Friday, August 31, 2012

Blog Tour: Stitch by Samantha Durante


Stitch by Samantha Durante Blog Tour
Full tour schedule, banners, and other info available here

Insights from Isaac: An Interview Between the Stars of Stitch

Alessa: Hey guys – Alessa from Stitch here, along with the other star of the book, Isaac.

Isaac: Hi everybody.

Alessa: The past few weeks on the Stitch Blog Tour, there’ve been a lot of readers asking for more
about Isaac, so I’m here today to conduct a quick interview to help you get to know him and the
world we come from a bit better. We’ll start with an easy one – you ready, Isaac?

Isaac: Ready as I’ll ever be, Less.

Alessa: Okay, here we go. Question number one: what makes our relationship special and unique?

Isaac: Whoa! That’s an easy one??

Alessa: (one eyebrow raised intently, waiting patiently)

Isaac: (sighs) You love to keep things interesting, don’t you?

Alessa: (smiles, still waiting)

Isaac: Alright. What makes our relationship special? Well, for one thing, even though I think we’re
both pretty independent people, I feel like we really depend on each other, and as a result, the bond
between us runs deeper than you see in a lot of young relationships. Like our love goes way beyond
infatuation and love at first sight and all that stuff.

Alessa: (nods approvingly) And why do you think that?

Isaac: Well, I think it’s because we started out as friends first, and we were friends for a very long
time before we became involved romantically. I don’t want to spoil anything from the story for
readers, but the basic background is that we shared a great loss that affected us both very strongly,
and given our situation, we didn’t really have anyone else we could talk to about it. So you were
always the person I turned to when I felt alone or scared, and also when I wanted to celebrate a
successful mission or just talk about the future. So before we were ever in a relationship, I really
depended on you to be there for me.

Alessa: (nods) I felt the same. You were always there for me, through everything, and I felt like you
were the only person who could really understand what I was going through. Even though you were
a couple years younger than me. (laughs)

Isaac: (rolls his eyes playfully) You love to remind me of that, don’t you?

Alessa: Hey, it’s not about the number – it’s about what we’ve been through together. (smiles)

Isaac: (grins) Yeah, exactly. We just… we’re both dealing with a lot from our pasts and a lot of
challenges in the present too, and after a while, it just almost felt like you were part of me. Like
if something happened that I wanted to share with you and I couldn’t talk to you right then for
whatever reason, it was like half my brain was shut off or something, like my right half couldn’t
connect with my left. I never feel right anymore unless you’re around. (grabs her hand)

Alessa: Yeah, same here. I guess I almost think of you as my best friend first, even before my
boyfriend. “Boyfriend” just doesn’t seem like a strong enough word to describe our relationship.

Isaac: Agreed.

Alessa: Though that’s not to say there’s not physical chemistry between us.

Isaac: (smiles wickedly) That’s for sure. (pulls Alessa into his arms and plants a long, steamy kiss on
her lips)

Alessa: (eventually reluctantly withdraws from the kiss) You are so inappropriate.

Isaac: (smiles wider) You love it.

Alessa: (laughs him off and sits up) Okay, next question. What is it about the world we come from
that makes it unique from other dystopian settings?

Isaac: Seriously, Less? What about, what’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Or favorite sport?

Alessa: Well you can answers those too, if you’d like.

Isaac: (thinks for a moment) Chocolate, and soccer.

Alessa: Okay, great. Now answer my question. How is our world different?

Isaac: Hmm, well in my opinion, I think the big thing that it comes down to is that our world isn’t
done yet.

Alessa: What do you mean by that?

Isaac: I mean that in most dystopian stories, you come in and everything’s all set up already –
usually there’s some glossed over backstory of how the society came about, there are neat rules in
place about how things work, and everyone who lives there seems to be bought in and accepting of
the way things work. In our world, things are just… a mess.

Alessa: How so?

Isaac: So first off, we live in a new society. This is not some place that has been around for a 100
years following some war and everything is all established. When we were kids, things for us were
pretty damn close to the way they are for readers now. We actually lived through the war – and
through the end of life as we knew it – and it’s only in the past few years that we even realized that
we were even living in what one might call a dystopian society. As far as we and everyone else living
in our compound knew, we thought we were just surviving, still recovering from the effects of the
outbreak and figuring out how to move forward.

Alessa: But that’s not really what was going on.

Isaac: No, not at all. Well, we were still recovering from the war and the outbreak, but we didn’t
know that there was a set of people behind the scenes guiding that recovery and manipulating it to
their liking. And that they still hadn’t quite figured out what the rules should be going forward.

Alessa: So how does that impact our daily lives?

Isaac: Well, basically, it means that they’re making mistakes, and we’re suffering the consequences.
As they try to figure out the best way to make their grand scheme work, we’re the guinea pigs.
Hence the entire plot of Stitch.

Alessa: Okay perfect – let’s stop there before we give too much more away.

Isaac: Okay. Yeah. The short answer is that this is a different kind of world than what readers
have seen before. You guys are just going to have to read the book to find out how!

Alessa: And there are PLENTY of more details coming in book two, including the full breakdown
of how our world ended up so messed up, after starting out just like yours.

Isaac: I can’t wait for book two… In the meantime, I hope this answers some of your questions
about me and Alessa. Stick with the tour to learn more! You can find the full schedule here
looking forward to seeing you guys again soon.

Monday, August 27, 2012

Their Promise by Brina Courtnry

Kindle Edition, 1
Expected publication: August 27th 2012 by Laurelis Press 
YA Contemporary Novella
One moment can change your life.
One moment to find love.
One moment to lose it.

Links
Brina's Twitter
Like her on Facebook Page
Brina's Website



Sunday, August 26, 2012

The Pledge by Gwynneth White EXCERPT TWO

EXCERPT TWO: Meet Jared and Sophia . . .

Jared nodded at Sophia and Kezeah without any sign of recognition. With two

of his Pledged up front and two at their rear, he marched them down the corridor to a

flight of stairs. Once at the bottom, he ducked beneath an archway, opening onto to a

gloomy, narrow tunnel. Erin, never keen on dark, claustrophobic spaces, took a deep

breath and paused.

“C’mon,” Seth said. “The sooner we walk through it, the quicker we get to the

other side.”

“What happens if what’s on the other side is even worse?”

“Then you’ll know for sure that the dead guys are leading this expedition,”

Seth said, wanting to deny the painful burning in his heart that reconnected him with a

cursed Jared. He grabbed Erin’s arm and pulled her into the passage.

They’d taken no more than two tentative steps along the uneven floor when

Sophia stopped. “Commander, I am not walking through this snake-hole!”

Jared turned back to look at her. With none of the fear or diffidence Erin and

Seth expected from a boy with limited to exposure to girls – especially beautiful ones

– he answered, “Of course, my lady. You’re from Norin, where I understand you live

in grass huts.” He gave a sardonic smile. “But don’t despair, you’ll soon get used

to bricks. Even our own Outcasts have learnt not to flinch at the sight of them.” He

continued down the passage.

Seth’s mouth dropped at Jared’s rudeness; this was so foreign to the Jared he

had seen just moments ago in his vision. It just added to his anger at Reuel’s Curse.

The Pledged at Sophia’s rear prodded her back; she gave him a fierce look and

started walking.

For Seth and Sophia, both taller than Erin and Kezeah, negotiating the

tortuous twists and turns of the tunnel was no easy matter. Stooping, cursing each

time they bumped their heads on the rough ceiling, they struggled after Jared, but he

kept up the merciless pace until they reached a dark staircase.

Her temper now as short as her breath, Sophia stopped walking and locked

her arms across her chest. “Having just cracked my skull open, you now expect me to

scramble up those treacherous stairs too. No doubt hoping I’ll fall and break my neck.

Well, forget it. I’m not moving.”

“Sophia!” Kezeah whispered, jabbing her in the ribs as she stepped gingerly

onto the first narrow step.

Sophia ignored her. “Only savages and rats live in places like this.”

Jared’s eyes narrowed. “Savages and rats, you say, my lady?”

Sophia set her face into a cold stare, locking her hypnotic blue eyes on his.

He surprised her by holding her gaze. “I hate to disappoint you, my lady, but

Lord Rustus, Lord of the Household, under the direction of the Overlord himself, has

chosen your apartment. Surely you don’t question their judgment in this matter?”

“As a matter of fact, I do.”

“In that case, I’ll gladly pass on your concerns. If that’s what you really

want.”

“Enough, Sophia. This isn’t a fight you can win.” Sophia’s Guardian had

joined them.
Links
Goodreads

  These excerpts are issued by Swallow Press for use by bloggers participating

in launch and blog tour of Pledged by Gwynneth White. Any queries can be

addressed to Andrew at sethanderin@swallowpress.com

Monday, August 20, 2012

The Pledge by Gwynneth White EXCERPT ONE


EXCERPT ONE: Meet Seth and Erin . . .

Despite the heat, Seth felt icy. Dread could do that to him. Or so he had recently

discovered. Deep breathing usually calmed him, so he sucked in a lungful of desert air

and told himself to relax. It didn’t help. By the time he’d walked from the aircraft to

the immigration hall he’d ripped off a jagged piece of thumbnail, already bitten raw.

He handed his US passport to the Botswanan border official, and, after a frown, and a

stamp, he joined the crowd at the baggage carousel. Botswana in southern Africa was

the last place on earth he’d ever have picked for a holiday destination. But he wasn’t

here on holiday. Not even close.

His backpack was slow in coming. Tired from his long-haul flight from New

York, he leaned against the wall and closed his eyes. Almost as if to mock him, the

hated vision that had brought him to Botswana burst into his mind. In an instant he

was back in ancient times, watching a man he knew only as Gideon. As usual, Gideon

was huddled on a windswept hill with his band of hopeless soldiers, waiting to be

slaughtered by a huge army gathered in the valley below.

Seth snapped his eyes open to stop the battle from waging in his mind. It

wasn’t that he was particularly squeamish; he’d watched enough movies to iron clad

his stomach against gory visuals. But no movie had ever left him icy with dread the

way Gideon’s battle did. And the reason for that was simple. The moment the visions

had started, he had known that the war, fought so long ago in a place he’d never heard

of, was far from over. And, as reluctant as he was, he too was being enlisted to fight

in a cause he didn’t understand or want.

He forced himself to focus on the present: Erin, who waited for him in

the arrivals hall; his brother Kyle, whom he’d come to Botswana to visit; Kyle’s

expedition to find the Lost City of the Kalahari . . .

He ripped off another piece of fingernail. Thinking about the search for the

Lost City was almost as bad as the war-vision. I hope Kyle never finds the damned

place. He slapped his hand on his thigh. Enough! Grabbing his backpack off the

carousel, he set his face into a smile and strode into the arrivals hall.

The first hurdle was finding Erin. She was due to arrive an hour earlier on a

flight from Cape Town in South Africa, one of Botswana’s neighbours. He’d never

met her, although they had spoken over the phone once. Then she’d described herself

as “a short, seventeen-year-old (a year younger than him) with a mass of ginger hair.”

She’d sounded nice. Meeting her was the one ray of brightness in this otherwise dark

picture.

He stopped to scan the crowd. A petite girl with shoulder length, reddish-

blonde curls, dressed in skinny jeans and a purple blouse, immediately caught his

eye. It had to be Erin. Nice legs. What’s it with girls that they always under-sell

themselves? He studied her face with his artist’s eye. Vermeer would’ve killed to

paint her. Suddenly wishing he didn’t look so grimy after his three plane-changes,

he walked over to join her. “Hi, I’m Seth. You’ve got to be Erin. My brother’s just

married your sister Izzy.”

“And after only knowing each other for about a week.”

Her dimpled grin was infectious, making him crack his trademark crooked

smile. “Madness.”

“Mysterious.” Erin cocked her head to one side, seemingly appraising him.

He knew he had been accurate when he’d told her he was tall and dark-haired. But

what he had failed to mention was what girls had often said they liked about him: his

strong, angular face, softened by expressive brown eyes. He watched her eyes rove

over his grey Muse: Resistance t-shirt, taking in his broad shoulders and chest. From

there they darted down his black camo-pants to his boots. Amused by her blatant

assessment, he cocked his head to one side, watching her. Suddenly Erin giggled –

was she embarrassed? – and picked up her bag.

“We’ve yet another plane to catch. My fourth in the last twenty-four hours,”

Seth said, hoping to explain away his rumpled appearance. “To a place called Maun.”

“So we do. Let the adventure begin.”


Links

These excerpts are issued by Swallow Press for use by bloggers participating

in launch and blog tour of Pledged by Gwynneth White. Any queries can be

addressed to Andrew at sethanderin@swallowpress.com

Sunday, August 19, 2012

The White Rabbit Chronicles Website!


Ok so if you haven't heard yet Gena Showalter has a YA Series coming out and the first book
ALICE IN ZOMBIELAND
 will be released September 25th 2012. 
This is one book I'm extremely excited about and what has me barely sitting in my chair with even more excitement is the website. You have to check it out! I was reading the character profiles and I have to say I'm hooked. Go take a look and tell me what you thing?


Hardcover, 404 pages
Expected publication: September 25th 2012 by Harlequin Teen 
 
She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….


I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I'd tell my sister no.
I'd never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I'd zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I'd hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I'd tell them I love them.
I wish... Yeah, I wish.

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Blog Tour:My POV of Beautuful Disaster by Jamie McGuire and a GIVEAWAY!

Paperback, 432 pages
Published August 14th 2012 by Atria Books (first published May 26th 2011) 
 
The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.--Goodreads
 

 
Audio Book Rating:
Published July 2012 by Simon and Schuster Audio 
Read by: Emma Galvin
This edition: Unabridged Compact Disk, 10 disks
Hear an Excerpt from the Audiobook

I have read this book at least four times and I still get the warm and fuzzies each time. This time around I got the honor of reviewing the audio book for Simon & Schuster. Although there are tiny additions and changes to the story it was just as wonderful and intoxicating
I don’t listen to many audio books because I’d rather have the story in my own voice but I couldn’t turn away from this opportunity. With reading the book several times before listening to the audio version I had the advantage of seeing if the reader, Emma Galvin would live up to my expectations and she did. She did a great job. I was totally hooked into the story again. She picked up the intensity when it called for it, slowed it down when it didn’t. Voiced the characters perfectly and passionately. The flow of words were smooth and I could picture the story unfold in my head as she read them. It was wonderful. Another plus was that it was sort of a relief to rest my eye for at least ten hours. All I had to do was plug in my ear buds and close my eyes. I felt like a princess;)
As for my review of the story itself look below…  

Story Rating:
 Sex-o-meter:
Drug-o-meter:

MyPOV
Wow this book was CRAZY good!! Extremely addicting. An absolute MUST read. I devoured this book with in a day and couldn’t get thought it fast enough.

Abby Abernathy would like to leave her old life behind but it seems that no matter how far she runs or what she does it seem to catch up with her. Trying to live a “normal” life she moves away with her best friend America to attend Eastern University together. Life seems to be going as planned until Abby catches the eye of the unattainable Travis Maddox.

She wants absolutely nothing to do with him but he is relentless in his pursuit to get to know her better. At first I think he is simply curious about her resistance to his charms but his interest in her soon becomes much more then curiosity. After getting to know her he regards her with respect and love which is totally different to how he regards all the other women throwing themselves at him. Abby and him become best friends and he is totally into her but she is persistent in her resolution of staying away from the life that Travis leads. She just doesn’t see how a future with him will work out when he earns money from his underground fights in the Circle .

I did find my self a little scared at times with how obsessed and possessive Travis gets with Abby but I can understand that this is the first time he actually wants to be with someone longer than one night and not knowing how to handle what he feels. Through out the book he struggles to deal with his strong emotions towards Abby and he gets himself under control a little better closer to the end.

There are tons of fun and crazy parts in the book as the story unfolds but the scenes where Abby and Travis are “together” are truly unforgettable.  The way they feel about each other is epic, wonderful and extremely passionate. This is one romance you don’t want to miss out on.

This is one of the craziest, sexiest and most exciting romances I have read, EVER! My heart races just thinking about it. If you are a fan of Abbi Glines, Elizabeth Reyes, or Simone Elkeles you will LOVE Jamie McGuire.
Quote
“I’ve been drinking, all right. Your skin was three inches from my face, and you’re beautiful, and you smell fucking awesome when you sweat. I kissed you! I’m sorry! Get over yourself!”
***
“ I know were fucked up, all right? I’m impulsive, and hot-tempered and you get under my skin like no one else. You act like you hate me one minute, and then you need me the next. I never get anything right, and I don’t deserve you…..but I fucking love you, Abby. I love you more then I’ve loved anyone or anything, ever. When you’re around, I don’t need booze, or money, or the fighting, or the one night stands…all I need is you. You’re all I think about. You’re all I dream about. You’re all I want.”
***
Travis-”You love me?”
Abby- “It’s the tattoos.” I shrugged.

Links
 (Release 4/16/13)
GIVEAWAY!! 
This giveaway is sponsored by Atria Books | Simon & Schuster!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 17, 2012

Cover Reveal: Perception by Lee Strauss

Expected publication: September 12th 2012 by ESB Publishing 

Seventeen year old Zoe Vanderveen is a GAP—a genetically altered person. She lives in the security of a walled city on prime water-front property along side other equally beautiful people with extended life spans.

Her brother Liam is missing.

Noah Brody is a natural who lives on the outside. He leads protests against the GAPs and detests the widening chasm they’ve created between those who have and those who don’t. He doesn’t like girls like Zoe and he has good reason not to like her specifically.

Zoe’s carefree life takes a traumatic turn.  She’s in trouble and it turns out that Noah, the last guy on earth she should trust, is the only one who can help her.--Goodreads

 Elle Strauss books.com
  Lee Strauss Facebook Page

First Chapter
 PERCEPTION
by
Lee Strauss

PART ONE
ZOE

Chapter 1

I balanced on my surfboard, right thigh burning and salt water stinging my eyes, while
the best wave of the early morning carried me like a goddess on a pedestal to shore. My older
brother Liam and I shared a friendly competition, and it gave me a certain, blissful satisfaction to
catch the same wave and to get to shore first.
“Beat ya!” I shouted over the noise of the crashing surf.
Seagulls flocked and circled over us, squawking loudly, adding to the cacophony.
The sun glistened off Liam’s damp blond curls as he shook them out. His eyes sparkled as
his lips tugged up into a grin. “I let you win.”
“Did not!” I smacked him playfully on the arm. “One more ride?”
Liam unzipped his wetsuit letting the top half fall down past his waist. He was in fine form,
and I understood why all the girls raved about him. He was responsible for a long list of broken
hearts.
“I gotta get going,” he said, lifting his board.
I fell into stride beside him, my feet sinking into the cold, wet sand. “So soon?”
He nodded, the glint leaving his eyes. My lips tightened into a frown “You’re taking off
with Jackson again?”
Jackson was my boyfriend but lately he’d been spending more time with my brother than
he had with me. It was starting to tick me off.
Liam stared straight ahead. “Lab stuff.”
“What are you working on?” I rushed to keep up with my brother’s long, strong strides. He
flicked his head, tossing the hair out of his eyes but didn’t answer.
“Come on,” I knocked into him sideways. “Tell me!”
“It’s just stuff.”
“Just stuff? Like what? Top CIA stuff? I know you’re smart but I think the government has
been doing a good job without your help.”
I meant it as a joke, but Liam huffed. “It’s just stuff, okay? So leave it.”
I stopped short shocked that he’d snapped at me.
He turned around and exhaled, “Zoe, I’m sorry.”
“Fine. If you can’t tell me, you can’t tell me.”

We resumed our trek along the beach, and I pushed back my frustration. Liam used to
include me in everything. It was always him and me against everyone else. Him and me against
Alison and Paul, aka our mom and dad. Him and me against the surf. We were a team. When did
we start keeping secrets from each other? Rather, when did he start keeping secrets from me?
I re-adjusted my board under my arm. Maybe I could get Jackson to unzip his lips.
Especially if I helped him. He could be easily persuaded if I poured on the charm. I hated to go
behind my brother’s back for information, but something about all this--this, whatever it was that
Liam was doing--made me uneasy. I couldn’t pinpoint why, it just did.
We reached our home, a massive glass box with two floors of windows facing the Pacific
Ocean. It was built after the San Andreas Fault shifted and triggered the Big Quake that, along
with the subsequent tsunami, wiped out ten miles of shoreline.
A nearby white-stucco storage shed housed all our water toys. We stopped there to hang up
our wetsuits to dry.
“Thanks for surfing with me today.” Liam said, smiling at me, back to his jovial self. “I
know it was a sacrifice for you to get up so early.”
I smiled in return. “No problem. It was fun.” Surfing with Liam was one of my most
favorite things to do.
“You’re back for dinner?” I asked.
Liam didn’t know it, but once he left, I’d be spending the rest of the day preparing for
his surprise birthday party. He’d turned twenty-one yesterday and had celebrated at a bar with
his friends. I couldn’t go because I was underage, and it irked me that Jackson went and that he
and Liam had once again shared a significant moment without me. I took consolation in the fact
that Alison and Paul gave me free reign to plan this party. My heart beat with excitement, and I
couldn’t wait to see his face when he got home and found the house full of his friends.
“Yeah, I’ll be there,” he answered.
I bit my cheek to keep my voice even. “Good.We’ll see you, then.”
Our property tiered twice before connecting with the sandy beach. Three glass doors slid
open disappearing into the corner and creating a wall-less view of the stone patio that encased an
eternity pool. Its waters slipped over the far edge into a waterfall that was collected again on the
second tier.
Liam strode into the house, through the living room and down the hall to his bedroom at
the back, his wet shorts dripping on the glossy white tiles.
I tightened the towel around my waist and climbed the open-slat staircase to my room.
As I passed the maid, Saundra something, her brown face blanched. She stumbled slightly
before grabbing the rail and catching herself.
“Excuse me,” she said softly at my astonished look.
The woman really didn’t look well, and I was thankful for my enhanced immunization. I
was glad I didn’t have to worry about diseases brought in from the outside.
“Are you okay?” I asked.

She nodded weakly, and proceeded to clean the rails. I’d requested extra staff to get the
house ready for Liam’s party.

A trill of anticipation reclaimed my thoughts. I couldn’t wait for tonight.
The door beside my bathroom opened into a second room, a walk-in closet big enough to
house another bedroom set. Racks of clothes and shoes lined the walls, a well-lit mirror station
was located near the sky light and a cushioned leather bench was placed in the middle for sitting.
I stood in my closet and stared at the rows of sundresses, blouses and shorts.
What to wear?
I settled on a lace blouse and cotton shorts, then went to take a luxurious shower, rinsing
the sea water out of my long, blond hair. I leaned into the built-in seat that was designed
specifically for my body height and shape. Laser lights mapped my head and twenty-eight silicon
fingers reached out to massage my scalp while shampooing and conditioning my hair. Most days
I had to watch or I’d doze off, but today I was excited. I commanded the water to turn off as soon
as the rinse was done.
When I was dressed and my hair combed out and tied back, I slipped my platinum
Communication Ring onto my left middle finger. I tapped it which produced a holographic
image of my phone apps on my palm. I touched the clock icon and holographic digital numbers
appeared in the air.
Ten already? Where did the time go? That was the thing with summer holidays; every hour
ran languidly into the next.
I imagined the cook and her crew were busy preparing for the party in the kitchen. I’d
requested fresh sea food and simulated roast, fresh fruit and vegetables, an assortment of fancy
chocolates and baked items plus a three-tiered, surfer-themed birthday cake.
I skipped down the stairs to check on the progress, but in my hurry to the kitchen, I
slammed into a body.
“Sorry,” a male voice said.
I stepped back agitated. I recognized the dark-haired boy wearing the white tunic my
mother made the male staff wear. He was the maid’s son and I guessed he was part of the extra
staff. He held a wet mop in his hand, and I figured he’d been cleaning up Liam’s spotty water
trail.
He stepped politely out of the way, but the expression on his face was stoic. Even though
he was clearly from the outside and the help, I still expected some small sign that what he saw
when he viewed me was pleasing. A twinkle in the eye, a slight upturning of the lips. These were
the responses I got from all the boys. The straight ones, anyway.
He wasn't especially attractive but I didn't see people with his appearance very often. He
had eyes the color of imported coffee beans and skin like caramel candy. His nose was wide and
his jaw-line sharp. I was suddenly intrigued by him and surprised myself by thinking he looked
exotic.
“Excuse me, what was your name again?” I asked.

“Noah.”
Right. I remembered now. I waited for him to say something, but he stayed quiet.
Footsteps echoed from the hall above. My parents spoke together, their muffled voices
floating across the high ceilings.
“Do other maids send their sons to do their work?” Alison's voice had a brassy tone that
carried through the cavernous space.
I felt a flare of red creep up my neck when I realized Alison was talking about Noah. My
eyes darted to his, but he kept his averted.
“He does a good job,” Paul responded. “That's the main thing. Besides you know they need
the money.”
“So we're charity now?”
“What's wrong with a little charity? Besides, they're not just anybody.”
“I don't care. I still don't trust him.”
I was mortified. My feet felt cemented to the floor and I didn’t know what to say. Anything
would come off as trite since nothing I could say could undo what Noah had heard.
“Did you know the Pikes have a household robot now?” Alison, again. “Apparently it’s
very efficient, and at least Mary doesn’t have to worry about things going missing.”
Noah’s jaw tightened and he turned his back to me. He attacked Liam’s dried and dusty
water spots aggressively and soon had disappeared around the corner.
“Zoe?” Alison click-clacked down the wooden stairs. She wore a pale yellow pant suit and
high heels even though it was Saturday. She was in-between careers now, having spent the last
fifteen years in law. She barely looked thirty years old and with lots of time ahead of her, she
could do anything. Probably several things.
“Mom! You have to keep your voice down. How many times do I have to tell you your
voice travels in this glass box?
“Oh.” She looked mildly shaken. “No matter. Is everything coming together to your
satisfaction?”
“I’m just checking in on things now.”
“Your father and I are meeting people for lunch. What time is the party again?”
I blew a frustrated breath. She could at least pretend she cared enough to remember details
I’d told her a dozen times already.
“Seven.”
“Right. We’ll see you at seven.”
Things proceeded throughout the day as planned and I was pleased with my ability to pull
off an event like this on my own.
The decorators showed up at 1:00 as promised.
The band arrived to set up at 3:00.
I got dressed at 4:30, having bought a thigh-length mini-dress that sparkled with tiny
crystals just for the occasion.
My hair and makeup girl arrived at 5:00.

I tapped my ring and called Jackson at 5:30.
“Where are you?” I said to the three-inch holographic image of him that popped up above
my palm. “You said you’d help.”
“Sorry, Zo. Got tied up at home.”
“Are you okay? You don’t sound so good.”
It was odd. No one in Sol City ever got really sick, but it wasn’t unheard of to get run
down if you pushed yourself too hard. Jackson had been working a lot lately.
“I didn’t sleep well last night. Uh, spent most of the day in bed.”
I felt a little panicky. “You’re still coming, aren’t you?”
“Of course. I’ll be there soon.”
Alison and Paul arrived at 6:30 along with all of mine and Liam’s friends.
I hushed everyone at 6:55, giving instructions on when to shout “Surprise!”
It was all a wasted effort.
Liam never showed.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Cover Reveal: Wicked Sense by Fabio Bueno

 Expected publication: September 10th 2012 by Booklings Publishing
Witches inhabit our world, organized in covens and hiding behind a shroud of secrecy— the Veil.
Skye’s London coven sends her to Seattle’s Greenwood High to find the Singularity, an unusually gifted witch who may break the Veil and trigger a dangerous new era of witch-hunting. Things get complicated when Skye meets a charming new classmate, Drake. Skye’s job becomes even trickier when she clashes with Jane, an intimidating rival witch.
Drake falls for the mysterious Skye, but odd accidents, potion mix-ups, and the occasional brush with death kind of get in the way of romance. Once he discovers Skye is a witch, he goes to war for her, even though his only weapons are a nice set of abs and a sharp sense of humor.
Fighting off wicked Jane and the other dark forces hell-bent on seizing the Singularity's immense power, Skye and Drake will risk everything to save the covens.
Going on a date has never been harder.

Monday, August 13, 2012

Brandi's POV of Obsidian by JenniferL. Armentrout

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.--Goodreads


Rating:(25!!?? Trini, does our scale go that high?)   
Sex-o-meter:
 (Lots of wonderful kissy scenes and super-hot sex references!) I’m tempted to give it a 3. Yes people the kissy scenes are that hot, even though they are just kissy scenes!


My POV
There is a reason I refer to Jennifer L. Armentrout as the “Awesomeness.” She has certainly earned that title again with Obsidian!

Obsidian, Obsidian how do I love thee? Let me counts the ways! 1. Daemon, 2. Daemon, 3. Daemon. Get the point??!!! Okay, okay so I admit most of the time I didn’t know if I loved Daemon or if I seriously wanted to put some major physical pain in his life. But I always, always thought he was super sexy and so very alive! Normally the whole egotistical jerk thing doesn’t do it for me, but somehow her “Awesomeness” pulled it off and Daemon wiggled and annoyed his way to the top of the “Book Hottie” list in my unwilling heart. Sadly, I have to move on with the rest of the review to references that do NOT specifically include or involve Daemon.

Moving on to the thing I loved the most about Katy. Even though she was secretly obsessed with Daemon, she didn’t put up with his crap. She gave back as good as she got and was not a pushover. Aaahhmmm…the lunch room scene, that’s all I’m going to say! Also, who wouldn’t love a sexy book blogger??!! Speaking from personal experience…….

Ms. Arementrout writes in such a way that her characters (even secondary ones) seem so alive. Her world and all of her characters just embedded themselves in my psyche and I’m afraid I may never recover! The plot line in Obsidian is tight and flows very well. Every detail that is in the story has a purpose. As readers we may not find out that purpose until subsequent books, but there is a reason for everything in Ms. Armentrout’s evil genius story plotting. Just when I thought I had something figured out, Ms. Armentrout cleverly pulled a switcheroo! I love, love it when authors confound, confuse and shake up my itty bitty world!

I will be at a loss until I get my greedy hands on Onyx, the second book in the Lux trilogy. It releases tomorrow and I will be on Amazon tonight at 12:01 CST to push purchase so that I can appease the rabid beast inside of me that is clamoring for the continuation of the story. Opal the third and last book in the series is set to release in December of 2012. Man, I hope I survive until then! Shadows, a novella about Dawson and Bethany is currently available for purchase in ebook format.
Quote
(My favorite scene is when Kat and Daemon meet for the first time.)

"It's better than calling someone a douchebag, isn't it?" He pushed out the door. "This has been a stimulating visit. I'll cherish it for a long time to come."

Okay. That was it. "You know, you're right. How wrong of me to call you a douchebag. Because a douchebag is too nice a word for you," I said, smiling sweetly. "You're a dickhead."

"A dickhead?" he repeated. "How charming."

I flipped him off.

He laughed again and bent his head. A mess of waves fell forward, nearly obscuring his intense green eyes. "Very civilized, Kitten. I'm sure you have a wild array of interesting names and gestures for me, but not interested."

I did have a lot more I could say and do, but I gathered my dignity, pivoted, and stomped back over to my house, not giving him the pleasure of seeing how truly pissed I was. I'd always avoided confrontation in the past, but this guy was flipping my bitch switch like nothing else. When I reached my car, I yanked open the door.

"See you later, Kitten!" he called out, laughing as he slammed the front door.

*****

So, you guys are like us in other, uh, departments?”

Daemon sat up, scrunching a brown. “Come again?”

I felt my cheeks flush. “You know, like sex? I mean, you guys are all glowly and stuff. I don’t see how certain stuff would work.”

Daemon's lips curled into a half smile, and that was the only warning he gave. Moving unbelievably fast, I was on my back and he was above me in a flash. “Are you asking if I'm attracted to human girls?” He asked. Dark, wet waves of hair feel forward. Tiny droplets of water fell off the ends, splashing against my cheeks. “Or are you asking if I'm attracted to you?”

Using his hands, he lowered himself slowly. There wasn’t an inch of space between our bodies. Air fled my lungs at the contact of his body against mine. He was male and ripped in all the places I was soft. Being this close to him was startling, causing an array of sensations to zing though me. I shivered. Not from the cold, but from how warm and wonderful he felt. I could feel every breath he took, and when he shifted his hips, my eyes went wide and I gasped.

Oh yea, certain stuff was definitely working. 

(Ahhhh....please refer to my Sex-o-Meter comment.)
 
Other Books in the Series
Links
Jennifer Armentrout.com
Jennifer's Blog
Jennifer's Facebook Page

Playlist
A Lux Playlist by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Florence and the Machines “Dog Days of Summer” (Happy times and stuff)
Perfect Circle “Rhythm of the War Drums” (Pretty much any fight scene)
Civil Twilight “Letters from the Sky” (The one lake scene)
Katy Perry ft. Kanye West “ET” (Can you guess what chapter I wrote while listening to this?)
The Civil Wars “Poison and Wine” (Seriously, go listen to this song NOW. Oh, Daemon xoxoxo)
Adele “Rolling in the Deep” (Yeah, read the last chapter… giggle)
One Republic “The Good Life” (This song kind of reminds me of the middle of the book)
Tori Amos “Spark” (Listened while writing some of the Homecoming night stuff)
Drowning Pool “Bodies” (Pretty much a fight scene song)
Marilyn Manson “Sweet Dreams” (It’s time to go to the library)
Hole “Gold Dust Woman” (Okay, so it has nothing to do with the book, but I listened to it)
Marilyn Manson “Beautiful People” (Man, there’s a creepy amount of good looking peeps in WV)

Sunday, August 12, 2012

My POV: Shadows by Jennifer Armentrout


Rating:   
Sex-o-meter:
Heavy make out scene.

My POV
Aaaww Daeamon! My heart breaks for him and Dee but this is Dawson story so let me focus on him. It's hard with Daemon in on the brain but I will try.

Shadows is Dawson and Bethany (Elizabeth or Liz) sneak peak/short story. We get to see these two blossom as a couple, there initial meeting and what struggles and pains they went through to be together. It was a great little teaser for what is to come. And as always Jennifer heats up the book with some awesome make out scenes and Daemons snide comments. You also get to see Daemon post Kat-ness. Yes it's unthinkable him without Kat and you will probably be just as disgusted  as I was when you see him and Ash together (gags). (Haha) Kat's my girl and I've got her back!
 
The ending is left open to interpretation put I'm sure we will see Dawson and Bethany in the up coming books so make sure to read this novella for a better understanding of the Lux world. This story just makes me want more of these series!

Other Books in the Series