Friday, June 29, 2012

Mid-Year Reads Givaway

Mid-Year Reads Giveaway features any 4 or 5 star rated books that have been release between January and June of this year. This Giveaway is hosted by
Good Choice Reading.
So far this year I have read 55 books and I'm happy to say that I have loved most of them. This is the result of many good recommendations from fellow bloggers and friends.
When chatting about the books I've read this year the one question that I can not simply answer is
 "What has been your favorite book to read this year?"
That is such a loaded question which has so many different answers depending on so many different things.
 The one thing I seek most in a book is the intensity and passion between two characters. Once I have that in a story I'm absolutely obsessed. That being said here are some books that have the intensity and passion that I'm looking for...


Beau and Swayer Vincent will melt your heart in this book. Hot characters. Addictive story. I would literally do anything to get another book staring these two boys. This book should really be called 
The Dreamy Brothers ;)
“When I'm with you, my world is complete. When I touch you, I understand the meaning of life. When I lost you, I completely shattered. You. Own. Me.”

*****
Gio oh meo! He's a lover and a fighter. The best of both world if you ask me. Caught between doing the right thing and following his heart Gio's is losing his mind. He's never been in this kind of desperate situation before and sometimes you can't help who you fall in love with. Sometimes it's just meant to be. 
“The connection he felt with her at that moment was mind-boggling. "No regrets," he whispered.

It was more of a statement than a question but she responded with a smile, shook her head and repeated the two words he'd just spoken with as much conviction as he felt. "No regrets."
*****
There really is something about a man in uniform that is so yummy and Travis is one mighty fine soldier. The relationship between him and Harper is something I dream about still. It was fun, exciting and oh so dramatic. I'm not satisfied with just one book...I want and need so much more!
"I came over last night," she says. "You were sleeping with her, and all your clothes were on, and...you love her."
*****
Devastatingly beautiful and so, so memorable! Sometimes love just falls into your lap but it seems that this relationship was doomed from the start. Trying to find middle ground was not simple with these two having such loaded pasts but somehow they made it work. This is a fairytale love story about hope, love, and triumph.

"I realized that you've made so many promises to me but I haven't made any back. So my promises are to give you my love and hope."
*****
Not even the Gods could have stop me from reading this book! Forbidden romance, a fated relationship and bad-ass characters.. how can you NOT love this series.  The tension, passion, and love between all these characters keep me glued to these pages and desperately wanting more!
“You know what?” His breath was warm against my cheek. “There are a lot of stupid things to do, but I really want to do the stupidest thing possible.”

“What’s that?”

“I want to kiss you.”
*****
Speechless! I experience ever single emotion know to man throughout this journey. I have a love/hate relationship with the characters in this book. This is story you a must read to truly understand how it has affected me. This book should come with a warning label that reads "Read at your own risk! You may lose some hair and many many nights of sleep by the conclusion of this book!"
“What if it's as simple as one moment? One tiny thing, like that kiss on the rocks? What if I'd kissed him a little longer? Would he be alive right now? Or what if I'd stayed with him Friday night, what if I'd been with him… wherever he was?”
*****
Ok.. What can I say about Kaylee, Nash and Tod...really? I mean holy tension Batman! This has been one of my all time favorite series to read and I can definitely say that I just can't get enough!
“I love you, Kaylee. More than I've ever loved anyone. More than I will ever love anyone. If I could freeze this moment in time and never have to let you go, I would do it without a second thought.” 

The Giveaway!
I have decided to giveaway one eBook Bundle which includes The Vincent Brothers and Gio, One Before I Wake signed by Rachel Vincent and One book of your choice. Three different winners! Just fill out the Rafflecopter below to enter the giveaway.
GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!
 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour My POV: The Girl Is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines

Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: July 3rd 2012 by Roaring Brook Press

Iris Anderson finds out the real story behind her mother's suicide in this fast-paced follow-up to The Girl is Murder.

Iris Anderson and her father have finally come to an understanding. Iris is allowed to help out at her Pop's detective agency as long as she follows his rules and learns from his technique. But when Iris uncovers details about her mother's supposed suicide, suddenly Iris is thrown headfirst into her most intense and personal case yet.--Goodreads


Rating:

My POV
EVERYBODY’S A SUSPECT!! Haha. This book was so much fun to read. Every time Iris was questioning someone or mulling over situations in her head I was like “It’s him/her!!” It was like playing a round of Clue.

In this second book, The Girl is Trouble, Iris has a busy life while going to high school and working for her father. Her detective training is going well and life seems to be settling down a little after solving the disappearance case of a fellow student. But things don’t last that way very long.
 
In this book Iris is dealing with two mysteries. The first one is; someone is threatening the Jewish Student Federation group at her school. Second and more life shattering is her mothers death.

As for the first Michael is the president of the Jewish Student Federation at P.S.110 (that’s the school name). He knows Iris is working for her dad so he approaches her with a job. Someone is slipping threatening notes into the members lockers and they want to know who it is before things escalate. This case needs more attention then Iris can give at the moment so she reluctantly accepts help from Pearl, Iris’ awkward best friend and former JSF member.

And for the second and more devastating. After dinner one night Iris finds her fathers safe unlocked and being the inquisitive person she is she couldn’t help but take a look inside. Iris is not prepared for what she finds inside. She locates the means to unravel her whole world. She finds evidence about a devastating secret. The truth about her mothers death. After her initial shock there was only one thing on her mind. The one thing she’s been working so hard to get better at. Investigate.

This books was so fun because it turned everyone into a suspect. I couldn’t figure it out and it had me thinking about everyone’s possible motive. I didn’t mention him before but he is one big reason I enjoyed this book so much. Benny. He’s got eyes for Iris and she got the hots for him. She can’t help but be enthralled with his handsome face and bad boy ways. This was an adventurous read with great twist and turns. If Iris has anymore adventures left in her I will definitely be picking up the next book. I’m crossing my finger because I want so much more! 

Other Books in the Series

Links


Thursday, June 28, 2012

My POV:The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published July 19th 2011 by Roaring Brook Press 
Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars.

It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.--Goodreads
Rating:   

My POV
The Girl is Murder is an intriguing mystery about a clever young woman who decides to take matters into her own hands in order to figure out what happen to a boy who goes missing at her new school. This story takes place in the 1940’s.  I have always been fascinated by different time periods of American history and this was a fun glimpse into the swing ear.

Our main character is Iris. A fifteen year old girl who’s life is chaotic since she has 1) lost her mother, the only person she depended on when her father was off in the war. 2) Her Pop has returned from Peal Harbor missing a leg and suffering from PTSD. 3) She’s dealing with the transition of moving from the Upper Eastside to the Lower Eastside since money has become a issue. 4) Tom, her fellow student has gone missing and  5) hanging out with the Rainbow’s is not good for anyone’s reputation especially not hers. 

Iris has an natural eye for detective work. This talent seems to run in the family seeing as both her uncle Adam and father Art excel in that same line of work. When she finds out that her father is hired to solve the missing student case she wants to help. She sees that she may be able to get inside information if she finds a way to make friends with the Rainbows. The group of scrappy kids that Tom hung out with. So she takes a chance and steps up to the task but integrating herself to this rowdy group. Expect her father dose not approve of both her helping him and her hanging out with such a bad crowd.  Determine to help her father solve this mystery she doesn‘t let anything get in her way.

Once we get down to the nitty gritty and the root of the mystery it was shocking and frustrating that some one can be so heartless. This book had my wheels spinning the whole time. It was an exciting read with an awesome setting. I’m ready to jump into the next book and see what adventure Iris has in store us!

Next Books in the Series

Links



Tuesday, June 26, 2012

My POV: Endure by Carrie Jones

Hardcover, 262 pages
Published May 8th 2012 by Bloomsbury USA 
Zara is at the center of an all-out war, and an impending apocalypse. True, she’s successfully rescued Nick from Valhalla, but it simply isn’t enough. Bedford is being ravaged by evil pixies and they need much more than one great warrior; they need an army. Zara isn’t sure what her role is anymore. She’s not just fighting for her friends, she’s also a pixie queen. And to align her team of pixies with the humans she loves will be one of her greatest battles yet. Especially since she can’t even reconcile her growing feelings for her pixie king…Unexpected turns, surprising revelations, and one utterly satisfying romantic finale make Endure a thrilling end to this series of bestsellers.--Goodreads
  
Rating:
Sex-o-meter:

My POV
The fourth and final installment of Carrie Jones’ series finds the now pixie Zara and her friends fighting to stop world annihilation. Readers of Entice know that Zara sacrificed everything for her love of Nick and became a pixie. Well as luck would have it, Nick hates nothing more in the world than pixies. This book was very difficult for me to read and finish. I have been waiting months for the finale of this series to be released. I will say that my lack of enthusiasm has nothing to do with poor plotting or writing. My displeasure is purely personal. Ms. Jones is a phenomenal story teller and writer and this book is no exception. My personal issues came because I didn’t like where the story was going and what was happening between two certain characters. As I continued to read, I kept hoping that my suspicions would not be confirmed, but they were. However, I respect the fact that this is Ms. Jones’ story to tell and she told it the way she felt it needed to be told. A warning to would be readers, you must read the first three books of the series to fully appreciate Endure. This book had a lot of action and introduced some new characters, but don’t worry you get to spend a lot time with the old ones. The supporting characters continue to steal the show and I absolutely adore them.  Everyone should have friends like these. I really like how much Zara grew throughout the series and how strong she became. So much happens in this book and it’s so intense that I often found myself feeling sorry for poor Zara. I mean there is only so much a person, or I should say, a pixie can take! Though I didn’t agree with some of the story developments, Ms. Jones ties the story up well. Overall, this was an excellent series that should not be missed by anyone who loves a good story full of action, intensity, angst, romance and humor.

Quote
“Zara had a hunch,” Betty says. “She’s like that. Cop gut on that one. She’s all instincts.”

I smile to myself. I like how Astley’s people are my people now too, and even though they know I have total goofball tendencies, they still have faith in me.

“It’s adorable in a rustic-place-where-we’re-going-to-die way, “ Issie says.
 
Other Books in the Series
 


Monday, June 25, 2012

COVER REVEAL!!: Fate by Elizabeth Reyes


HERE IT IS!! Elizabeth's most anticipated series yet. 
If you are familiar with Elizabeth's Moreno Brother Series then you know that she left us wanting so much more of Vincent and Rose in the last book. Well, here is the book we are waiting to get are eager little hands on. It's the first book in the Moreno Brothers spinoff series.
I'm so loving this cover and can't wait to see what's in store for these two!
If you haven't read any of the Moreno Brother Series you must drop whatever you are reading now and catch up on one of the most intense and passionate series I've ever read.

How they met..
This is a scene from Making You Mine which is Sal and Grace's story and the last book of the Moreno Brother Series. Grace and her sister Rose are seated at a table, at a baby shower held at one of the brothers homes that Sal invited them to.
****
They finally settled at their own table. No sooner had they sat than more family members arrived and sat at he same table with them. Sal introduced them as his aunt and uncle and their sixteen-year-old son Vincent, whom he referred to as Vinnie, from La Puente. They'd driven more than two hours to make the shower.
Sal walked away to fetch them all drinks. Rose leaned into her. "They hired waiters for a baby shower?"
"They hire waiters for everything," Vincent said, with a smirk. "My aunt's known for outdoing everyone in the family with her parties." 
His mom gave him a look and he rolled his eyes.
He has both Grace and Rose's attention. He resembled Sal and his brothers in many ways, except there was an edge about him. Grace noticed the tattoo of a skull and bones and works she couldn't quite make out, on his forearm and this boy was only sixteen? "We've never attended any of the Moreno's parties."
He chuckled. "Well, if you 're with Sal now, get used to it. It's like this every time." 
"Where is La Puente?" Rose asked.
"About a half hour before Los Angeles. Ever been to the L.A. county fair?"
Rose shook her head.
"Oh, well it's near there."
Sal arrived with a tray of lemonades for Grace, Rose and his aunt, then handed a beer to his uncle and soda to Vincent. "Where's my beer?"
"You're funny Vin," Sal said, sitting down next to Grace. 
Vincent continued talking to Rose while Sal pointed out more of his family to Grace, laughing at some o f the anecdotes her told her about each one. "We'll go in and see the babies in a little. Valerie and Sofie were changing them just now."
"I can hardly wait." Grace squeezed his hand.
Both Sal and Grace turned when she noticed Rose and Vincent stand up. "Vincent is going to show me the koi pond on the other side of the house."
Sal eyed his cousin. "Best behavior Vin. I mean it."
"You know me."
"Yeah, that's why I'm worried." Sal frowned as they walked away.
***** 

Want to read more? The Moreno Brother Series is available on 

Friday, June 22, 2012

My POV: One Moment by Kristina McBride

Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: June 26th 2012 by EgmontUSA 
 This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

The latest novel from the author of The Tension of Opposites, One Moment is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you.--Goodreads
Rating:   

My POV
This is the most emotional story I’ve read this year! It was so emotionally draining but so totally worth the headaches and puffy eyes at the end. Death is a very touchy subject for me to begin with and I'm sure it is the same with many other people but I'm the type were I can't even attend funerals. This subject makes me extremely uncomfortable and I try to avoid it at all cost. Well I couldn’t avoid it with this book and I’m glad I could handle this fictional death at home in private.

So this story starts off with a devastating blow to my emotional well being and just kept coming up with whole new ways to blow my mind. It left me speechless and breathless many times through out its journey. Every time I think back on this story it leaves me scrambling for words in order to describe how I feel about it. I find it impossible to define this crazy whirlwind of a story in just one sentence. It takes a number of hand gestures with an array of facial expressions and a lot of deep breathes to fully explain this story.

The one thing that has me so flustered is Joey. Boy has he gotten under my skin and exhausted all of my emotions while I have been trying to make since of his actions. I find it hard to get over  Joey’s “issues”. I mean I just keep asking WHY? Why? why? because I’m the type of person who needs to know. I both loved and hated Joey.  I loved the perception of Joey that we saw through Maggie’s eyes but hated the other.  Yes I’m being intentionally vague and I’m sorry but you must read the book to find out why. I don’t want to spoil it for everyone.

The great thing about Maggie and her friends is that they are not one dimensional characters. They have flaws and make mistakes which makes them feel real and believable. We get to see the story come alive through Maggie’s eyes and I couldn’t help but feel sympathetic to everything that she went through. From the very beginning you can tell how much Maggie loves Joey. It’s overwhelming and intense and sometimes that kind of love can make you blind to others and to the world around you. She goes through so much and handles things as well as could be expected but I was very impressed by her by the end of this book. 

They say “Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.“ and that is basically where this book ends. There are so many things I want to say about this book but I really don’t want to spoil it for any one. This is a journey you have to experience for yourself  to completely understand how devastatingly   wonderful it is.

Quote
"He never deserved you, Maggie. It was always supposed to be me."
***
"You crushed me, Joey." I took a deep breath. Swiped at the tears that had begun to fall. " You crushed me into a million pieces. First by dying. Then with all of your lies. I feel like I don't even know who you are anymore."

Links
Facebook 
Website 

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Blog Tour: One Moment Author Guest Post


Kristina McBride

Author Word Associations
  What is the first thing that comes to mind for each word/phrase:

  1. MemorableTimes with my husband, children, and girlfriends. Being with family is what life is all about.
  2. Night – Sleep. Unless I’m brainstorming a new book and the characters are keeping me up.
  3. Delicious – Chocolate (yum)
  4. Fun – Concerts! Dave Matthews Band is my fave. But I’m DYING to see Mumford & Sons!
  5. Hysterical – The things my children sometimes say, like the other day when I was helping my 6-year-old daughter clean her room and she tripped over the water bottle I’d left on the floor, looked over her shoulder, and said, “Mom, can you please pick up after yourself?”
  6. Unbearable – Waiting! And it’s SUCH a huge part of this publishing business!
  7. Refreshing – Ice water
  8. Delightful Hearing from my agent or editor that I nailed a draft or revision. Nothing. Better. (Except maybe news of a new sale!)
  9. ScaryParanormal Activity – I, II, or III
  10. Adore - My children. My husband. My friends.
  11. BrokenThe rear window in my car. Not good going into summer!
  12. StrongMy husband (and I’m referring to more than muscle strength here).
  13. Secret – Now, I can’t tell you one of those!
  14. Taboo – Milk with pizza.
  15. Never again...will I spend a day without listening to music.
  16. While it’s fresh on your mindwrite. It. Down!
  17. Before you forgetwrite. It. Down!
  18. One moment...is all it takes for your entire world to change.

Friday, June 15, 2012

Blog Tour: My POV of Transcendence by C. J. Omololu


Hardcover, 336 pages
Published June 5th 2012 by Walker & Company 
 When a visit to the Tower of London triggers an overwhelmingly real vision of a beheading that occurred centuries before, Cole Ryan fears she is losing her mind. A mysterious boy, Griffon Hall, comes to her aid, but the intensity of their immediate connection seems to open the floodgate of memories even wider.
As their feelings grow, Griffon reveals their common bond as members of the Akhet—an elite group of people who can remember past lives and use their collected wisdom for the good of the world. But not all Akhet are altruistic, and a rogue is after Cole to avenge their shared past. Now in extreme danger, Cole must piece together clues from many lifetimes. What she finds could ruin her chance at a future with Griffon, but risking his love may be the only way to save them both.
Full of danger, romance, and intrigue, Transcendence breathes new life into a perpetually fascinating question: What would you do with another life to live?--Goodreads
 Rating: 

My POV
Transcendence is the first book of a new series. When starting this book I was excited about the premise. The book is well written and flows nicely. I’m giving the book a three because I had a hard time getting into the story because it starts off and stays slow through the first half of the book. Cole and Griffon were both likeable characters. However, Griffon was a little too perfect for me. I prefer the bad boys! My favorite character in the book was Cole’s sister, Kat. Kat was the most flawed and though she didn’t have a really large part in the book she seemed to come alive and pop right off the page. Ms. Omololu does a great job of describing the Akhet and the history behind them, etc. She doesn’t bog the reader down in confusing details.  Ms. Omololu also does a fantastic job of writing the scenes where Cole has flashbacks of her past lives.  I also have to give her props for coming up the fresh and new idea of writing a YA novel about reincarnation. There is also a twist at the end of the story, that you may or may not see coming.  If you’re looking for something different, you might want to give Transcendence a try. The sequel is set to come out in June 2013
Quote
“Nice meeting you, Griffon,” Veronique says as she passes him on the stairs. He nods, but says nothing. She seems totally clueless. She must just think he’s an ass. 
*****************************************************
“What about cockroaches?”
He raises his eyebrows and looks at me. “Cockroaches?”
“Yeah. Like, I’d hate to come back as a cockroach or a snail. A bird might be okay.” 

Other Books in the Series
Fated
Coming 2013

Links




Thursday, June 14, 2012

Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop

Hosted by Kathy @ I Am A Reader Not A Writer blog.

So I'm back from BEA and have so much to share with you all but first I want to giveaway some books that have been sitting on my shelves for a little while. I have two boxes of ARCs to up for grabs for a total of 18 books. This may be my biggest giveaway yet!

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!

Prize Box #1

Prize Box #2
The Harper Box
Don't forget to hop on over to the other giveaways!!
a Rafflecopter giveaway