Sunday, June 29, 2014

BLOG TOUR: My POV of Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire + Blog Tour Prize!

18104607 
BEAUTIFUL OBLIVION
Atria Books | 336 pages | Paperback ISBN 9781476759586 | eBook ISBN: ISBN 9781476759593 | On Sale: July 1, 2014
The Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster phenomenon continues in the first heart-pounding new adult romance in The Maddox Brothers series.

Fiercely independent Camille "Cami" Camlin gladly moved on from her childhood before it was over. She has held down a job since before she could drive, and moved into her own apartment after her freshman year of college. Now tending bar at The Red Door, Cami doesn’t have time for much else besides work and classes, until a trip to see her boyfriend is cancelled, leaving her with a first weekend off in almost a year.

Trenton Maddox was the king of Eastern State University, dating co-eds before he even graduated high school. His friends wanted to be him, and women wanted to tame him, but after a tragic accident turned his world upside down, Trenton leaves campus to come to grips with the crushing guilt.

Eighteen months later, Trenton is living at home with his widower father, and works full-time at a local tattoo parlor to help with the bills. Just when he thinks his life is returning to normal, he notices Cami sitting alone at a table at The Red.

As the baby sister of four rowdy brothers, Cami believes she’ll have no problem keeping her new friendship with Trenton Maddox strictly platonic. But when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever—even if she is the only reason their already broken family could fall apart.

In the first installment of the Maddox Brothers books, readers can experience the rush of reading Beautiful Disaster for the first time, all over again.


Rating:

My POV


This book drove me nuts!! But in a good way of course…LOL! Not only was it tons of fun to read and I got to see Travis again *does the happy dance* but the mystery element had me out of my seat and pacing the floor. I have to say Jamie got me BIG TIME with a crazy surprise! 

Now let’s talk Trent for a bit. He definitely gives Travis a run for his money. At times I loved him more than Travis but I think they are pretty equally loved in my heart. What I really loved about Trent’s story is the history between Cami and him. The attraction between them isn’t new and that made their story that much sweeter even though their situation now is a holy mess. He is adorable, loving and funny but he’s also a MADDOX’s which means he’s stubborn, cocky and frustratingly insistent too. Even so you can’t help but fall madly in love with his tattooing bad boy self.

Cami is a very complicated woman who pretty much keeps everyone at distance. She carries a lot of emotional baggage because of her childhood which has made her an extremely strong independent woman. Trying with all of her might to fend off Trent is not something she can do for very long. There is just something about a MADDOX’s that even she can’t resist. BUT, there is something she’s keeping from him. A secret that may change everything. 

There are so many things I loved about this book. The humor between these two just put me in a good mood and the tattoos make me wistful. I wish I was brave enough to get them. But most of all it ends up being a beautiful love story. Which now leads us to the next Maddox…. I can’t wait to get my hand on you!

Quote


Author
 http://d28hgpri8am2if.cloudfront.net/tagged_assets/14623/408106960_hr.jpg
JAMIE McGUIRE is the New York Times bestselling author of A Beautiful Wedding, Red Hill, Walking Disaster, Beautiful Disaster, and The Providence trilogy. She and her husband, Jeff, live with their children just outside Enid, Oklahoma, with three dogs, six horses, and a cat named Rooster.
 
Find Jamie Online
Say hi to Atria Books
Visit the Beautiful Oblivion BuzzRoom and enter to win the blog tour prize at
 www.bit.ly/BeautifulOblivionBook

Saturday, June 7, 2014

VERY PARANORMAL BOOKRAVE (6/14/14): YA Authors + GIVEAWAY!

 
YA Attending Author 

 Read an Excerpt Here!

Read Excerpt on The Farm and The Lair here!

 Tracey Deebs
Read Excerpts for Tracy's YA books here!

CC Hunter 
Piercing the FoldSurfacing the RimAscending the Veil (Piercing the Fold, #3)Transcending the Legacy (Piercing the Fold, #4)
See all the book trailer here!

********************
About the Event
 The name says it all! This event features the best PARANORMAL authors around. 
THIS EVENT IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FREE OF CHARGE!
Adult/NA Author List  
subject to change

Jaye Wells

Tracy Wolff / Tessa Adams 
Shauna Allen

For more details and VIR Bags visit the official webpage here!

GIVEAWAY

Friday, June 6, 2014

VERY PARANORMAL BOOKRAVE (6/14/14): Adult & New Adult Authors + GIVEAWAY!

 
Adult & New Adult Attending Author



Tracy Wolff / Tessa Adams / Tracy Deebs (YA)


********************
About the Event
 The name says it all! This event features the best PARANORMAL authors around. 
THIS EVENT IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FREE OF CHARGE!
YA Author List  
subject to change
Rachel Harris
Mary Lindsey
Joy Preble
Daryl Banner
Rose Garcia 
Emily McKay
 Tracey Deebs
CC Hunter 
Venessa Kimball

For more details and VIR Bags visit the official webpage here!

GIVEAWAY

Thursday, June 5, 2014

VERY PARANORMAL BOOKRAVE (6/14/14): Daryl Banner + GIVEAWAY!

Attending Author

Daryl Banner is a writer and composer who graduated from the University of Houston with a degree in Theatre and Psychology. After writing several plays and a musical in college, he started composing for short films and websites, one of which is the Vamplets "Baby Vampyre Dolls" website: (www.vamplets.com)

Follow him on Facebook here!
http://www.facebook.com/DarylBannerWr...

Interesting tidbits: Daryl is also an obsessive piano player, video game enthusiast, and occasional actor. He's been remixing video game music for over fifteen years, and is a passionate Final Fantasy fan. You can feed your ears with many of his remixes (as well as his original music) on his YouTube page "www.youtube.com/DarylBanner". Also, he personally answers all emails he receives, so if you have some strange desire to write him, he may enjoy it. He currently resides in Texas.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

She’s dead.

In fact, the whole world’s dead. Every single person, apparently. Unburied and reimagined into a beautiful living-dead woman called Winter, she is doomed to spend the rest of eternity in a quaint, peaceful city with no hunger, no sickness and no bills to pay. Her Second Life is perfect in every way possible.

So why is she so bent on destroying it all?

After angering the mayor, befriending rebel headless teenagers and igniting romance with a dark and brooding neighbor, she finds herself wrestling madly with a First Life she cannot remember and this Second Life she cannot accept. Not to mention the maniacal army of rotting corpses who want her dead. Again.

But none of that matters in comparison to an even worse problem. There’s a guest in her house. A rude, good-looking man on the run ... a man with a heartbeat.



Cameron Harper is angry. His job at the movie theater is killing him and his life has no purpose … until he finds himself six months in the future watching his theater burn down with everyone he knows inside. What began as a thrilling way to break free from the boredom of his job becomes a maniacal fight to the death with time itself, and Cameron isn’t so sure he’s on the winning side. Feeling to blame for the oncoming six-months-later disaster, he desperately tries to save the lives of his friends, including the maybe-love of his life, while keeping his inner rage from spiraling out of control. There’s a super psycho killer in all of us, and it’s going to take Cameron everything he has to keep from becoming his own.



********************
About the Event
 The name says it all! This event features the best PARANORMAL authors around. 
THIS EVENT IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FREE OF CHARGE!
Author List  
subject to change
Adult/NA

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

VERY PARANORMAL BOOKRAVE (6/14/14): Joy Preble - When I was writing...

Attending Author
 Joy Preble is the author of the popular and highly acclaimed Dreaming Anastasiaseries. A former English teacher, Joy grew up in Chicago and is a graduate ofNorthwestern University. She is now a full time writer and lives with her family inTexas, where she has learned to say “y’all” without any hint of irony. A tirelessadvocate for literacy and great books, she is at the center of the all-importantTexas YA scene.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


When I was writing THE A-WORD, I was so happy because I was getting to write the sequel to last year's THE SWEET DEAD LIFE and give readers another installment of Jenna and Casey's story. I absolutely love this series, which allows me to explore the big questions of the universe-- life! death! the after life! destiny! kissing!-- alongside first dates, high school football, and Tex Mex cuisine and cowboy boots. So who wouldn't love that, right? And I knew I was going to introduce a new grizzled head honcho angel named Bo Shivers, whose presence was going to be a game changer for all involved. Plus, as hinted at above, Jenna was going to have her first real boyfriend, a cupcake baking football player named Ryan Sloboda, with whom she flirted a bit in the first book. In short, I hope everyone loves reading THE A-WORD as much as I enjoyed writing it!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Hardcover, 272 pages
Published May 13th 2014 by Soho Teen 
Jenna Samuels is about to turn fifteen. It's been almost a year since her stoner brother, Casey, bit the dust. Almost a year since he returned as her guardian angel, along with his "angel boss," Amber Velasco, the hot twenty-something former EMT. Almost a year since Casey and Amber used up their one-time-only angel power of flight to save Jenna from the evil Dr. Renfroe, swooping down to catch her as she tumbled off the balcony at the Houston Galleria. In short, a lot of A-word shenanigans and a mostly happy ending.

Except now Casey's begun to wonder why he's still hanging around—not that he minds protecting Jenna. She's a handful, but there's got to be a bigger picture, right? Something to distract him from his on again/off again, doomed relationship with cheerleader Lanie Phelps, who has no idea her boyfriend is, well, dead. After all, he can't use his angel wings anymore. Neither can Amber.

Enter Bo Shivers, Amber's "angel boss"—a mysterious A-word guy Jenna and Casey didn't even know existed. Whiskey-guzzling. Handsome in a grizzled way. Unpredictable. Okay, make that crazy. Bo lost his angel wings in an earthly flight a long, long, long time back—and he's been a thorn in Angel Management's side ever since. But Bo knows something is coming. Something big. Something that was worth forfeiting wings for Jenna... something that might just change everything for everyone.

 
********************
About the Event
 The name says it all! This event features the best PARANORMAL authors around. 
THIS EVENT IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FREE OF CHARGE!
Author List  
subject to change
Adult/NA