Thursday, May 31, 2012

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Now available!! GIO by Elizabeth Reyes

IT'S FINALLY HERE!!! 
If you are a seasoned follower of mine you know what a HUGE fan of Elizabeth Reyes I am and I'm so HAPPY, happy, happy to announce that Gio (book two of the 5th Street series) is now available for download at B&N and Amazon (soon). If you haven't read the first book well you are in luck. Noah is only .99 cent right now!! Hurry and get a copy! 

When tragedy strikes in the ring, Giovanni Bravo falls into a deep depression, walking away from his dream of boxing to train instead. He agrees to a two month get-away, helping train Felix Sanchez, his high school best friend and now welterweight champ of the world. Once at Felix’s lavish boxing complex, he’s reunited with Bianca Rubio, someone he remembers only as the girl with the innocent doe eyes back in high school. Her refreshing, cheerful demeanor not only takes Gio’s mind off his troubled conscience, he finds himself falling for her fast and hard. The problem—Bianca is Felix’s girlfriend.

Having a sexy, famous boyfriend has its perks, but they come with a price. Bianca not only has to deal with the ongoing tabloid rumors about her boyfriend hooking with other women, but also his constant absence when he is on the road. So now that Felix will be in town for two whole months to train for his next big bout, Bianca is thrilled. He’s even asked her to move into his cabin while he's there. But when he leaves for days at a time to promote his fight, Bianca spends time getting to know Felix’s gorgeous new trainer and good friend, Gio. Increasingly drawn to his sweet smile and smoldering green eyes, she finds herself saying and doing things she normally wouldn’t.

As it becomes more and more difficult for each to resist the other, Gio crosses the line between them. He hopes that one kiss will alleviate the overwhelming temptation and clear both their systems, but it does just the opposite. Their temptation suddenly becomes an obsession—a dangerous obsession that can only lead to heartache—for everyone.--Goodreads

 Links

Monday, May 21, 2012

Blog Tour: Author Interview with Stefne Miller


Author Interview
If you had to choose between your books which one would you most like to see up on the big screen? Collision. The story line combined with the scenery and insight into current events would make it a great movie.

Is there something about yourself that most people would be surprised to know?   
That moment in church when the pastor tells everyone to stand and greet people is the most anxiety filled few minutes of my life. I usually act like I’m looking for something in my purse. I’m great in crowds but one on one with people I don’t know, freaks me out.

What do you think about the Collision’s book cover?
 Love it. I didn’t know  if they’d be able to find a way to get Cabot and his two worlds into one cover but they found a way to do it without showing too much of us face – which lets readers picture him how they want.

What would you say was your greatest influence while writing Collision?
 My time spent in Uganda. Most of Cabot’s first hand experiences were taken directly from the journal I kept during my visit to Gulu. I loved the country and its people so much that I wanted to tell their story but in a way that would educate and give a great story at the same time.

If you had a day to spend with your characters what would you do?
 I’d spend a day with them at Joy House (the orphanage mentioned in the book)

Where have you found inspiration for your stories?   
Every book, although very different, has stemmed from a personal experience and the lesson that I learned from that experience.

Have you had an idea for one of your characters that you really wanted to put in your book but it just didn’t work out so you had to delete it? 
 That has happened a lot. I come up with what I think are great scene ideas but as I get to know my characters more, I realize that it isn’t something that my character would actually do. I save those scenes and hope to use them in future books.

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Blog Tour: My POV of Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker

Hardcover, 240 pages
Expected publication: May 22nd 2012 by Bloomsbury USA 
Sophomore year broke Clementine Williams’ heart. She fell for her best friend’s boyfriend and long story short: he’s excused, but Clem is vilified and she heads into summer with zero social life. Enter her parents’ plan to spend the summer on their sailboat. Normally the idea of being stuck on a tiny boat with her parents and little sister would make Clem break out in hives, but floating away sounds pretty good right now. Then she meets James at one of their first stops along the river. He and his dad are sailing for the summer and he’s just the distraction Clem needs. Can he break down Clem’s walls and heal her broken heart? Told in alternating chapters that chronicle the year that broke Clem’s heart and the summer that healed it, Unbreak My Heart is a wonderful dual love story that fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Susane Colasanti will flock to.--Goodreads


Rating:

My POV
What a great summer read! Emotional yet fun, Melissa Walker takes us on a journey through a teens first true heartache. Our main character is Clem (short for Clementine)and we get to see her work out a very difficult predicament. She has lost her best friend over a boy right before she is to leave on a summer long sailing trip with both her parents and ten year old sister.

While on her family trip she is cut off from the world and has only her thoughts and books to occupy her mind. Feeling guilty and depressed she can't shake the feeling that she is a horrible person and deserves all her misery. Then comes James. A red headed hottie that makes her laugh and forget about the tragic events back home. He is also sailing for the summer. They meet up every chance they get at each port but when he finds out what exactly happened back home with Clem and her best friend he can't help but have second thoughts about their relationship especially because she is not the only one with problems back home.

As realization hits her that she is not the only one trying to get through some difficult times she starts to let go of her guilt a little. She then becomes aware that everyone makes mistakes but life goes on and you deal with them the best way you can. That is part of life.

Cute, fun and heart warming, Unbreak My Heart is a wonderful summer read with solid characters and real life issues. Like with most books I read I wish there was a little more. I would have like to see her return to school and see how it worked out with all her "friends." Either way it still ended well especially since James and her plan on seeing more of each other.

Quote
"What am I doing? What is he doing? It's not even like we were alone-everyone was right there. I know I'm a bad friend. I know I'm doing something terrible. I just don't know hot to stop."
***
"It's almost like you have to hear it out loud, even from yourself, to realize it's not what you think. It's just what you think you think. Maybe because other people would thing that way or something. Right?"
***
" I let a little laugh escape me then, and James pulled me in for a more kissing. I know they say laughter's the best medicine, but kissing? It's definitely also Top 5."


Thursday, May 17, 2012

Love In Bloom Giveaway Hop

Featuring Lighthearted/Contemporary Young Adult Romance
& Sweet, Clean Adult Romance

What is up for grabs.. 
#1
and 
#2


Hop on over to the next blog...

Introducing Brandi Peel!! and an ARC Giveaway!

Say Hello to A Book Lovers Review's new review member!!
Brandi Peel

I’m so happy and excited to add Brandi on to the ABLR team!!  It has taken me a while to decide on whether or not to add team members to the blog but when Brandi mentioned that she would like to start reviewing I jumped at the opportunity. Not only do I consider her a great addition to the team because she is a reliable kindred book enthusiast but I now consider myself lucky to call her a friend. Thanks Brandi for being so wonderful!!

I thought the best way to introduce Brandi to all of you is by having her do an interview for the blog. So enjoy her answers and help me welcome her to the world of book blogging!

Interview

If you could be any character from a book who would you be and why?
I would be Rose from Vampire Academy, not only is she beautiful and strong, but she can kick some serious butt!  Also there is the fact that she has Dmitri.  I also love Sophie from the Hex Hall series, her smart mouth and snarky wit crack me up.

Which genre do you tend to love and which do you tend to stay away from?
I'm a sucker for a good love story. A book doesn't have to be a romance per se, it just has to have an element of love to it. I stay away from non-fiction, I read enough non-fiction during my college days to last a lifetime. Make believe is way more fun!! A girl can never have too many kissy scenes!

Which authors and their books/series do you love?
There are so many! Of course, first and foremost I'm a Twihard. I'm such a big Twilight fan I made the pilgrimage that thousands of others fans have made to Forks, Port Angeles and La Push beach. Aaahhh...La Push beach, what was I saying???  I'm also a big fan of the following series: Vampire Academy, Hex Hall, Paranormalcy and the Lux series.

What book hottie would you pick as your book boyfriend? Why?
I have to be very careful how I answer this question, I am a happily married woman, after all *cough* and my hubbie will be reading this. After some serious thought and debate on my part, of course, because no one's better than the hubbie *snicker* It would have to be Daemon from Jennifer L. Armentrout's Lux series. He's dangerous and a real jerk. I alternate between loving him and hating him. It's quite exhausting, just like real life! 

Book cover love..give us a title for one of your favorites?
Belle Whittington's Cicada is not only a gorgeous story and one of my favorite's it has a gorgeous cover too! Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins, it's very enticing. I would buy the book, without even reading the synopsis, just based on the cover. Also, Touch by Jus Accardo, take a look at it yourself, and you won't need to ask my why I love it!

Do you have a favorite place you like to read?
I can and will read anytime, anyplace, anywhere. I am NEVER without something to read. I carry books with me everywhere, whether it be a paper book, my kindle or my kindle phone app.  

Which author would love to meet that you haven't met yet?
Duh, Stephanie Meyer of course! I do realize with how famous she is now, that might not happen. Another author I'm dying to meet is Myra McEntire, author of Hourglass and Timepiece. I follow her on Facebook and Twitter and she seems like an amazing woman! She has a wonderful sense of humor and I love that. She claims she would love to come to Texas, but I'm still waiting. 

Since we go to many book signings..what book signing was your most memorable?
Rachel Hawkins without a doubt. It was fast, but it was one of the best moments of my life! I was the first in line at TLA to meet her, I stood there nervous, possibly sweating, (I said possibly!), wondering if I could think of something intelligent and insightful to say to Ms. Hawkins. Something that would convey to her how much I loved the Hex Hall series, something different that wasn't like every other boring thing that every other fan says. Also, as possibly the oldest person standing in the line, I had to think of something credible to say. When she walked up, all I could do is stare in wonder with my mouth open. Anyone who knows me, knows that I'm NEVER incapable of speech. I sputtered for a minute and to her credit she smiled and was so patient. To tell you the truth I'm not sure what I said, I blabbed on incessantly and squealed like a school girl. It was quite embarrassing and wonderful at the same time. 

Do you like stand alone novels are series?
This is a hard question to answer. Part of me loves series because you get so much more story than with a stand alone. You have the potential for a lot of things to happen and you get to spend longer with the characters. The part of me that hates series is that wait and anticipation waiting for the next book to come out. Sometimes, I find it quite painful.

Name a book that you wish never ended?
Everyone that I read!

****
In the spirit of celebration we are giving away
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Blog Tour: My POV While He Was Away by Karen Schrek

Paperback, 256 pages
Expected publication: May 1st 2012 by Sourcebooks Fire 
"This is just something I have to do, okay?" I hear David say. "The right thing."

He cradles my face in his hands. He kisses me hard. Then he lets go of me. His eyes dart from me to whatever's next.


All she wants is for him to stay. She's been doing pretty well, pretending he doesn't have to go. But one day, after one last night to remember, she wakes up and there's no denying it anymore. He's gone.

When Penna Weaver's boyfriend goes off to Iraq, she's left facing life without him. As summer sets in, Penna tries to distract herself with work and her art, but the not knowing is slowly driving her crazy. Especially when David stops writing.

She knows in her heart he will come home. But will he be the same boy she fell in love with?
--Goodreads

Rating:

My POV
If you are looking for a happily ever after ending this is not for you. I do not want to discourage you from reading this book at all with this first statement because this is a story worth reading. But what you will get is a reality check. This is about the reality of having a loved one in the armed forces far away in a war zone. It’s about love, life and holding on the best way we can in our own situations whether its in a war zone or back at home dealing with the longing of him or her to come back home safely.

Penna is young and in love with David who has enlisted in the to be a soldier. Life has just began for these two and they couldn’t be more in love but when David leaves for his station in Iraq their relationship begins to slowly unravel.  The things that David experiences over seas will change anyone. The longer he's away the more distant he gets with Penna. She doesn’t know what to do but she know she loves him absolutely. Even with David being so uncommunicative and distant Penna finds comfort in helping him with his goal to provide the orphans of Iraq with necessities ,supplies and gifts.  This is how she feels she can help him through such a hard time even after he has made an incomprehensible decision concerning there relationship.

The reason for 3.5 stars is that I loved the situation and emotion behind this book but I felt that it dragged in the beginning a bit. Also, there were a few times when I lost connection with the story when I didn't understand what was trying to be conveyed in a passage. Other than that it was an emotional read that had me hopefully to the very end. As this book came to an end I found myself panicking. "This can not be it!" I shouted to the book. There has to be more! I have to see what happens next! I will definitely do the happy dance if a sequel or companion book comes out.

Quote
"This is just something I have to do, okay?" I heard David say. "Something for me. Something for our country." He looks over Beau's shoulder at me. "The right thing."
***
"All these guys have been getting these Dear John letters. Some of the girls here are getting them too. Dear Janes."
"Weird. I don't know that many Johns. Or Janes." My laughter sounded like crying. "They all must be in the army."
David doesn't laugh. "Guess you don't know what a Dear John letter is."
"I guess I don't."..
"It's a break-up letter" he says."
"What does that have to do with us?'..." I only write Dear David letters."

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Tuesday Teaser!!




TEASER
"Thank you," I murmured, breathing in his scent, allowing myself to experience the full brunt of the Aidan effect.  "God, you smell so good."  
"Better than Dr. Hottie?" Aidan asked huskily, one hand pressed into the small of my back, steadying me.
"Way better," I shot back, before I'd thought better of it. (MIRAGE ARC, page 65)


Proud to be apart of

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Blog Tour: Character Interview with Nick and Zara of Endure by Carrie Jones

NICK: So, I'm supposed to interview you.
ZARA: Yep! 
NICK:
ZARA:
NICK:
ZARA: You sort of have to talk to interview me, Nick.
NICK:
ZARA:
NICK:
ZARA: Seriously, am I that bad?
NICK: You just smell so... pixie....
ZARA (sighing): Well, go in the living room and I will stay in the kitchen and we can shout at each other.
NICK: Good call.
ZARA: Any better?!!
NICK: Yeah! 
ZARA: 
NICK:
ZARA: Nick, you have to ask a question. The Book Lover Review people are going to get annoyed.
NICK: I'm trying to think of something.
ZARA: I could ask you a question.
NICK: Hell no! 
ZARA: You're just afraid of what I'd ask.
NICK: Absolutely... Hold on... Hold on... Um, what is it like to be a pixie?
ZARA: Weid. It's -- um -- it's like feeling everything more deeply. Smells have colors. Emotions feel like you can grab them and bounce them on the floor. And being near steel and metal stings or burns. I get a lot of headaches.
NICK: What about weres?
ZARA: What about them?
NICK: Do you want to kill them?
ZARA; NO!!!
NICK:
ZARA: I am not lying.
NICK: What about people? 
ZARA: I don't want to eat them either. 
NICK: Good.... good... Well, I guess that's it.
ZARA: That's it? Don't you want to know what it was like missing you, or rescuing you, or what it's like not having you ever talk to me? Don't you want to know how much it hurts that you are all the way in the living room because I smell bad to you? What about those questions, Nick? Don't you want to know them?
NICK: Not really. 
ZARA: !!!!
NICK: 
***
Thank you Bloomsbury for asking us to participate in this tour!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Blog Tour: MY POV of Collision by Stefne Miller


Paperback, 333 pages
Expected publication: March 13th 2012
Seven minutes inside a hotel room with a complete stranger. A friendly greeting where we pretend to know each other well and are genuinely happy to see each other; then straight to business. None of it meaningful. None of it real. All of it rehearsed, choreographed, and expected.

My life isn’t my own anymore. I pretty much go wherever I’m told and put on the show. It’s my life and whether I chose it or not, it’s the life I’ve got. It’s the world I live in.

And, I’m searching. Always searching… I just don’t know what for.
---
Cab Stone has it all—fame, fortune and the adoration of millions of women across the globe. When the constant attention from fans and expectations from his handlers becomes too much, he escapes the craziness of press junkets and movie sets and escapes to Asheville, North Carolina to hide away for the summer.

He expects peace, quiet, and solitude. What he doesn’t expect is to meet a fiery redhead who changes everything he knows about the world.

The daughter of missionaries, Kei Sallee lives a life of service to others. She has little, expects less, and helps heal the hearts of thousands in Uganda, where she grew up. When she finds herself staying in the same guesthouse as Cab Stone, she vows to ignore his Greek god good looks and spend the summer as she had planned—in peace, quiet, and solitude.

Cab and Kei’s lives couldn’t be more different…or more the same.

Despite, or perhaps because of, their vastly different yet startlingly similar backgrounds, Cab and Kei strike up an unlikely friendship that could possibly blossom into something more. But Kei fears that the truth about her past will prevent pretty-boy Cab, who is used to getting everything he wants, from fully committing to her.

When two completely different worlds experience a Collision, can they exist as one?
--Goodreads

Rating: 

My POV
Wow! I'm speechless. So many emotions going through me with this ending I can’t put them all into words.

There were two things that kept me glued to these pages. One was the relationship between Kei and Cabot. It was amazing and so hopeful. It left me wanting more at the end of each chapter. Second, the dialog between these two is so much fun to read I was grinning ear to ear with each word.

Cabot and Kei have such different lives. One a movie star and one a saint...well ok she's a missionary in Africa. You would never think that these two could make relationship work or that it could work out for them but they are willing to try. Surprisingly, Cabot is willing to try more so then Kei because she is wary. She views her self as a person undeserving of anyone’s love and affections because of the things she has been through. She’s terrified of getting romantically involved with anyone but Cabot works his way into her into her comfort zone slowly and desperately. Their journey to happily ever after is beautiful and one I will not forget.

Collision was a VERY emotional read! All the things these two characters experience together and how they change as individuals is wonderful to see. This is a very romantic story with very real and serious subjects. The ending was so unexpected and I‘m sure it will always render me speechless when I talk about this book with others. This book was funny, romantic and devastatingly beautiful! This is one of my best reads of 2012!

Quote
"We're worlds apart, you and me."
***
"I realized that you've made so many promisies to me but I haven't made any back. So my promises are to give you my love and hope."

Links

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday: Mirage by Kristi Cook



Seventeen-year-old Violet McKenna is back for her senior year at Winterhaven, and thrilled to be with Aidan after a long summer apart. But when a violent and disturbing vision begins to haunt her, Violet suddenly feels unsure of everything: who to trust, if she is in danger, and—worst of all—whether she and Aidan are really meant to be together.--Goodreads



Hardcover, 384 pages
Expected publication: June 5th 2012
 by Simon Pulse 
Proud to be part of

Blog Tour: Notes to Self Guest Post with Reno


This or That with Reno

  1. Gators bite or Turtle Soup     Turtle Soup
  2. Swim with the dolphins or wrestle with alligators    Swim with the dolphins
  3. Theme parks or Water Parks      Theme parks
  4. Pool or Beach        Beach
  5. Ice Cream or Snow Cones     Ice cream
  6. Trunks or Speedos        Trunks
  7. Sand dollar or Shark Tooth     Shark Tooth
  8. Money or Love        Love
  9. House Party or Club        House Party
  10. Camping at the river or a day at the beach     Camping at the river
  11. Air boat ride or River Rafting      River Rafting
  12. Ignorant is Bliss or  The Hard Truth     The Hard Truth

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays!!


 

TEASER
"I must have dropped the barrier around my thoughts then, because I heard the sharp intake of his breath, felt his fingers dig into my hips as he dragged me backward, pinning me against the wall in the blink of an eye."  (MIRAGE ARC, page 36)


Proud to be apart of

My POV: First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky and HAPPY RELEASE DAY!

HAPPY RELEASE DAY!!
Hardcover, 224 pages
Expected publication: May 8th 2012 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 

 Like his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl always searching for what’s next, seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving and besides, opposites attract.

What starts as friendship, turns into admiration, respect and caring, until finally these two lone souls find they are truly in love with each other.

But staying in love is not as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they’re going to have to work at it. And learn that sometimes love means having to say you’re sorry.--Goodreads

Rating:   

My POV
What a beautiful love story! Gray and Dylan will forever be in my Love Story Hall of Fame.

Meeting at a community college in Arizona they never thought they would end up in any kind of relationship. Gray and Dylan are polar opposites. Dylan is awkward and artistic but very comfortable in her own skin with an enthusiastic out look on life. Gray is in a very dark place in the beginning of the book. Depressed, moody, distant, and confused he's lost his enthusiasm for life because he has lost someone extremely close to him. Preferring not to share anything about himself he’s closed himself off to the world. He never talks to anyone or never smiles and I guess you could say that curiosity is what drew Dylan to him at first. She knows it will be hard to get Gray to open up but she likes a challenge and has tons of patients and understanding . She never let's anything get her down.

The chemistry between these two is undeniable and beautiful. Dylan is such a free spirit you will lover her right away. She so positive and upbeat you can’t help but adore her. Grays devotions is refreshing and surprising it makes me love him so much. Dylan says she loves everyone freely without regard or hesitation but she's no fool. She knows Gray is someone special. Someone that means more to her than anyone else ever has.

Guys you have to read this book. It’s so good and fun you will regret missing out if you don‘t. Wonderful characters, a passionate relationship and a one great story. Pick it up today! It’s now available
Quote
"You know you love someone when he makes all the ordinary moments feel extraordinary. When doing absolutely nothing feels like everything. Gray assumed he wasn't enough. And what I didn't admit, what I didn't realize at the time, is that it's just the opposite. He was too much."


Monday, May 7, 2012

Blog Tour: When He Was Away Author Guest Post

Karen Schreck

When I'm Not Writing

When I am not writing, I am writing.  By this I mean that I also work as a freelance copywriter, doing advertising, magazine, script, and public relations work.  (Everything feeds the fire, write?  I mean, right?)  Also, when I’m not writing, I’m often reading . . . and I believe that reading is a kind of writing, since I’m often voicing my internal opinions in a kind of coversation with the book in my hands and the author.

And in addition to all this, I’m the mom of two kids I adore, and the husband of the photographer, Greg Schreck (also adored by me).  In various combinations with these people and my friends, I love to:  watch movies, go to museums, plays, and dance programs, travel, eat good food, do yoga, get exercise—if I had my preference, I’d go cross country skiing, bicycling, or do Zumba to accomplish this—and shop in thrift stores.  I have a particular passion for beaches and hammocks, too.  I guess that’s what comes from enduring so many Chicago winters.