Saturday, May 24, 2014

My POV: Happenstance by Jamie McGuire

TitleHappenstance
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Jamie McGuire LLC (May 9, 2014)
Print Length: 100 pages
ASIN: B00JOPR0ZK

#1 New York Times Bestseller Jamie McGuire returns to self- publishing with this page-turning YA account of Erin Easter, one of three Erins in the small senior class of rural Blackwell High School who not only share a first name, but also their birthday. Easter, raised by a neglectful single mom, keeps to herself and admires Weston Gates from afar. The other Erins, Erin "Alder" Alderman and Erin "Sonny" Masterson are the darlings of the community: daughters of the two wealthiest families in town, best friends, cheerleaders, and everything Easter isn't--and they never let her forget it. Alder has even claimed Weston since the 8th grade.

Weston is a well-liked star athlete, and the son of two prominent attorneys. He struggles daily with the pressures of living up to his family name and secretly empathizes with Easter's feeling that she belongs somewhere else; in a different life. Not until he begins sneaking nights out with Easter does he gain the courage to buck expectations and acknowledge his feelings ... both for his future, and for her.

A shocking tragedy rocks the tiny town, and Easter's life is turned upside down in the best way possible. But when the truth is revealed and everything she thinks she wanted falls into her lap, life only becomes more complicated.

PURCHASE LINKS: Amazon | iTunes | Smashwords

 

New York Times best selling author Jamie McGuire has penned the Providence series and contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster. She lives in Oklahoma with her husband and three children. She is an RT(R), a graduate of Autry and Oklahoma Northern College, and a full time writer.


Rating:

My POV


I know the next installment for this series is just around the corner but the anticipation is going to kill me.

For this review I really looked that title and saw how perfect it fit this story. According to Webster’s Dictionary Happenstance is (noun \ˈha-pən-ˌstan(t)s, ˈha-pəm-\ ): something that happens by chance or :  a circumstance especially that is due to chance — hap·pen·stance adjective. And yes Erin Easter’s story is based on something that happened by chance years ago but it’s also so much more than that. It’s also about circumstance, perseverance, humility and above all love. 

Let me go in to more details about the things I listed above and how they relate to this story.

Circumstance: Erin Easter comes from a broken home. Her father is not part of her life and her mother is too busy getting intoxicated to care about anything. There is no support or encouragement from home. No loving hugs or even decent conversations. Because Erin comes from a broken home she is an outcast and seen as someone not worthy. This makes her a victim of circumstance.

Perseverance: Being the victim of someone’s cruelty is never easy but how about being bullied from those who were once closest to you? It’s one of the hardest things in the world to deal with and to make things worst everyone seems to “turn a blind eye” even adults. This make her situation absolutely hopeless. Not being able to fight them off she learned to “grow thick skin” and ignore the name calling and degradation. So now you see, Erin has no one (yet, at least). No friends at school and no parent at home.  But instead of letting this situation destroy her it’s made her stronger and more determine to get good grades so she can get out of town to attend college. She’s a survivor and she is not letting anything get in her way of her goal.

Humility: Erin has accepted her lot in life. She knows who she is and that she can only rely on herself. She doesn’t expect anything from anyone and has a hard time accepting help. She is a good hearted person and has dealt with her situation with as much dignity and humility as possible. 

Love: Better late than never is a good idiom for Erin and Weston’s love story. After years of feeling she has no one Weston finally gets brave enough to go after what he really wants, Erin. Along with the feeling of love comes the feeling of guilt from Weston. This is for not stopping what was happening to Erin or standing up for her before now. From Erin you get the feeling of surprise, curiosity and genuine affection. It seems their relationship was a long time coming and we have just seen the tip of the iceberg. I’m eagerly waiting for more. 

So now that we have gone over all that here is a quick recap of Erin’s story. Erin has ever only had herself to rely on. Even at a young age she felt like she didn’t belong anywhere especially when her father was nowhere in sight, mother turned to alcohol and drugs for comfort, and her friends turned on her, becoming enemies seemingly overnight. But things are about to change for Erin for the better. At least that is how it seems as this first installment of the series ends.  

Happenstance is a beautifully written story that will test your patients while question humanity but on the other hand make you smile and fill your heart with hope.

Quote
Displaying Teaser1.jpg

Friday, May 16, 2014

BELLES on WHEELS TOUR - Live interview with Alice Clayton + GIVEAWAY!

Belles on Wheels hit Houston, Tx on Monday, May 12, 2014. There was a spectacular line up of  8 brilliant and talented authors.

Emma Chase, Alice Clayton, Kresley Cole, Kyra Davis, Katy Evans,
 Lisa Renee Jones, Christina Lauren, Jennifer Probst, Kristen Proby

 This group of authors had a great vibe and brought the book mania with them! There was a lot of laughing, signing, chatting and some swooning (the bus boys). You'll hear all about it in some of the interviews.

We were lucky enough to get interviews with all the authors! There are 10 videos all together and believe me when I say "You need to see them all!" These authors were wonderful and hilarious!

This is where you can find the interviews.
A Book Lovers Review - Alice Clayton
Literary Beginning, Red Carpet Ending - Movie news with Lisa Renee Jones & Christina Lauren
Once Upon a Twilight - Christina Lauren
Kayla the Bibliophile - Kresley Cole
Page Turners Blog - Emma Chase
M's Sinful Reviews - Katy Evans
Martini Time Romance - Jennifer Probst
Leah's Library Books Reviews - Kristen Proby
Good Choice Reading - Kyra Davis
Kindle Obsessed - Lisa Renee Jones
A HUGE thank you to Gallery Books for letting us get involved!  

For more tour information visit the link below.
The 2014 BELLES ON WHEELS Bus Tour! 



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 Alice Clayton
Alice Clayton is a novelist with an unholy love for her KitchenAid mixer. Making her home in St Louis, she enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up afterwards, and is trying desperately to get her long time boyfriend to make her an honest woman. Hi sweetie!!

After working for years in the cosmetics industry as a makeup artist, esthetician, and national educator for a major cosmetics company, Alice picked up a pen (read laptop) for the first time at 33 to begin a new career, writer. Combining her love of storytelling with a sense of silly, she was shocked and awed to be nominated for a Goodreads Author award in 2010 for her debut novels, The Redhead Series.

Alice has penned three novels, The Unidentified Redhead,The Redhead Revealed, and coming soon in November 2012, Wallbanger. She thinks you should purchase them immediately. She’s not kidding, not even a little bit. Everyone needs some comedic erotica in their lives. She is hard at work on the third book in The Redhead Series, set to release in Spring of 2013, continuing the saucy and sexual escapades of everyone’s favorite couple, Jack and Grace.

Additionally, Alice loves spending time with her besties on Not Your Mother's Podcast, make sure you check them out at notyourmotherspodcast.com or over on iTunes. 3 women rushing towards their forties still acting like teenagers. A saucy little mix of sex, love, relationships, pop cultural, celebrity gossip and All Things Jake Ryan.

Alice enjoys pickles, Bloody Mary’s, 8 hours of sleep, and a good pounding.

Finally Alice would also like all her readers and listeners to help her convince Mt. Alice that the only other thing that would make her truly happy is finally bringing home a Bernese Mountain Dog. She is totally serious. And done talking about herself in the third person…Goodreads


Website ~ Facebooks ~ Twitter ~ Amazon ~ B&N

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Oh wait did I mention there was a giveaway?!?!
If you wore not able to attend any of the stops of this tour here is your chance to win a 
Belle On Wheels Prize Pack Bundle
 Includes: Just One Night (not signed), ARC of Sublime (not signed), Tote bag (SIGNED), The Professional (SIGNED), and Remy(SIGNED).

Thursday, May 15, 2014

TrinDee Events: RUSH TOO FAR book Signing Event - Houston Tx!


Abbi Glines made it to the Houston Area for her Rush Too Far Tour on May 8, 2014. This book signing was wild and crazy fun! All the seats were taken and we had quite a few standing around the back. Definitely a full house. There was a ton of giveaway plus Abbi and her hubby Keith gave out free beautiful Rush Crush T-Shirts!

Abbi chatted about Rush's book (Rush Too Far), the rest of the Rosemary Beach Series, her other series and what is coming next! Then there were lots of questions and discussion about her hotties and then the ultimate spoiler about Jase! Questions like "WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU DO THAT??" (that was from me, Just kidding!) were thrown out but it was all very exciting to hear. Her Houston Fans loved every minute of it.

One of the many fun things at this event was the Rosemary Beach Trivia. TrinDee Events (the host of the event) wanted to turn things around for just a little bit to see how well Abbi's fans really knew the series! I'm happy to report that Houston pass the test! Out of about fifteen question there was one question that had readers stumped but it's understandable. Want to know what the question was? Take a look below.

Name 6 of the Rosemary Beach Boys.
*
*
*
Can you answer this?


Either way this was a very memorable signing and we LOVE having Abbi down here for signings! We hope to see her again soon!

I leave you with some pictures of the signing. Enjoy!

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

BLOG TOUR: Breakable by Tammara Webber + Exclusive Text Message


 
He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.


As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat.--Goodreads


Rating:

My POV

While reading Lucas’s POV I was unexpectedly more intrigued in Jacqueline and his journey to a HEA this time around. I truly didn’t know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised as to how much I fell in love with Lucas all over again. In fact I am more in love with him now after reading Breakable. This is one of the best books I've ever read! I Loved it so much!

It was wonderful to get all the reasons behind Lucas’s questionable actions (in Easy) and totally understand his situation completely. I was a lot more sympathetic towards him throughout this story since you see from the very beginning how alone and broken he felt. His past was heartbreaking but he’s a much stronger person for it.

Lucas as a character is strong, brave, intelligent, talented and caring. He may not show his feelings much but they are there and most of times they run deep. It’s not easy for him to love someone especially with his past but the way he loves Jacqueline, it’s a force to be reckon with.
  
Now that we have this a more in-depth look into Jacqueline and Lucas’s story with this being in his POV I’m content with saying their story is solidified and complete. Although like any obsessive fan I wouldn’t mind more. I enjoy Tammara’s writing immensely and was impressed as to how well some scenes seemed to really come alive in my mind.  

If you have read Easy you have to read this! After reading Breakable you will have the FULL story and completely understand each situation. You will regret it if you don’t!


Other Books in the Series
16056408 

Exclusive Text Message
This is a text message between Lucas and Jacqueline. This not from the book. Enjoy!



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Tammara Webber
Tammara Webber is the author of upcoming release BREAKABLE (May 2014) - companion novel to the NYT Bestseller EASY (May 2012), and the Between the Lines series: BETWEEN THE LINES (May 2011), WHERE YOU ARE (Oct 2011), GOOD FOR YOU (Dec 2011) and HERE WITHOUT YOU (Aug 2013).
I'm a hopeful romantic who adores novels with happy endings, because there are enough sad endings in real life. Before writing full-time, I was an undergraduate academic advisor, economics tutor, planetarium office manager, radiology call center rep, and the palest person to ever work at a tanning salon. I married my high school sweetheart, and I'm Mom to three adult kids and four very immature cats.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BOOKS BY TAMMARA