Sunday, September 30, 2012

My POV: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Hardcover, 404 pages
Expected publication: September 25th 2012 by Harlequin Teen 
 She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I'd tell my sister no.
I'd never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I'd zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I'd hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I'd tell them I love them.
I wish... Yeah, I wish.--Goodreads
Rating:  

Sex-o-meter:
 Heavy make out scenes.

My POV

Holy HOTNESS!! Gena sure knows how to write em’. I love me some hotties with tattoos, swords and bulging biceps but that’s not all this book has to offer. Along with the bad-boy hotties we get heroic kick-ass females, zombies and a whole lot of action! I Loved it! I was sooooo excited to get an ARC of this book as part of AiZ Street Team and I tore through it in no time.

From the first time I seen AiZ at BEA not only did the cover fascinate and draw me in but the premise intrigued me. I was not disappointed! I haven’t read a zombie series like this before. The way Gena created her zombie world is unique and takes the “Zombie Apocalypse” to a whole new level. 

Let’s talk about characters for a bit because let’s face it without great characters there wouldn’t be great stories. Alice “Ali” Bell is a sixteen year old girl in high school who has been very shelter due to her father’s overwhelming paranoia that there are evil things that come out at night. In the beginning of the book tragedy strike her and her family which opens up her otherworldly sense. This allows her to see that not only is her father not a mental case but that his paranoia has validity to it. Now that she had been “awakened” per se she is more determine to destroy these living dead beings that ruined and changed her life forever. The thing is she doesn’t know how. This is where Cole Holland comes in. He’s the ultimate kick-ass hottie with violet eyes..aaww dreamy. Except he want nothing to do with her and tries to keep his distance. Which (thank the gawd!) doesn’t last too long. Needless to say these two have great chemistry but are reluctant to let their attraction get in the way of their ultimate goal which is to obliterate all zombies from the face of the earth. These two are the main characters and take center stage of the story but Kat and Frosty steal the spot light a lot and I love absolutely them! Check out most of the characters profiles click here>> The White Rabbit Chronicles<<

This book was like a bull ride- crazy, wild, exhilarating, rough, tough, and too short (404 pages of awesomeness too short!) I wanted so much more. I don’t know how I’m going to wait a year for Through the Zombie Glass. It’s going to be torture! Pick this book up guys is was a fantastical read!!

Quote
"You'll be fine." she said, merciless. "They'll love you. And if they don't, well let me know who I need to punish. That's a specialty of mine, just FYI. So is tough love." She patted me on my butt. "Now go get 'em, baby cub."
***
"How about this? Step out of our body or I'll put you over my knee and spank you in front of everyone."
I huffed and puffed and gasped out, "I'd like to see you try!"
He reached for me. With a squeal I slapped his had and darted out of the way.
***
"I know you 've kissed Cole. Actually, everyone at the club knows you 've kissed Cole, and I'm sure we're all suprised your lungs remained inflated and you survivied. So was he any good?
A dreamy sigh left me--and I found three little words. "He was amazing."

Other Books in the Series

I love Cole from Alice In Zombieland!

JUST SAYIN'!

Trailer


Thursday, September 27, 2012

Blog Tour: My POV of Stalk Me by Jillian Dodd

ebook
Published September 1st 2012 by Bandit Publishing (first published August 20th 2012) 
 Gossip girl meets Hollywood in this new series by That Boy author, Jillian Dodd.

Keatyn has everything she ever dreamed of. Her life is following the script she wrote for the perfect high school experience. She’s popular, goes to the best parties, dates the hottest guy, and sits at the most coveted lunch table.  
 
She’s just not sure she wants it anymore.
 
Because really, things aren’t all that perfect.
Her best friend is threatening to tell everyone her perfect relationship is a scam. 
Her perfect boyfriend gets drunk at every party they go to. 
It’s exhausting always trying to look and act perfect.
And deep down, she isn’t sure if she has any true friends. 

To add to the drama, her movie star mom’s long-time fan has turned stalker.
An older man is flirting with her and telling her they should make a movie together.
And she’s crushing on an adorable surfer. Dating a guy like him would mean committing social suicide.
 
So she writes a new script. One where all the pieces of her life will come together in perfect harmony. 
But little does she know, there’s someone who will do anything to make sure that doesn’t happen.--Goodreads
Rating: 

Sex-o-meter:
Drug-o-meter:

My POV


Boy crazy!! There are certainly a good number of hotties in this book. It was seriously hard not to drool while reading. My thoughts on this story are as follow.. fun, fun, crazy, fun, OH yeah!, oh wait…scary, WTH!, WOW, aaawww then, what’s going to happen now? All in that order..haha 

Keatyn Douglas is trying to live a somewhat normal teenage life by attending public high school but finds out soon enough that because her mother, Abby Johnston is America’s favorite romantic comedy actress and her sort of step dad is action film star Tommy Stevens, life could never really be normal. With such a high profile life she soon begins to question everything, especially relationship. Friendships seem contingent on status of popularity, her boyfriend seem to only be interested in her when people are around and could the boy she has been crushing on forever be interested in her also, who is this extremely handsome and overly congenial guy who keeps popping up everywhere? Things get crazy pretty fast around Keats but what I liked a lot about this story in that no matter what is going on in her crazy life her mother and step dad where there for her and really love her. You could see that through the whole book.

This was quite an exciting ride with tons of things going on and it ended on a high note. I loved the writing because it was witty and easy to follow which made this a really fun read. I’m very much looking forward to the rest of the chronicles because there is no doubt in my mind that Jillian has some crazy stuff planned for Keats. Plus, I need to see where Keatyn ends up.  I hope I don’t have to wait too long because I need my Cush fix! What a great fun read!


Other Books in the Series
Kiss me 
(The Keatyn Chronicles #2)
December 2012

Links

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Blog Tour: Keatyn's Playlist of Stalk Me by Jullian Dodd




Keatyn’s Playlist
This playlist can be accessed here: Keatyn's Playlist

Scene Title                                   Song                                 Band

Come play with Cush.                Wild Ones                         Flo Rida

Your dirty little secret                 Crave You                         Flight Facilities

My laid-back surfer girl.             Surfer Girl                          The Beach Boys

Our lips finally meet.                   Stolen                                Dashboard Confessionals

Possibly a little bit hotter.            Beautiful People                 Chris Brown

Please say yes.                           Tonight                              John Legend

I smell like a princess.                 Hit and Run                       Breathe Carolina

Body shots!                                All You                             The Cataracs

The biggest bitch of all.                Monster                            Skillet

My life is a mess.                         Love Life                          He is we

Keats for my Keats.                    Float Away                       Robbie Rivera

Hands all over your ass.               Russian Rivjet                   Basshunter

All bullshit aside, I did.                 Since you’ve been gone    A Day to Remember

All bullshit aside, I did.                 Happy Birthday                Click Five

Everyone will love you.                Sirens                               Angels & Airwaves

Keatyn Douglas is no more.         Breathe                             He is we

Died and gone to hottie heaven    Only one                           Sammy Adams

Blog Tour: Character Interview with Darla from Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin

 
Darla's Interview

  1. What is one thing you have always wanted to do but never had a chance?
I always wanted to race in the 24 hours of LeMons. But Dad died before I got my driver’s license, and after that I was too busy keeping the farm going. I wanted to assemble an all-girl team—our signature move would be flipping the bird and flashing a big, sexy smile at guys as we flew past them on the racetrack. Not that I knew three other girls who would have been interested in racing junkers. Or who wanted to flip guys off while we creamed them in a race. Now that Yellowstone has erupted, I doubt anyone will ever race autos again.
  1. What memories make you the happiest?
Working with my dad. I mean, I loved my mother, and I miss her terribly, but it seemed like she was always trying to mold me into something I’m not. I could cuss around Dad and not get scolded. Or just be silent while we struggled to wrench a recalcitrant post out of the ground or honed the blades of the hydraulic tree-digger we built. I loved the way he’d never yell—even when I made a huge mistake that cost us a lot of money or time. He’d just explain what I did wrong and let me try it again. So those are my happiest memories. And my saddest. I miss him every day.
  1. What would you say keeps you grounded the most throughout your struggles?
Grounded? Gravity, duh.
  1. I know it is probably impossible to envision but where do you see yourself in five years?
I’ll be dead. Alex thinks we can survive and start a family, but he’s ridiculously optimistic. That’s not to say I’m giving up—I’ll never do that—but looking at things realistically, we should be dead three or four times over already. There used to be 5,000 people in Warren. Now there are 500. Some fled, but most of them are dead. And most of the survivors will die before this cussed winter breaks. Alex and I have only survived because he’s pretty handy in a fight and I keep him from starving even when there’s tons of food—pigs, rabbits, or whatever—available. I swear, sometimes he has less sense than a dwarf donkey hitched to a 30 bale wagon.
  1. If there was one thing you couldn't see yourself without at this moment what would you say it is?
Alex. I know I just said he’s kind of an idiot, and that’s true, but I love him. And, yeah, I don’t think either of us will survive this, but I’m going to put up a hell of a struggle. And if it’s a choice between me and him; I’ll save him. He’s all the family I have left. And I know he’d die for me, too.
  1. What do you miss the most about your life before the eruption?
Power tools! What I wouldn’t give for a working circular saw. Or an electric drill/driver. I’ve got some ideas about that, by the way. I’m wondering if any of those wind turbines east of Warren might still work. Or be fixable . . . I’ll catch you later—I’ve got to go sketch out a few ideas while they’re fresh in my head.


***
Mike Mullin
Bio
Mike Mullin’s first job was scraping the gum off the undersides of desks at his high school. From there, things went steadily downhill. He almost got fired by the owner of a bookstore due to his poor taste in earrings. He worked at a place that showed slides of poopy diapers during lunch (it did cut down on the cafeteria budget). The hazing process at the next company included eating live termites raised by the resident entomologist, so that didn’t last long either. For a while Mike juggled bottles at a wine shop, sometimes to disastrous effect. Oh, and then there was the job where swarms of wasps occasionally tried to chase him off ladders. So he’s really glad this writing thing seems to be working out.
Mike holds a black belt in Songahm Taekwondo. He lives in Indianapolis with his wife and her three cats. Ashen Winter is his second novel.  His debut, Ashfall, was named one of the top five young adult novels of 2011 by National Public Radio, a Best Teen Book of 2011 by Kirkus Reviews, and a New Voices selection by the American Booksellers Association.


About ASHEN WINTER
It's been over six months since the eruption of the Yellowstone supervolcano. Alex and Darla have been staying with Alex's relatives, trying to cope with the new reality of the primitive world so vividly portrayed in Ashfall, the first book in this trilogy. It's also been six months of waiting for Alex's parents to return from Iowa. Alex and Darla decide they can wait no longer and must retrace their journey into Iowa to find and bring back Alex's parents to the tenuous safety of Illinois. But the landscape they cross is even more perilous than before, with life-and-death battles for food and power between the remaining communities. When the unthinkable happens, Alex must find new reserves of strength and determination to survive. 

Excerpt
The first two chapters are available on my website: www.ashenwinter.com. You may reprint the first two chapters in whole or in part on your website so long as you do not charge anyone anything to access them.

Social Media Links

Purchase Links

Monday, September 24, 2012

COVER REVEAL: Just For Now by Abbi Glines

Title: Just for Now (Sea Breeze, #4)
Age Group/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Expected Release: October 23, 2012
Cover Design: Mooney Designs
Book trailer created by: Hellion Works
Cover reveal organized by: AToMR Tours


Summary
The day Preston Drake figured out that wealthy women paid well for a set of tight abs and a pretty face his life turned around.

The run down rat-infested trailer he had shared with his alcoholic mother and three younger siblings was now only a place he visited to pay the bills and stock the pantry with food. 

He no longer worried about his family starving or living without electricity. The money he made entertaining rich older women more than covered his family’s needs and his own. He had it all figured out. Except…

There was this girl.

She was as innocent as he was tainted.

Amanda Hardy wished her knees didn’t get weak when Preston walked into a room. She hated the fact her heart raced when he flashed his smile in her direction. He had a different girl in his bed every night. He was the kind of boy a smart girl ran from. So, why was she coming up with ways to get close to him? Even when it was obvious he wanted to keep her at a distance.

Maybe her heart knew something the world didn’t. Maybe Preston Drake was more than just a pretty face.



Bio:
Abbi Glines can be found hanging out with rockstars, taking out her yacht on weekends for a party cruise, sky diving, or surfing in Maui. Okay maybe she needs to keep her imagination focused on her writing only. In the real world, Abbi can be found hauling kids (several who seem to show up that don’t belong to her) to all their social events, hiding under the covers with her MacBook in hopes her husband won’t catch her watching Buffy on Netflix again, and sneaking off to Barnes and Noble to spend hours lost in the yummy goodness of books. If you want to find her then check Twitter first because she has a severe addiction to tweeting @abbiglines.   Facebook is also somewhere she visits a little too often. She blogs regularly but rarely about anything life changing. She also really enjoys talking about herself in third person.

Halloween Character Booktacular! Follow along and you could win a Kindle & $25 GC!


Dee at Good Choice Reading and I have put together an awesome Halloween Event for you guys! Because we are such big fans of so many books we asked authors to give us a little glimpse into our favorite characters lives during Halloween. Over thirty authors are participating and we are so excited!!
Ok so here are the details of the event.
We have asked a couple of our favorite bloggers to help with this event: Books With Bite, The Book Reaper, & Once Upon A Twilight. They, along with Dee and I, will be posting up Halloween scenes with some of our favorite characters written by the author, plus host giveaways throughout this event. We also have a GRAND PRIZE which includes a Kindle plus a $25 amazon Gift Card. The Kindle giveaways kicks off October 1st, and ends October 31st. Winner will be announced on November 1st.

The Rafflecopter will only be found here in this post. All you have to do is come back here to this post (or on Good Choice Reading) and enter daily.

 So, starting October 1st make sure and follow along. 
You can check out each stop by clicking on the author’s name. We will be updating and linking everything daily!
 And now to get you a little more worked up here is a list of participating authors…
(This list is subject to change) 

Author
Blog

Week One
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Once Upon A Twilight
The Book Reaper
Books With Bite

Week Two
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Once Upon A Twilight
The Book Reaper
Books With Bite

Week Three
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Once Upon A Twilight
The Book Reaper
Books With Bite

Week Four
Katie McGarry and Jaime Reed
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Nina Berry and Lisa Burstein
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Elizabeth Richards
Once Upon A Twilight
Jennifer Bosworth
The Book Reaper
Jus Accardo
Books With Bite

Week Five
Christine Johnson and Katherine Grace Bond
A Book Lovers Review/GCR
Marisa Calin and Tara Hudson
Good Choice Reading
Brigid Kemmerer
Once Upon A Twilight