places.

One of the best things about this book (for me) was all the references to one of my all time favorite classic books Tess of the d'Urberville by Thomas Hardy. The other thing I loved were the emails between Ana and Christian. They were so much fun to read and I couldn't help smile, giggle and even blush while reading along. This book is overwhelmingly passionate and sexy. One of the best romance-suspese-erotica's I've read to date.

Quote
""Why didn't you tell me there was danger? Why didn't you warn me?" "Ladies know what to guard against, because they read novels that tell them of these tricks.. --Tess of the d'Urbervilles" 
****
"I've never sleep with anyone, never had sex in my bed, never flown a girl in Charlie Tango, never introduced a woman to my mother. What are you doing to me?" His eyes burn, their intensity takes my breath away.
****
"He wants me, but the truth is, I need more. I want him to want me like I want him, and deep down I know that's not possible."

Other Books in the Series
 Available Now                Coming Jan. 19th

Links

Recommended by
Yara @ Once Upon A Twilight

 

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Dreaming of Books Giveaway Hop

This hop is hosted by Kathy at I Am a Reader, Not a Writer and co hosted by Reviews by Martha's BookshelfMany bloggers are participating in this giveaway event and we are all linked together so that you may hop from one blog to the next (links are below).  So get comfy and flex your fingers because you're about to work your little digits off entering some great giveaways.
Good Luck Everyone!


What I have up for grabs this time fits in perfectly with the theme of this hop. In Falling In Between Jenna Baker does a lot of dreaming. Dreaming about a boy name Chance. I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this book for the blog tour and now I want to share it with you. My 4 start review and interview are coming soon so keep an eye out for it. Now, head on down to enter the giveaway.

What is up for grabs....
ARC of 
Release date February 14, 2012
Finally! A private conversation. And all I had to do was throw myself off a cliff, drown in a pond in my undies and let him put his hands on my breasts to bring me back to life. Yay me…(yeah, that’s sarcasm)

Yep, that pretty much sums up the most craptastic night of Jenna Baker’s life. She drowns after jumping off a cliff, meets a hotty named Chance in the pearlescent in-between and is brought back to life by her soon-to-be boyfriend Robert.

Just when things start to move forward with Robert, the guy she'd been crushing on for a year now, in walks the man of her dreams – literally. Chance suddenly appears in her dream every time she closes her eyes. So it's Robert by day and Chance by night. One in the real world and one in the dream world. What could possibly go wrong?

Absolutely nothing – until she comes face to face with the guy she met in the in-between, and realizes her romantic rendezvous with Chance may be more than just her imagination.

Note: Jenna's coming of age story is a little edgy. There is mild language and some sexual content.



Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Blog Tour: My POV Fractrue by Megan Miranda

YA paranormal suspense thriller
Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: January 17th 2012 by Walker & Company
Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine
-despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

For fans of best-sellers like Before I Fall and If I Stay, this is a fascinating and heart-rending story about love and friendship and the fine line between life and death.--Goodreads

Sex-o-meter:
Drug-o-meter:
Rating:

My POV
This is one fantastically frustrating, heart retching, hair pulling, teeth gnashing, heart racing book. I loved and hated it. Well mostly Decker. Not the book itself. I'm mean I guess I don't really hate him either I just find him extremely frustrating. And I can't completely blame him for not taking the leap first but from Delaney's point of view he did her wrong lots of times. I think it could have all been settled way before her fall if he would have had more faith in her.

Ok so you are probably wondering WTHeck is Trini talking about. Well let me give you a quick run down of this book. Laney and Decker are best friends and neighbors. Have been so for years. Since elementary.  Well, they are now all grown up and in high school. So their perception of each other has changed a little. And even more so ever since Laney fooled around with Carson, Deckers friend. Ever since then things have been a little awkward between her and Decker . Then she has a fatal accident. This changes so many things in Laney’s life. After coming out of her coma the major change she experiences is the ability to since death. The other is the relationships she has with her mother and more frustrating with Decker.

   Let me start with the relationship with her mom, which I felt, was heartbreaking to read. You can since that her mother loves her very much. There is no question about that. What is bothersome is the lost of faith and doubt that comes along with all the changes since the accident. At one point she grieves for the lost of Delaney even though she is still alive and right in the next room. Her morning is for the lost of the child she use to know. How Laney used to be. It was really hard not to cry in that scene because Laney becomes so lonely and her despair is so deep. 

 In regards to Decker, I did see the devotion from him in the beginning but it just all seemed to go away once she was back and "different". I mean who wouldn't be different after a death experience. Ya she's not the old Delaney that never talked back or got in trouble. But she was still Delaney and she need him more than ever. The fact that he would just leave her to recover all on her own when they have been best friends forever because of his pride is just plain unforgivable. For me anyway. I would definitely hold a grudge for a while. And again it's not all his fault. I have to admit. Things just happen, circumstance just wont let life be easy. There are a lot of things at work throughout this book that just work against them and their  relationship is not the only things going on in this story.

After dying, coming back to life then being in a coma Delaney has gained the ability to since death. This subject is what kept me glued to the pages because like Uncle Ben told Peter Parker “With great power, come great responsibility.”  First let me say that is was a heart racing journey to get to the point where Laney figures out that she has this ability. Second, she meets a hot mysterious guy, Troy, who is totally drawn to her. Since it seems that she is on her own with no one to talk to about her ability she turns to the person who is now her only friend, Troy. Having so much on her mind after a couple of close calls in regards to being found out and being caught at the scenes of some untimely deaths she starts to ask her self what should she do with her ability and poses the question  “If you had one day left to live, what would you do?”

 I think the hardest parts to read were when she felt the loneliest. When her mom treats her like a stranger, Decker has moved on to other friends, and Troy turns out to be ,well I don't want to give everything away but not who she thinks he is. I love that this book make you think about life, death and the perception of hell.

Meagan's writing is amazing. The falling through the ice scene was torture and my heart was racing. I would say this book is more of a suspense, thriller with a touch of romance. This was a great read and I wish there would be a sequel since it ends with a great beginning but I was told this is a stand alone=( To get an inside look into Decker's mind make sure to read Eleven Minutes (link below). It will give you some insight to what was going on in his head when Delaney fell through the ice.

Quote
“ I tried to tell you before. I thought it would help to know. You can’t save them. This is hell.”
************************
“A cut. That’s what I felt. Words can cut, slice, like a razor.” 
************************
"If you had one day left to live, what would you do?" 
************************
"There is always hope."

Links

Monday, January 9, 2012

My POV: Bleeding Hearts by Alyandra Harvey

Paperback, 347 pages
Published December 20th 2011 by Walker Books for Young Readers 

As vampires from all over the world descend on the Drake farm for the Blood Moon gathering, security is ramped up. Lucy has been temporarily banned, for her own safety—and to allow Solange some time to adjust to her new existence. But their enemies realize how much Lucy means to the family, and plan to abduct her to use her for leverage against the new royal family. Instead, Lucy’s cousin Christabel is kidnapped by mistake—and Connor Drake immediately heads off in pursuit, but isn’t in time to prevent Christabel’s infection by the Hel Blar. He can’t save her human life, but he can still try to save her new vampire life, and is willing to put his own life on the line for the girl he has grown to care so much about. Can he save Christabel, the Blood Moon, and his mother’s newly forged Vampire Alliance?--Goodreads

Sex-o-meter:
Rating: 

My POV
God how I've missed these books! This is one of my favorite series and this book took a while for me to get to for a number of reasons but I finally got to it. YA! And Just like all the rest of the stories in this series, Conner and Christabel's story was FUN, sexy, and down right addicting. 

In this book we get to see how Conner (one of the seven Drake brothers) falls for Lucy's cousin  Christa and how she goes from being totally clueless about vampires to being more like the Drake family than Lucy by the end of the book. I was all smiles when I could see that Connor was interested in Christa but was having a bit of insecurity problems because he is not like his very flirtatious twin brother Quin. Connor is more of a self reserve, comic books reading, Sci-Fi loving vampire who happens to be EXTREMLY HOT. The thing is Christa claims she only goes for bad boys and Connor clearly is not. Well not in the way she thinks anyway but he is clearly perfect for her. I say this because she is a poetry/reading junkie who can spout lines from Coleridge's and Shelly's work like nobody's business.

You also get to see a ton of Lucy And Nick (my fav characters) and the rest of the family. It was so much fun watching them be together and seeing how things are progressing. But in this book you actually find out that The Drake family has pushed Lucy away a little. Its really heartbreaking to see Lucy get all lonely when they have decided to ignore her or leave her out of things "for her own safety" of course because she grew up with all of them and has never been apart from them very long. Now everything has changed. Especially Sol. She really suprised me in this book because she is so different. I can't wait to read the next book to see WTHeck is up with her.

Once you read one of The Drake Chronicle books you will want so much more. If your looking for something fun and action packed to read make sure and pick up a book from this series.

Quote
“Solange and all her irritating brothers could get themselves kiled without me. I deserved to be part of their clandestine plans. I'd earned it. And I was sure they'd need a human touch at some point. And if they asked Hunter to help instead of me, I'd stake every last one of them myself. 
****
“Her eyes went so wide they nearly bulged. It was probably wrong of me to find that amusing. Or to want to take a photo of Nicholas with his fangs out and wearing a black cape lined with red satin and then hang it over my pillow in a heart- shaped frame.”
Other Books in the Series
Links